We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We chose this restaurant for the kids menu”
Review of Mountain Oasis

Mountain Oasis
Ranked #61 of 347 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Queen Creek, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We chose this restaurant for the kids menu”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

While looking for a place to eat in downtown Flagstaff we had a particular requirement; we had to find a place that would satisfy a fussy three year old child. Well, problem solved. Mountain Oasis featured Kraft brand mac & cheese on the kid's menu. Aside that requirement, the rest of our party found the food there to be tasty. Most of the items were savory and somewhat of a Mediterranean flair. The soup was especially good and the salads that we had were generous. The prices were a bit high for salads, but not unreasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAS1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    102
    20
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, eclectic menu”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The menu is a bit limited, but there is a good variety of choices. There is a good assortment of appetizers--I was tempted to make a meal out of two or three of them.
We had a steak salad and a tuna salad, and both were quite good. The piri piri shrimp appetizer was very good.
The beer list is good. We had attentive service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This Oasis Was No Mirage”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

On a day trip to Flagstaff last week we were fortunate to be referred to Mountain Oasis at lunch time. We were greeted immediately upon arrival and seated at a table of our choice. Servers were friendly and informative. We received our meals quickly. The cream of asparagus soup was delicious, and the sandwiches were much more than ample; large enough to take half home, but too tasty to do that. Next time we're in Flagstaff we will definitely return and sample more of the items on the interesting and varied menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiegoPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahahual, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time in Flagstaff”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

On a road trip with my husband. Stopped to get my hair cut in town. Hairdresser recommended this restaurant. It was GREAT! Cream of carrot soup was delicious! Had ribeye steak with pineapple salsa and baby potatoes with corn relish and fresh green beans. The coffee was very good also. Would definitely go here again! They also have different kinds of sliders for happy hour. We did not have a drink but they looked good. They also have fresh fruit smoothies! Maybe we will stop on our way out of town tomorrow to try one of those!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ljob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Cow Town's Polyglot Cuisine”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What with Route 66 running through it, the train depot still linking New York (in 52 hours), Chicago (in 32), and LA (in 11) and its immortalized setting for cowboy and Indian movies of the 1940s, old Flagstaff, Arizona loomed as an inescapable bucket-list stop on our drive from Sedona to the Grand Canyon. Also, we needed lunch.

Right there in the historic center of town, a short walk from the train station where we parked, we came upon a polyglot café—the Mountain Oasis Global Cuisine and Juice Bar. With bared brick walls hung with work of local artists, a stamped tin ceiling 12 or more feet high and guys in beards and boots, the Oasis was an amiable place to fill up for the two-hour drive north.

The Oasis will cook you prime rib and a rib eye steak, But the menu emphasizes vegetarian fare—plates, wraps, sandwiches and salads of fresh and canned global origins. It offers hummus, tofu, dolmas, falafels, gyros, shitake mushrooms, manicotti and linguini, Greek salad, Thai peanut sauce, Mandarin chicken salad, Cantonese pasta, fajita chicken and Japanese nori rolls. For a drink maybe try the Maui Wowie latte. We didn’t dare.

I had New England clam chowder, a mistake 2,500 miles from Boston. The seasoning was clammy enough, but I detected just three or four bits of clam. My Reuben sandwich on marbleized rye bread was merely passable. My traveling companion Yvonne liked her block of medium rare Ahi tuna on a toasted bun. We should have tried the pineapple tofu salad, which another diner recommended.

We couldn’t divine whether, with their adventurous menu, the Oasis’s cooks are serious or whimsical. For their work, they earn two stars. But for their prices—we spent $19.98—and the atmosphere, setting, location, décor and responsive service, we would make it four.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Oasis also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing