We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This clean quiet and friendly hotel is close to everything in Flagstaff. This is not a luxury hotel but perfect for budget minded travelers or those don't use the amenities offered at the much higher priced competitors.The front desk was eager to make recommendations and offer advise to make the most of our stay. The cost to stay Saturday through Monday nights was under $210. A bargain considering the first night was a weekend night. Coffee was served in the lobby and there is a nice assortment of restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pk2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

The motel is run by a family on site and it is a ground and second story motel that is super clean. It is across the street from NAU and near the historic downtown. The main street (Milton), route 66 is very busy at times, but the rooms are back away from the traffic. Good size refrig in the room plus a small micro wave (coffee and tea in the lobby). The rates are more than reasonable and this is a fine place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdfsdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed solo for 3 nights in late August. The location proved very useful for getting into Flagstaff and making the connections for onward journey. The room was quite large with reasonable storage space. It was very clean and well away from any traffic noise. Having a large fridge was useful, but the unit did emit loud shudders about every 20 minutes, which made it hard to get to sleep. I was reluctant to unplug the fridge in case this somehow damaged the machine, and did not have time to ask the desk staff about it. Everything else in the room worked fine.

One nice touch was free drinks at reception. I did leave a gratuity for the room cleaning staff in the mornings but this was declined (Its always hard to gauge whether to leave tips in motels). For the advance booking price I payed I was quite satisfied with the Highland Inn for a base. Hopefully my experience with the noisy fridge was a one-off occurrence.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here because of the recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased. It was EXCEPTIONALLY clean, the staff was friendly, and it was conveniently located in downtown Flagstaff near the North Arizona University and the depot. We felt that we got good value for our money. They do not have breakfast, but we walked across the street to the organic grocery and got breakfast items. We had no problems with noise from Route 66.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardener5082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is centrally located within walking distance from historic town. Very clean. Although very close to major highways, there was no road noise. The hotel staff was not familiar with the local attractions but that was quickly solved by a trip to the visitor's bureau which was in easy walking distance.
no pool, no restaurant but that wasn't a problem

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edislo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

There's plenty of choice of motels around the town, I thought we could have got a better deal hunting around. That said there was nothing wrong with the place and the staff were helpful. The room was fine, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D3n50n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had caught the train in Chicago and got off at Flagstaff. The motel (classic lay out) was a short taxi ride from the train station. We were very delayed and the guy on the desk stay extra late to check us in. Very efficient checking in. The room was very clean, rather large - not that that is a bad thing - with a large bathroom. We spent a very restful night there - it was very quiet despite being so close to main roads. As a stopping off point to get started in that part of Arizona, it was great and very economical. Very close to the city centre, so we were able to walk into town and to the car hire place to pick up our car and had a great breakfast at the back of the railway station in Biff's Bagels. I would have liked to stay there a couple of days longer.

Room Tip: The layout of the motel was classic horseshoe. We were on the ground floor, but had not noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#27 of 66 in Flagstaff
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 66 in Flagstaff
1,036 reviews
2 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#24 of 66 in Flagstaff
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: £39 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn
Highland Country Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing