We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect spot”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Highland Country Inn worked out perfectly. We stayed there the night before our backpacking trip. The room was straight-forward and clean. The staff was friendly. We returned to the inn after our trip as well and were able to do laundry. The location was also a major plus - within walking distance to the train station, restaurants, and cafes.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_s_traveler422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    254
    135
    14
    7
See reviews for
122
207
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Although at first apperances you may question why you booked here. On saying that the rooms were very clean, the staff were extremely helpful and this hotel was one of the hidden gems on our trip. It was nice to have clean comfortable beds with kitchen facilities. I did find it a little noisy at times as the fire station is just around the corner. But once you work that out you seem to forget abut the odd siren. In saying that I would happliy say here again. Hotel also has laundry facilities. Import for anyone living out of a suitecase.
No restaurant but there are several only a few minutes drive away.

Room Tip: very good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfp1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
504 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We booked 2 queen beds as that was the only room available but when we arrived we asked for a king size and they changed the room at no cost. The room was extra big and clean and the train noise was very low compared to other hotels in town. There was coffee available in the lobby which was good. We walked in to town which only took 10 minutes and there are about 5-6 good eating places. Cost of the room was £37 which was great value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Hotel is close to downtown (walkable) and university, not very close to freeways, but Flagstaff is pretty small and easy to get around. Very clean, no problems, staff very friendly. Only complaints are small parking lot, wi-fi a bit spotty, and a little minimal on lamps and outlets.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quig36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2010

The Highland Country Inn is an excellent place to stay for frugal travelers who are looking for a clean, no-frills place to stay while spending time in Flagstaff/Northern Arizona. I am a student at NAU and I commute biweekly to class. Whenever I am too tired to drive home or need to spend more time in Flagstaff to finish up school work, this is where I stay.

The rooms are clean and I would rate the quality of mattress/towels/linens/shampoos and soaps on par with national chains like Motel 6 (actually, maybe a bit nicer). As said by other reviewers, they also have mini-fridges, microwaves and free wifi.

The best feature is its physical location though (it can be difficult to get to given the street layout, however). The worst feature, also mentioned in other reviews, is the seedy neighborhood behind the motel and the noise (nearby traffic, possible train noise and I think there is a fire station within a mile).

Lastly, once when I stayed there the cable kept getting fuzzy, but I was too tired to care so I didn't even bother to call the office about it and just went to sleep instead. I won't mark them down for that, but it might be something to watch out for if you stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantecleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This place is nice and centrally located - you can easily walk into town in 5 mins, it's clean and well-run. Nothing to get excited about, but certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueburn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We've been staying there the past 2 years, when rates were $39 / $49 this past August. We'd place family/friends there with one simple call - it was great. Unfortunately starting last...August maybe their service began to decline. Last Saturday they demanded $80 despite competitors pricing remaining consistent at nearly half the price with tons of availability city-wide. Good value while it lasted :-(

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeansHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 64 in Flagstaff
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 64 in Flagstaff
1,059 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Property: Highland Country Inn
Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn
Highland Country Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing