We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Great Service.”

Crown Railroad Cafe
Ranked #53 of 349 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food. Great Service.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

First time visit late on a Sunday morning. Place was packed, but service was quick enough and friendly. Salad was cold, food was hot and delicious. Generous portions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetoneinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    66
    28
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good Food, Lacking in Service”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We like a diner style restaurant for breakfast now and then, and thought this might fit the bill. The food was actually really good - no complaints. The service was a tad slow, but they were busy with holiday travelers and that would easily be forgiven. What killed it for us was a rude waitress and a restaurant owner that couldn't keep the back of house issues in the back of house. His demeanor was blunt and he was outwardly rude to customers and staff. The atmosphere was uncomfortable. I will note that one young waitress was very polite and sweet; she is an example of what could make the place a 5 star in our book.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Retro Diner with It's own train. ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Passed through Flagstaff on Father's Day and rode through the main drag looking for a place to eat lunch before the church crowd got out. We pulled into this place just to turn around and it was very busy. I rolled down the window and asked a couple, leaving the restaurant, if the food was good. They said it was real good.

We found a table and ordered from a lady that answered all our questions. I had an omlet and "Those Potatoes" (home fries with some peppers mixed in if I remember correctly) . It was tasty and filling diner fare. My wife had a Cobb Salad that was huge. She said it was delicious and fresh (and she's picky about stuff like that). Waitress kept my iced tea glass full. We had no complaints and left stuffed.

The place has a cool miniature train that runs around the dining area on a shelf near the ceiling and train motif. Looked like an old diner with a lunch counter. People were friendly and service was as expected. Overall was a unique place with wide variety, pretty good food and large portions. Appeared to be a mostly local crowd, which is usually a good sign to me.

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanding, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just passing through”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This restaurant is attached to the Howard Johnson Motel where I spent the night. I went there for breakfast and it was great except for the grumpy manager berating staff while people were eating. The biscuits are made early and are huge with great gravy so whatever else you order, if you like biscuits and gravy get these. Eggs were done as ordered and "those potatoes" were excellent. You will go away full, for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PALMER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
375 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good diner breakfast”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were drawn to the restaurant by their promotion for the running model train. I personally have little interest in trains, but for our friends, it prompted conversation of their passion. The food is typical for a diner: large flapjacks, nicely prepared eggs, and a huge list of omelets. I ordered the buckwheat pancakes which were not whole grain, but were tender and tasty. The eggs were cooked as requested and the coffee cups were kept full.
The server was friendly and experienced, but was unable to bring the correct order to the table and remember who ordered what. He also is guilty of responding with "no problem" to our thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TucsonTeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown Railroad Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crown Railroad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing