We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING Meal”

Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Ranked #63 of 348 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sakura offers one of the most unique dining experiences in Flagstaff. Part of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, Sakura is a popular destination with locals and visitors alike. Sakura has been voted one of the "Best Restaurants of the Southwest" by Food and Wine Magazine. Sakura has received the title of best Japanese restaurant for ten years from the Arizona Daily Sun. Sakura, which means Cherry Blossom, offers two traditional Japanese dining styles. At Flagstaffs original Sushi Bar, you can sit and watch the highly trained chefs produce incredible works of "edible art."
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING Meal”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A great meal experience. Chef Eric was OUTSTANDING, very enjoyable to watch prepare the food right in front of you. Also very helpful while he was preparing the food in providing useful information on the area. Food quality was excellent and prepared exactly as everyone wanted. Great experience overall.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for the 5-star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    56
    21
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bomb food!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had a terrific experience and the food was wonderful! The chef, Antonio, did an absolutely amazing job and wowed us all with his talent and his food. Thanks again for the yummy food and awesome experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmyt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy you enjoyed your Sakura experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The chef and the food were great, but the service was very slow.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The restaurant wasn't that crowded the night we were there, but they couldn't get us in until 9pm. The service was very slow. It appeared that there was only one chef at that time and we had to wait for him to cook for another table. This didn't go well with our children. Our drinks, soup, and salads were slow to come. Once the chef got to our table, he did a great show. The kids loved it. He normally doesn't throw shrimp to catch in your mouth, but our child was insisting from his past experiences with teppanyaki. He made a special point to do that for him after he had completed all of the cooking. It made my son's night. I would have rated this higher, but the service was just too slow for that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 434melissak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback -- it truly helps us focus our time, energy and resources to address issues to meet the needs of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Too much, to greasy”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Tempura batter so heavy it felt like having fish and chips, scallops cooked to hockey puck stage, steak nuked, nothing less than a disaster....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Good time. Good food.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Chef Eric was awesome and so was the food!!!
Waitress could have been more attentive but it was a great dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBliketoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We'll share with Chef Eric as well as our Food and Beverage Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing