We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Birthday Dinner”

Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Ranked #56 of 362 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sakura offers one of the most unique dining experiences in Flagstaff. Part of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, Sakura is a popular destination with locals and visitors alike. Sakura has been voted one of the "Best Restaurants of the Southwest" by Food and Wine Magazine. Sakura has received the title of best Japanese restaurant for ten years from the Arizona Daily Sun. Sakura, which means Cherry Blossom, offers two traditional Japanese dining styles. At Flagstaffs original Sushi Bar, you can sit and watch the highly trained chefs produce incredible works of "edible art."
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The chef was incredible. The food was so good, andit was amazing to watch his expert preparation of our meal, despite some very rude and demeaning guests at our table. He was gracious and made sure my husband's 50th was better than I could have hoped. We were recommended by the front desk of the hotel where we were staying. The staff here treated us like royalty making wine and menu recommendations that we would not have considered otherwise. Even calling down for reservations was a delightful experience. To make it even better, the birthday dinner was FREE (up to $25.00 with purchase of another meal). I have experienced this type of meal before, but this group elevated it to a much higher level. I believe our chef said he had been there 30 years or so... Indescribably delicious!

Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Guest Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you so much for your rave review! We'll pass along your kind feedback to our entire service team and chefs. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is my favorite place to eat. Food can be a little pricey, but it's worth it for a nice night out. The show the chefs put on while cooking are so much fun! Tables seat eight and if you have a party less then that you share a table with other people. At first it seemed uncomfortable being seated at a table with multiple people, but now I have come to enjoy meeting the interesting people I would have never met.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gypsiespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

On behalf of the management and team at Sakura - thank you for taking the time to post your review. We love being your favorite place to eat in Flagstaff! We do offer specials often so be sure to call and ask. Thanks again and we'll see you again soon at the teppan tables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I was very impressed with Reuben, our personal chef. We had a great time with his presentation and personality!! Great tasting food. Fun for our group. Was great that we didn't have to leave hotel for good food and pleasant evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Thank you for posting your review. We'll pass along your comments to Rueben - we know he will appreciate your review. He works very hard to ensure each guest experience at Sakura is awesome. Looking forward to seeing you again at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I love sushi but this place is not one I would return to. Very average in food quality. The service is good and the place is nice but the food is how I rate sushi places. The portions are good and I wanted to like this place but with such average taste it was hard to rate it very high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for your candid and honest review. We do read and take each comment seriously. we apologize that we didn't meet your expectations and will strive, truly, to improve and hope that you'll give us another chance to prove that we can and will do better to win back your approval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Great Flagstaff restaurant. One of my favorites as a local.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for posting your review, we love hearing from the locals here in Flagstaff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing