We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place in Downtown Flagstaff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I really enjoyed the ambience at the DuBeau. Friendly staff and owners, great lounge to hang out in and chat, adequate kitchen and breakfast, good internet access.
It is near the rail line but I never really noticed the trains and the location is otherwise perfect for exploring downtown Flagstaff.
Rooms are basic but adequate and clean. There's off street parking and you can chat to fellow travellers over the dining table. So much better than motel living.
It's more laid back than big city hostels, so the desk isn't always manned, security is pretty loose, and food storage is a bit chaotic, but that's what you'd expect in a small town and it was never a problem. Can't imagine what the reviewer that dissed it so badly was expecting. You just can't please some people.
I wouldn't think of going anywhere else in Flagstaff.

Room Tip: The private room with two doubles is a good option if you don't like sharing a dorm. Book it ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Loved my stay here, really good crowd there and the noise of trains was really pleasant. Although you might need earplugs if you are a light sleep as not only do you have to contend with the choo choos, but there is an interesting heater that fires up in one of the private rooms that scared the bejesus out of me at 3 in the morning. Lovely place though.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as right by the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neurotictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stopped by du Beau Hostel for one night during a roadtrip. Impossible to sleep, too noisy, no curtain, small bed, not comfortable at all, and tiny dirty bathroom. Never go there. The price is way too high for the quality! We paid 75$, and another couple paid 25$ for the same room!
Breakfast, by the way, was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellofaroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Owner at Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

We are happy to hear that our free breakfast was good, but of course are concerned when a guest is dissatisfied with their overall experience. We would like to clarify that we do not have any double occupancy private rooms that cost $75 per night. The highest rate we currently have is $68 on a weekend night in the high season (March – October), which includes tax, breakfast, parking and WI FI. We also charge a $5.00 key deposit which is refunded when the key is returned to us. We never negotiate our rates since they are published in travel guides and on our website. Dormitory style rooms, which cost $24 per bed in the high season, might be the cause for this person’s confusion about our rates, but we are absolutely certain that no 2 guests were charged different rates for the same type of accommodation.

The DuBeau Hostel is located downtown and one block from the Amtrak station. A number of years ago the city passed a law to stop the train horns from blowing, though occasionally they may sound for emergencies. The downtown area can sometimes be noisy due to the surrounding nightlife and pedestrian friendly walkways, so this is something guests should take into consideration when choosing lodging in Flagstaff. Though smaller than most modern hotel rooms each private room has a bathroom, and is simply furnished with a double bed, desk (and curtains). We are proud of the quality of our product expressed by the overwhelming majority of folks who comment on Trip Advisor and regret that the writer of this comment did not relay their concerns to a staff member, as we will always do our best to ensure our guests leave satisfied. We look forward to continuing to host the many travelers who are visiting Northern Arizona and the Grand Canyon and welcome feedback so we may continue to improve our facilities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's been 16 years since we last stayed in a hostel, when we backpacked around the world, and I have to say that the DuBeau is certainly the best that we've stayed in in the USA.
We chose a double room with bathroom (Deluxe Private) - it was basic but provided all that we needed, including a fridge and a fan.
The communal areas and cooking facilities were very good, kept clean and tidy, the staff were very friendly and helpful and it was nice to be able to sit and chat to fellow travellers of all ages from all over the world. There is use of washing machines and dryers but you might have to wait until the bedding has been washed first. If you don't want to wait there is a launderomat just round the corner in Beaver St, next door to Macy's (excellent coffee!). There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby - our favourite was 'Brews & Cues' just opposite the hostel at 1B Beaver Street - part of the Beaver Street Brewery but more of a pub, with longer opening hours too. Their hefeweizen really hits the spot on a hot day! The hostel is just over the road from the Amtrak station which is a bonus if you're travelling by train.
They provide a free basic breakfast (plenty of fruit and toast) and free coffee & tea all day too.
However, our main reason for staying there were the two tours which they do in conjunction with the Grand Canyon International Hostel - to the Grand Canyon and Sedona.
We've been to the Grand Canyon before, on a day trip from Las Vegas, but this was in a totally different class. Louis was our guide and he made it memorable. A hike below the rim down to Ooh Ahh Point, a trip to the desert view lookout - the whole day was just fantastic.
The trip to Sedona was a bit easier but again with fantastic scenery. The route through Oak Creek Canyon was just stunning.

If you're staying in Flagstaff - go on these tours!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and the staff were very friendly. The beds weren't too comfortable and the rooms were rather tiny, but for a hostel you couldn't complain - apart from finding a pair of old pants under our bed! There was always adequate free parking however the WIFI never worked for us. It was handy having a free breakfast and the kitchen facilities seemed adequate. The town of Flagstaff is lovely and well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a former motel turned into a stripped down International Hostel. Don't let that steer you away. My family of four (2 little boys aged 8 & 9) stayed here on our back from San Diego and it blew away the fantastically mediocre Ramada that we stayed in on the way out—at half the price ($90). The hostel is in the wonderful Railyard District, which is great fun on its own and an easy walk across one major street from bustling downtown Flagstaff. These days it feels increasingly difficult to come away from lodging feeling like you got a good value, so DuBeau is a welcome reprieve. The staff is exceptionally sunny and helpful and the rooms are clean enough. I'm not going to tell you to expect high thread counts or brand new beds, but absolutely serviceable. There are good restaurants a stone throw from the hostel, including the well-known Macy's for breakfast and a great cup of coffee. We were disappointed with the food at Beaver Street brewery, but the beer was delicious.

I highly recommend this for families willing to compromise a bit by way of amenities for a great location and very nice staff. And it's a no-brainer for young traveling single folks.

Room Tip: Request rooms away from train tracks if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My stay here was on a trip with 2 other girlfriends. The hostel is in a great location close to breweries, tasty restaurants and a great yoga studio. The staff was friendly and the dorms were clean. Our roommates were friendly and considerate. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.3 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#19 of 65 in Flagstaff
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#35 of 65 in Flagstaff
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Vista
Hotel Monte Vista
#29 of 65 in Flagstaff
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

Address: 19 W Phoenix Ave, Flagstaff, AZ, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5509 (Formerly DuBeau International Hostel)
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range: £11 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DuBeau's Motel Inn was built in 1929 on the original Route 66 corridor in downtown Flagstaff. Its colorful history and distinctive character make it a popular respite for adventurers from around the world, who congregate here to share travel tales, meals and more. The DuBeau is the perfect choice for folks who are looking for clean, affordable accommodations with the added convenience of walking from your door to explore the historic downtown district, with its many eateries, breweries, art galleries and more. Often referred to as a "hidden gem", the new and improved Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is truly unique. The entire facility has been lovingly restored, but hasn't lost its old world charm and spunky spirit! Accommodation options include quaint en-suite private rooms & cheerful shared dormitories. Breakfast, Wi-Fi & off-street parking are complimentary and our rates include all taxes, so it's easy to understand the total price you will pay - no surprises here! For added convenience, we also have a fully equipped kitchen & laundry facilities available for guest use. We're excited to introduce our brand new beer and wine bar; Nomads Global Lounge - "Where the World Comes to Mingle"! Due to open in July of 2015, this travel themed adult watering hole will bring visitors and locals together, in a relaxing, nature inspired environment. We hope you'll join us for a cool beverage during your stay! And don't forget...The magnificent Grand Canyon is only a 1.5 Hour drive from Flagstaff. We offer awesome day hiking tours at an unbeatable price! If you're in the mood for a friendly, stylish place to rest up for your next travel adventure - Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dubeau International Hotel Flagstaff
Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing