We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate no-frills establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a very good no-frills motel that does what it does simply but very well. Rooms initially seem pretty spartan with their minimal decoration, but they have what you really need: very large, comfortable beds, effective heating/AC, large TV, fridge, microwave (at least, in the one we had, they did), good shower, hair dryer etc.

Everything is very clean, and the whole place is very well-maintained. Good parking, with excellent access to main roads. Surprisingly quiet considering location.

Family who run it are v helpful and friendly, and the location is good for seeing Flagstaff's old town.

All told, one of those places you think twice about reviewing, lest other people make it so popular you can't get in anymore at these bargain prices...

Room Tip: Rooms near the metal stairs can be disturbed by people clanking up them late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerbilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

I had stayed here many years ago and as I had to walk to the Amtrak station at 5AM to catch my train, chose to revisit. Surprised that hotel was so well maintained after all these years. Bed was comfortable and room clean. Gentlemen at front desk very friendly. Will come back here next time. Incidentally AAA recomends. My rate was very reasonabe.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We didn't have a room booked when we got to town and looked at a few places...Little America Hotel, and Hotel Monte Vista. Didn't want to pay a 100 bucks at little america..but it looked really nice...and didn't want a shared batch at monte vista...and low and behold we found a hidden gem.

Highland is a motel so don't get your hopes up too much but the management is fantastic, the rooms are clean, and it's close to the "action" of downtown and right across the street from NAU.

We had two queen beds which served their purpose for the night. It only cost about $50 plus tax, which was great and included wifi..a little slow..but who cares..and coffee tea in the morning. It also had a mini fridge which I was not expecting but really appreciated.

The manager at night gave us two resturant recomendations and it turned out to be great...more on that review later..
The next day he even drew a map for us on the best way to get to Sunset Crater, Wupatki, and Grand Canyon, then on to Vegas...very nice people.

Just don't expect the Four Seasons, but it's a great deal for the price.

Room Tip: Pick a room by the stairs if you can since there are not elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austinmike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Two of us stayed here and the size of the room was great. The room was clean and ready for us when we got there without any issues. We were there in the middle of winter and the heating worked great. We stayed here without a car but it wasn't a problem because it was only a short walk into the downtown district, microbreweries and restaurants. The University adjacent is worth a wonder around too. The staff were accomodating and polite and made us feel welcome. For the price of the room it really was the best value place we stayed in on our whole trip. Definitely recommend it to anyone, with or without a car.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

we stayed for three nights for 45$ per night. we decided for this because all the other ones like travellodge had really bad reviews:
nice little hotel, CLEAN, nice staff and free tea and coffee...good start for trips to grand canyon. We would stay again in this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moerbischlumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Book a last minute room in Dec 2011. Basic motel showing its age. Rooms were clean and it was in a good location. No breakfast but several restaurants close by. You can walk to the downtown area where there are alot of restaurants and shops. About a 10 to 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Comfortable, clean and spacious without any trimmings. No breakfast, no laundry, nothing in the lobby, but good for a day or two. Plenty of parking, well located, quiet. No frills, very good value. No particular drawbacks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperDuperCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#26 of 65 in Flagstaff
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#23 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 65 in Flagstaff
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: £42 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn
Highland Country Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing