We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food we had in America!”

Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Ranked #67 of 348 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sakura offers one of the most unique dining experiences in Flagstaff. Part of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, Sakura is a popular destination with locals and visitors alike. Sakura has been voted one of the "Best Restaurants of the Southwest" by Food and Wine Magazine. Sakura has received the title of best Japanese restaurant for ten years from the Arizona Daily Sun. Sakura, which means Cherry Blossom, offers two traditional Japanese dining styles. At Flagstaffs original Sushi Bar, you can sit and watch the highly trained chefs produce incredible works of "edible art."
Cornwall, UK.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“best food we had in America!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The food at this restaurant was some of the best food we had whilst travelling America! Cooked in front of us by an experienced chef who also made it fun by doing tricks with the rice and fire! Would love to come back one day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danni_Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We would love to have you back in Sakura soon. We hope you had a great trip to the United States and thank you for including DoubleTree Flagstaff and Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki in our US vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    56
    21
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
2 reviews
“Great Teppanyaki Chef, Service and Sushi”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We dined at this restaurant and had both teppanyaki and sushi. The sushi was actually very tasty. The teppanyki Chef Antonio was VERY friendly and put on a great "show". The service was great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeahE999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Your feedback means a lot to our entire team. Thank you very much and we hope to see you back at Sakura soon.

Martha Delgado
Food and Beverage Director
Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sushi good”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The food was very good. Because we sat in the dining room and not in the sushi room our service was very poor. Maybe the waitress was new. The bar at this hotel was very poor. They are remodeling so that may change.
Good sushi

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PennyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
I am truly sorry that your experience was not the best while dining at Sakura Sushi and the Woodlands Cafe. We do have a brand new staff and are working diligently on training and retraining them appropriately to provide 100% guest satisfaction. Your feedback is very helpful in our efforts to improve service. We hope you'll be able to return soon to experience the new service as well as our brand new bar (expected to be completed at the end of April 2014).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My 7 year old son and I are in town from Boston and staying at the hotel and decided to try it out. We've been to a similar restaurant in Boston, that we really like and we both agreed this was even better. The service was excellent and our chef, Eric cooked a perfect dinner if chicken and steak while entertaining us with his flaming onion and a few other tricks. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Karenafalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comment. We will let Chef Eric know that he is doing a great job. Please do recommend us to your friends in Boston, since Flagstaff is a beautiful town to visit on the way to either the Grand Canyon or Sedona. Once again, thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated.

Martha Delgado
Food and Beverage Director
Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel and ate downtown most nights. Karma etc which was pretty good. This... interesting, staff took booking for Teppan and told me to wait at bar and would be called. Forget to call me - 30mins later get next table, ordered Sashima starter which was great and prompt. Teppan - overcooked, dry and bland - very average. I'd go back for the sushi which was quickly prepared and great, the rest mediocre.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruceoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value your feedback and will discuss with our Teppanyaki Chefs the importance of paying more attention to ensuring food is cooked to the correct degree. It is very important to us that our customers have a great experience. Though we are pleased you enjoyed the sushi, we do apologize that the entire experience did not meet your expectations and will hope to have the opportunity impress you on your next visit to Flagstaff and Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki.

Martha Delgado
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing