We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great viewing of sporting events.”
Review of San Felipe's Coastal Cantina - CLOSED

San Felipe's Coastal Cantina
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Fresh ingredients. Killer specials. Libacious cocktails. Dorado's menu offers the best in-house recipes, straight from Mexico, utilizing the freshest local ingredients Arizona has to offer. All of our lunch, dinner and weekend brunch choices are made from scratch and we are proud to keep it local with Flagstaff's very own Tortilla Lady tortillas. Enjoy a signature margarita on our patio during the day or get out on the dance floor at night. Dorado's has it all!
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great viewing of sporting events.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great cantina bar. Great views from all the tables for sporting events. The bears are cold and very Good liquor selection.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blumldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    7
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Free Chips and Salsa Are Back!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I shared a previous review of San Felipe where I said that the fish and shrimp tacos are amazing, but that they had discontinued free chips and salsa. I am happy to report that on my last visit they had reinstated the free chips and salsa. I'm so happy to see this since I thought making people pay for it was a bad business choice. Also, they have REALLY stepped up the service. The wait staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Thanks, San Felipe! We'll be back for more of those amazing shrimp tacos!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Critzyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Trying to think of something positive”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It looked like a fun place and we wanted Mexican food so gave it a try. There weren't many customers but we thought maybe we were early for the "rush." We ordered two frozen Margaritas that were on special for $3; they were served in smaller drink glasses that normally might have held a Scotch on the Rocks rather than a normal Margarita glass. Not much of a "special" if the drink is half the size of the normal one.

My husband had the steak quesadilla which he said wasn't too bad but I had a ground beef enchilada that I seriously considered sending back - that would have required staying longer for something else and after more than 30 minutes of listening to a loud, foul-mouthed customer at the bar I decided not to. Basically it was a cheese enchilada with greasy meat sauce poured over it. There was so much grease I had to use a napkin to sop it up before eating it. My husband commented that the salsa wasn't very good - like they had thrown in all the veggie leftovers into it.

Definitely not a family place with rather off-color signs on the wall - seems a bit old and probably could use a makeover in decor and menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolmsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Flavors were like a party in my mouth!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. The flavors & textures were so delicious. I had the Baja chicken wrap ... Best wrap I ever had. The salsa alone is worth the visit! Service was outstanding too. It wasn't busy so I don't know how it would be when crowded. Definitely will be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More employees than customers”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere was dull, although the decor/theme was really fun. We expected more from the atmosphere than we received. Staff was friendly, but there were way too many of them hanging around.. it made our dinner feel awkward. The chips & salsa was good and so were the soft tacos. My boyfriend had the taco salad and didn't like it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paigemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing