We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We don't have kids but this KOA is very kid friendly. We had space 159 - a pull through site. Strange they didn't grade entire site. Our picnic table was on severe slant do to hill not be graded level. The RV portion was level but rest of site not so much. They did not clean up all the cigarette butts from previous tenant which littered the site.. The KOA grounds seemed clean - roads are narrow and while you can pull a 40 RV with 18ft trailer through it is tight fit. Staff was very friendly. Internet is basically non-existent and with many tress getting satellite is tricky. We just used their cable for local TV (not available on all sites). Study park map - you can reserve spaces and some are very close to each other. We will return back here for sure.

Room Tip: study RV park map - some sites not so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    80
    52
    26
    17
See reviews for
141
85
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We camped at KOA Flagstaff in July 2014 and left the trailer for a couple of nights when we went to a 3-day trip in the Grand Canyon.

We booked the most expensive site (back-in, full hookups, mountain view with patio, swing, etc.) which was well worth it. It was beautiful and relatively quiet apart from the barking dogs in the tent trailer next door (a definite minus). Overall, the campground feels crammed and it was tight and difficult to get into our site, but the facilities are nice and clean and there are lots of trees, which makes for a pleasant experience.

The location is very good and central, with grocery stores, restaurants nearby. Nice, long extended hours at the front desk and friendly service, and the recycling bins were greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Worth spending a bit more money on the nice sites backing on the national forest & mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEdaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackfalds, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Like most KOA Campground this one has a convenience store and has some camping supplies if needed.

Almost all of the camp sites recieved shade at some point during the day. The staff was friendly and helpful. The seemed to a good knowledge of camping and were helpful to several campers around me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richarda855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the teepee for one night and really enjoyed it. It's a bit hard to get into because you have to scrunch down but inside it's very roomy! We were pleasantly surprised that there was one power cord with a lamp which came in very handy. The bathrooms at the campground are super clean and I was very impressed. Yes, it's noisy because it's right by a main road but I always travel with a sound machine for background noise anyway, so it didn't bother us at all. We got snacks at the snack bar and breakfast at the Kamp Kitchen, which is a trailer where you place and order and sit on picnic tables and eat. The food was amazing and we played games at the table while we waited. Overall a great experience and very nice camp hosts!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed several days in one of the camping cabins (with electricity) and LOVED IT! It's a one-room deal with a fridge, microwave, TV and one double bed and one bunk-bed.

We were a bit concerned that it was going to get noisy as the campground filled up, but were pleasantly surprised. As soon as the sun went down, it got real quiet.

They have a "community center" with a pool table and a water-attraction and jumping castle for the kids. You can also rent some cool "Banana Bikes". Just do it! Can't explain what they are or how they work. They are fun to do at least once.

An entry to the Elden Mountain trail and "Fat Mans Loop" (on same trail) is right outside the campground (the public trailhead is about 1/4 mile away). Fat Mans Loop is pretty easy, but still gives a bit of a workout (it does start at around 6500 ft elevation).

Close enough to Flagstaff (about 3 miles East of downtown) to see the sights, but far enough away to eliminate any city noise or congestion.

The cabins do get quite warm in the afternoon (highs in Flagstaff were around 85 degrees), but as soon as the sun goes down, they are quite comfortable. A couple of nights I had to close the windows as it got a bit too cool.

The WiFi was a bit spotty. I think it has a maximum number of connections: as the place filled up it was harder to get a connection. However, when I got a connection, it worked fine.

The restrooms/showers are cleaned daily (one from 9-11am and the other from 1-3pm) and are kept VERY NICE. Being in the desert, I was concerned that there would be low water pressure or over-zealous flow-reducers in the showers. PLEASANTLY surprised to find good water pressure, nice flow and plenty of hot water.

The staff was friendly and helpful and actually seemed to enjoy working there! We got into several friendly conversations, one of which led to another hike in the area. Nothing like getting the lowdown from the locals.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the camping cabins and skip the tepees (unless you have an overriding need to sleep in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We camped here with our 3 yr old and 20 month old for one reason-camping in a teepee. They are quite large & come with 2 circular beds with a waterproof type cover & a lamp, which sits on a nightstand made of wood and stone. You could easily get 2 air beds on the floor, which is made of pavers and lofted about 5 inches off the ground. The top and bottom portions of the tepees are open a bit, so if it rained you'd be wet. There really wasn't a bug issue, with the exception of some ants. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating-would do it all again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sept_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My daughters cycling team stopped here to sleep before they rode to the Grand Canyon. It was clean, the spots were nice and roomy and the staff was friendly as well. It's also close to town for things like grocery's or pizza if you roll in super late like some of our team did. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
3.9 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.2 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 64 in Flagstaff
972 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
8.3 mi away
Ski Lift Lodge
Ski Lift Lodge
#23 of 64 in Flagstaff
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA

Property: Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA
Address: 5803 N US Highway 89, From I-40 Exit 201, 1/2 mile North US 89 to Page, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Grand Canyon Koa Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing