We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Snow Peak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snow Peak Inn
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Appalling.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stopped here to book a room and finally got booked in. On our way to the room we passed someone - I may be being unfair but this was a poster child for meth addiction - scrambling in the coin return slot to see if there was any change. We decided to check the room first and by the time we got to the 2nd floor another obviously longterm resident was peering in the back of our SUV. The room was appalling. I didn't even want to set foot in it, let alone sleep there. The desk clerk didn’t seem at all surprised when we asked for our money back. I've stayed in some dives but this was way beyond this. It was unclean, rundown and creepy. Sleep in your car rather than part with a dollar for this place.

Room Tip: Tip: go somewhere else. Anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    16
    11
    33
See reviews for
10
26
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

After spending up big on accommodation at the Grand Canyon we wanted something that wasn't a wallet buster, and that's exactly what we got.
The room was small but it had a fridge and microwave, very clean and everything worked including the free WiFi.
The reception staff were friendly and gave us a discount from the AZ coupon book without any hassles.
What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I are travelling around America, and so have a budget to hold to. We booked this place because it was cheaper than a lot of other properties in Flagstaff and looked clean enough and close enough to town to be ok. I wish we never made this mistake. I feel compelled enough to create an account on here and write my first review, to urge people in our same position to spend the extra $5 dollars and go somewhere other than 'Snow Peak Inn'.

Sure, with a cheaper place you have to expect less amenities and a more basic room, we expected this, but there is NO excuse for the amount of dirt and the state we found our room in.

On entering the check in office we were asked to wait until the guy had finished a personal conversation on the phone. He then checked us in and told us the room was around the back, no customer skills or introduction to the facilities in and around the hotel, not a great first impression.

We asked for a non smoking room, and on opening the door the stink of stale cigarettes smacked us in the face. We went down and asked for another room, and were told that the aircon system pumps in circulated air from other rooms and that the cigarette smell came from a smoking room.... Of course, that well known smoking room to non-smoking room air circulation unit...silly me!

The room was very small and It was a hot evening, so we decided to put on the smoking AC and try our luck. Of course, the AC didn't work, so we had to open the door and the windows, not overly secure. On opening the windows, we noticed that there was no way to lock them. The main window in the room was a sliding window, and was secured by a peice of wood on the window runner. And the bathroom window didn't even shut, so forget room security.

Room cleanliness was also a joke. There were hairs In the bed, and the bed spread on top of the bed was filthy and stank of stale sweat. There was thick sludgy dirt around the edges of the mirror in the bedroom, and the big window in the bedroom.

The bathroom really was the icing on the smoky dirty cake. There was no hand soap to be seen, and the shampoo dispenser was branded Americas Best Value Inn. The towels were really worn, small, stank of bleach and were from the Marriott Hotel. There was also soap sludge around the bath and in the tile grouting. The 'remodelled rooms' advertised on their sign really could do with knocking down and starting again.

If we could, we would have gone somewhere else that evening, but when pre-book something and you are away for a while on a definite budget, you're sort of stuck. Don't make the same mistake we did, stay away from this run down, tired, dirty, past it's sell by date hole, there are plenty of other cheap places in Flagstaff to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OrderlySphinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Bed - 1/5 small uncomfortable and poor pillows
Room Amenities - 2/5 fridge and microwave buit tiny room and no chair etc.
Internet - 0/5 booked on the understanding there was wireless.. THERE IS NOT!, was given a cable to connect, it was broken and didnt work - effectively no internet.

The RUDEST reception we received anywhere on our travels, timy room, towles were old.. really old.. thin, tiny and good only as rags.

The worst place we stayed in on the US trip... and yet was only $6 cheaper than "the best place (California Inn)" we stayed in. Given the numerous choices available in Flagstaff... look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueBloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

You certainly get what you pay for at the Snow Peak Inn, which is what I expected. The rooms were decent and the front desk staff was friendly, the housekeeping staff, however, was less than helpful. We had 3 people staying in one room for 3 nights and had to bug the housekeeping staff multiple times to get addition towels as the room was only equipped with 2 bath towels and wash cloths. Not ideal for 3 people. Once we called the front desk to request more/clean towels the housekeeping staff stopped by shortly thereafter with fresh (albeit threadbare) towels.

I didn't have high expectations for such an inexpensive motel and received more or less what was expected.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were happy to find the inn centrally located with easy access to the main highways. Our stay was affordable and thus of comparable quality and service. We were disappointed to learn that the advertised swimming pool was in fact misleading--there was no swimming pool--it was being used for storage. The continental breakfast was not all that inviting and could be improved upon! For the two evenings that we stayed, our experience was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZEL GREEN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is very old. It smelled musty, beds were very soft and bathroom was horrible. The breakfast area was not clean. How hard is it to wipe down a coffee pot?? The furnture was very old and chipped. There was no deadbolt on the door which made me nervous.

Room Tip: Ask for a key and check out the room before you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#18 of 63 in Flagstaff
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Peak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Peak Inn

Property: Snow Peak Inn
Address: 822 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6261
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Snow Peak Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snow Peak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Peak Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing