We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst than the Third World (India, Philippines, or Africa)”
Review of Autolodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Autolodge Motel
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have been traveling the world for 20 years and have been to Africa, Asia, Europe, Canada, and across the USA. Over those 20 years on multiple continents, I have seen a lot of hotels/motels. This dump in Flagstaff is the worst place I have ever had to habitate or sleep in over night. Even worse than India or The Philippines or Africa. I did not feel secure while I slept because the windows have no lock on them. None at all. To physically confirm my fear, I went outside and slide my bedroom and bathroom window open by hand from the outside. Someone could have easily entered while I slept. So I had to remove the wood pole in the closet that the hangers hang on. I used that pole in the window frame at a horizontal angle so that I would prevent people from breaking in while I slept or at least the pole would fall onto the floor and make a noise if anyone tried anything.

When we arrived, the bed was literally broken, on a broken frame, with a broken box spring. I took it upon myself to remove the mattress and box spring from the frame. Then I put together the frame by hand on the filthy rug (on which I found garbage that had not been cleaned). Then I put together my own bed so I could sleep there and not hurt my back with the huge sink in the middle that I encountered upon arrival.

There were no towels provided. Zero. The lights were broken. 2 out of 4 were broken. They closed the front desk and office 3 minutes after I swiped my credit card and prepaid $65 for this dump. My neighbor above me walked around all night and watched loud movies with his front door open. I am pretty sure he was on meth.

I used the club on my car that night because of the seediness of the place. This motel is worse than the Third World. I reported them to the police department and the Flagstaff visitors center. Next is the Chamber of Commerce.
In the morning I saw a tough guy with several tattoos that claimed to be housekeeping. I showed him the issues but he did not care. He said he would "get right on that" but instead went back to smoking. I am pretty sure that he was on drugs too.

Room Tip: My room was next to the dumpster. I don't think that any room is decent here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JC923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Gross. This place is a serious health violation. Dirty towels dirty showers. Ac didnt wk. Window didnt lock at all. Pubic hair on the towels. Old food and appeared to be roaches in the fridge.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinter1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

By far the worst motel I've ever stayed in. Ever. I don't know which was the worst part...the stench of something decaying or the dirtiness of everything or the noise of people arguing somewhere close by. We picked this place cause it was available and the price was cheap. But cleanliness, lack of stench and quiet = priceless. Avoid!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. That is all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mom_with_Teenagers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vale la pena pagar mas e irse a cualquier hotel menos este.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank InmisTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mesokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Umnitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kikysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 65 in Flagstaff
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#7 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autolodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autolodge Motel

Address: 1313 S Milton Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6346
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: £34 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Autolodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autolodge Motel Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing