We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable beds and clean rooms”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The room was a little small, but suited us ok. We had a great night sleep as the beds and pillows were comfy. Microwaves and fridge in the room is nice, but no coffee in the room. The coffee is at the reception desk. The staff at the front desk was friendly.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level by the vending machines, and we didn't hear a lot of noise from it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    254
    135
    14
    7
See reviews for
122
207
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This clean quiet and friendly hotel is close to everything in Flagstaff. This is not a luxury hotel but perfect for budget minded travelers or those don't use the amenities offered at the much higher priced competitors.The front desk was eager to make recommendations and offer advise to make the most of our stay. The cost to stay Saturday through Monday nights was under $210. A bargain considering the first night was a weekend night. Coffee was served in the lobby and there is a nice assortment of restaurants near by.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pk2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The motel is run by a family on site and it is a ground and second story motel that is super clean. It is across the street from NAU and near the historic downtown. The main street (Milton), route 66 is very busy at times, but the rooms are back away from the traffic. Good size refrig in the room plus a small micro wave (coffee and tea in the lobby). The rates are more than reasonable and this is a fine place to spend the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdfsdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed solo for 3 nights in late August. The location proved very useful for getting into Flagstaff and making the connections for onward journey. The room was quite large with reasonable storage space. It was very clean and well away from any traffic noise. Having a large fridge was useful, but the unit did emit loud shudders about every 20 minutes, which made it hard to get to sleep. I was reluctant to unplug the fridge in case this somehow damaged the machine, and did not have time to ask the desk staff about it. Everything else in the room worked fine.

One nice touch was free drinks at reception. I did leave a gratuity for the room cleaning staff in the mornings but this was declined (Its always hard to gauge whether to leave tips in motels). For the advance booking price I payed I was quite satisfied with the Highland Inn for a base. Hopefully my experience with the noisy fridge was a one-off occurrence.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomaston, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here because of the recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased. It was EXCEPTIONALLY clean, the staff was friendly, and it was conveniently located in downtown Flagstaff near the North Arizona University and the depot. We felt that we got good value for our money. They do not have breakfast, but we walked across the street to the organic grocery and got breakfast items. We had no problems with noise from Route 66.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardener5082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is centrally located within walking distance from historic town. Very clean. Although very close to major highways, there was no road noise. The hotel staff was not familiar with the local attractions but that was quickly solved by a trip to the visitor's bureau which was in easy walking distance.
no pool, no restaurant but that wasn't a problem

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edislo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

There's plenty of choice of motels around the town, I thought we could have got a better deal hunting around. That said there was nothing wrong with the place and the staff were helpful. The room was fine, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D3n50n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 64 in Flagstaff
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 64 in Flagstaff
1,060 reviews
2.0 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#13 of 64 in Flagstaff
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Property: Highland Country Inn
Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn
Highland Country Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing