We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Keep Coming Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I Keep Coming Back”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This place hits the sweet spot between funky hostel and BnB chic. Very clean, welcoming and stylish. Also, if you are arriving by train it's literally a stone's throw (if you're a good thower) from the train station. I have stayed in hostels and 5-stars and this is one of my favorite places. Do not fret that their breakfast offerings are less than impressive. Go 100 feet around the corner to Macy's for the best breakfast you can imagine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d_odomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    44
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
35
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in the end of March, beginning of April. Nice common room with some games, two kitchens available. There's a natural food market within walking distance to buy groceries or supplies to cook. Reception hours posted on website are not necessarily accurate, but maybe this is an off-season thing. We were also told that breakfast during the week was not at the DuBeau common area, but at the Grand Canyon Hostel (their sister location), which is a block or so away. That's apparently an off-season thing as well, but we didn't know that until we got there. Hot water takes about 10 minutes to kick in in the showers, but is nice and hot once it starts. Website says free coffee available all day, but we were told we had to make it if we wanted it. Not a big deal, but not what we expected. Great staff, good location near train station. They give you a ride to Greyhound station, which is not really walking distance. DuBeau is very near a rock/metal bar, so there were loud bands playing across the street on the weekend, but nice and quiet during the week. Ended up wishing we had stayed in the Grand Canyon hostel instead, but still a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived in Flagstaff in a snow storm and were very happy when we got to our room. We had a private room with bathroom, felt more like a hotel than hostel. Warm comfortable bed and good shower. Receptionist gave good information for dinner close by. No breakfast was included.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flicka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Private room. Very clean and comfortable. Price included breakfast, Wi Fi.
You can also cook other meals in a shared kitchen. Eat in the dining room, outside in the courtyard or in your room. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. The great staff will even pick you up from the Greyhound depot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My boyfriend and I took a weekend trip up Flagstaff to see a little fall and head up to the Grand Canyon. We chose the DuBeau Hostel because it was the most affordable option in the area we wanted. We got a private room, which unlike their sister hostel, had its own bathroom. The hostel had all kinds of character, two kitchens, free wi-fi and provided breakfast and coffee in the morning. The staff were also super friendly.

The room itself was small. We got the economy private room, and not the deluxe, so we expected this. We could've used a little more room around the bed, but it worked. We also had a desk and a mini fridge (which was great!). I will note that the heater worked great, and a/c wasn't an issue in the fall. I do wish they could have turned on the heat before we got there, as the room was very chilly when we first got there.

We loved being close to the bars, breweries and coffee shops. This also comes with being close to the train, though, and that was very noisy. But this is by no means the hostel's fault, and you're going to get that at any downtown Flagstaff hotel. If this is something that will bother you, try not to stay anywhere central.

The hostel served as a nice little home base for our trip. Now, if this place was called a hotel, or even a motel, I'd rate it quite a bit lower. But, this is a hostel, and I think for what we paid I really enjoyed it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendalyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petone, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I really enjoyed the ambience at the DuBeau. Friendly staff and owners, great lounge to hang out in and chat, adequate kitchen and breakfast, good internet access.
It is near the rail line but I never really noticed the trains and the location is otherwise perfect for exploring downtown Flagstaff.
Rooms are basic but adequate and clean. There's off street parking and you can chat to fellow travellers over the dining table. So much better than motel living.
It's more laid back than big city hostels, so the desk isn't always manned, security is pretty loose, and food storage is a bit chaotic, but that's what you'd expect in a small town and it was never a problem. Can't imagine what the reviewer that dissed it so badly was expecting. You just can't please some people.
I wouldn't think of going anywhere else in Flagstaff.

Room Tip: The private room with two doubles is a good option if you don't like sharing a dorm. Book it ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Loved my stay here, really good crowd there and the noise of trains was really pleasant. Although you might need earplugs if you are a light sleep as not only do you have to contend with the choo choos, but there is an interesting heater that fires up in one of the private rooms that scared the bejesus out of me at 3 in the morning. Lovely place though.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as right by the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neurotictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.2 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#34 of 63 in Flagstaff
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#18 of 63 in Flagstaff
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Vista
Hotel Monte Vista
#30 of 63 in Flagstaff
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

Property: Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel
Address: 19 W Phoenix Ave, Flagstaff, AZ, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5509 (Formerly DuBeau International Hostel)
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DuBeau's Motel Inn was built in 1929 on the original Route 66 corridor in downtown Flagstaff. Its colorful history and distinctive character make it a popular respite for adventurers from around the world, who congregate here to share travel tales, meals and more. The DuBeau is the perfect choice for folks who are looking for clean, affordable accommodations with the added convenience of walking from your door to explore the historic downtown district, with its many eateries, breweries, art galleries and more. Often referred to as a "hidden gem", the new and improved Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is truly unique. The entire facility has been lovingly restored, but hasn't lost its old world charm and spunky spirit! Accommodation options include quaint en-suite private rooms & cheerful shared dormitories. Breakfast, Wi-Fi & off-street parking are complimentary and our rates include all taxes, so it's easy to understand the total price you will pay - no surprises here! For added convenience, we also have a fully equipped kitchen & laundry facilities available for guest use. We're excited to introduce our brand new beer and wine bar; Nomads Global Lounge - "Where the World Comes to Mingle"! Due to open in July of 2015, this travel themed adult watering hole will bring visitors and locals together, in a relaxing, nature inspired environment. We hope you'll join us for a cool beverage during your stay! And don't forget...The magnificent Grand Canyon is only a 1.5 Hour drive from Flagstaff. We offer awesome day hiking tours at an unbeatable price! If you're in the mood for a friendly, stylish place to rest up for your next travel adventure - Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubeau International Hotel Flagstaff
Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing