We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a average snow play are”

Wing Mountain Snow Play Area
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just a average snow play are”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

If you are from east or north then you will not this place interesting. Like any other snow play area. There is a fees for this area but not sure why. But if you from AZ you may find this place interesting only during snow

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bhabani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wing Snow - great place for kids to play in snow”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

During the winter season in Arizona, a great place to go to with the kids is the Wing Snow Play Area -- we go here every year. Before, we would buy the "plastic" sleds at the gas stations but for 2013, we bought these wonderful plastic blow-up sleds which were 70% off at Flagstaff's Target store (just about $6 each). Of course, we also had to buy an $18 air pump that connects to the car. But, wherever you get it, the kids will have fun and for safety make sure they wear a helmet.

Other than sledding, the place also has "plowed and managed parking", hot beverages and other concessions, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, and just plain playing in the snow, building a snowman. Make sure to check their website first to see if they have adequate snow (usually December to February).

Also great spots for taking pictures with the snow-capped mountains of Flagstaff.

As of 2013, just $12 for a car (with five people).

See our 2013 Youtube video on WING SNOW PLAY AREA @ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJmlt6nH3As&list=PL5-YlX8BpVL_yKUiCpsq4t_OrLDfPlWhS

In the video however, we were already at the end of winter season so the snow was much less than during our previous trips, but the kids still had a lot of fun.

Directions: From Interstate 40, follow Hwy 180 north 2.8 miles past Snowbowl Road to mile marker 226 (approximate), turn left onto Forest Service Road 222B. The exit is clearly marked as “Wing Mountain Snow Play Area.”
Phone: (602)-923-3555
Website: http://snowplayaz.com/

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JumpingNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Love that there is a safe place to sled and they have a snack bar and bathrooms and fire pit. We always come here when it snows in flagstaff!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ginmatari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was a great area to bring our daughter who has never played in snow before. She enjoyed the sledding and making a snow man. They had snow hills for all different ages - everything from huge hills for the older kids and then little hills perfect for the little ones. Make sure you bring your sledding stuff and also bring your food/beverages. They only have a small consession stand that offered hot chocolate and some chips and other small snacks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MGabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“It's a Gamble, Needs Better Communication”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our daughter had been asking us to take her to the snow all winter. As we live in the Phoenix area, she'd only seen it one other time and didn't remember. We planned to travel from the valley to visit Wing Mountain on a Sunday. We watched their FaceBook page Saturday & Sunday morning for updates (this seems to be the only way to get them). They were open Saturday. Sunday morning they said they were open again and brought in snow. By the time we arrived late morning, there was a guy out front saying it was closed due to no snow. Our daughter was so disappointed, as were we having driven all that way for nothing. We checked their FB page again later that day and someone posted that they had been their that Saturday and is was mostly gravel. That poster felt WM was dishonest in telling people to come on Sunday morning because there was no way they could truck in enough snow. I understand they don't control the weather, but they could do a much better job communitcating when they are open/closed and what the conditions are.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvAZTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wing Mountain Snow Play Area also viewed

 

Been to Wing Mountain Snow Play Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing