We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good diner breakfast”

Crown Railroad Cafe
Ranked #51 of 345 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
368 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good diner breakfast”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were drawn to the restaurant by their promotion for the running model train. I personally have little interest in trains, but for our friends, it prompted conversation of their passion. The food is typical for a diner: large flapjacks, nicely prepared eggs, and a huge list of omelets. I ordered the buckwheat pancakes which were not whole grain, but were tender and tasty. The eggs were cooked as requested and the coffee cups were kept full.
The server was friendly and experienced, but was unable to bring the correct order to the table and remember who ordered what. He also is guilty of responding with "no problem" to our thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    64
    27
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joseph
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“unusual choices”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This restaurant was convenient to our motel, so we went there for supper. I had stuffed cabbage, an interesting choice after days of quick restaurant meals on the road. It was slightly overcooked, but still good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“only their friends or staff would write these favorable ratings!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

it is cute, and clean (although it smelled strongly of disinfectant) but the food was just horrible. The prices were way over the top for the type of food they serve. If you loved the food in the hospital or at college, you may like this.
I always worry about trip advisor reviews being written only by the staff or establishment, and I think this one proved that that is what happens.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melissa1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good diner breakfast”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Ate here because it was adjacent to the poor lodging choice we made. Enjoyed the good food and the railroad memorabilia. Had a very filling breakfast before heading off to the Grand Canyon for the day. Our waiter, Dillon, was very friendly and kept our coffee cups full.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dandi719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Good Food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived at the restaurant an hour before closing on the Saturday evening before Easter. There were less than 10 people in the restaurant. The waitress and cashier were very friendly. I ordered pancakes and my husband ordered the meatloaf plate. Both were fresh, very good and comforting to a retired couple who had traveled many miles that day and had not eaten for a few hours.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown Railroad Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crown Railroad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing