We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, Entertaining, Family Oriented”

Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Ranked #60 of 342 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Price range: US$16 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sakura offers one of the most unique dining experiences in Flagstaff. Part of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, Sakura is a popular destination with locals and visitors alike. Sakura has been voted one of the "Best Restaurants of the Southwest" by Food and Wine Magazine. Sakura has received the title of best Japanese restaurant for ten years from the Arizona Daily Sun. Sakura, which means Cherry Blossom, offers two traditional Japanese dining styles. At Flagstaffs original Sushi Bar, you can sit and watch the highly trained chefs produce incredible works of "edible art."
Black Canyon City, Arizona
2 reviews
“Fantastic food, Entertaining, Family Oriented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was the first time I had been to a restaurant like this and I was blown away with the graciousness of Chef Antonio. He entertained us throughout the meal preparation and did an excellent job of making the children a big part of the fun. We didn't know what to expect but had a great time and would definitely recommend trying this out and ask for Chef Antonio.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your recommendation. We'll pass along your feedback to Chef Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    54
    20
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Good food, great chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Chef Antonio prepared a great meal, was very personable & made the "show" fun for the kids. He made sure to cook the food to our liking. We'll definitely go back & hopefully see Chef Antonio again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki. We'll pass along your kudos to Chef Antonio. Our goal is to provide a fun and entertianing experience for the entire family (along with GREAT food, of course!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb Entertainment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wonderful place for a birthday celebration for youngsters -- our chef, Antonio, was so engaged and wanted to impress our little guy - he made the biggest volcano ever! Very impressive. We will be back! Thank you, Chef, for a memorable 10th birthday celebration!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MtnGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and happy birthday to your little guy. We are glad you had a good time.
Martha Delgado
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food and lots of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a group of 8 people and we all had a fantastic time. Chef Antonio was very entertaining and funny and cooked us a fabulous meal. We highly recommend this place and Chef Antonio.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are happy that you had a pleasant experience in Sakura. We will let chef Antonio about your feedback.

Martha Delgado
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“best food we had in America!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The food at this restaurant was some of the best food we had whilst travelling America! Cooked in front of us by an experienced chef who also made it fun by doing tricks with the rice and fire! Would love to come back one day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danni_Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We would love to have you back in Sakura soon. We hope you had a great trip to the United States and thank you for including DoubleTree Flagstaff and Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki in our US vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing