We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We chose this motel because f the price on booking dot com. We paid 48 US and even though that is without tax, it still was a good price. Rooms are OK and staff are OK. Not overly interested or helpful but not rude either. It's an 8 minute stroll to downtown which has great restaurants and bars. Flagstaff is a great little town because of all the students, it has lots to go for. We tried one of the (3!) Thai restaurants and the Irish pub Collins.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjp1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    247
    132
    14
    7
See reviews for
118
202
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed in this motel just one night. The room was very plain and not very attractive. The usual polyester patterned bedspread and matching drapes. Plain. Clean room; carpet was decent. Wireless worked fine. There is a fridge in every room, I believe; in my room, it was set on top of a white wooden structure, kind of tacky. Rooms do not have phones or coffee-makers, but they do have microwaves. I noticed how quiet the room was, in spite of the motel seemingly being pretty full that night, so I think the walls and doors are well-insulated. Desk clerk was polite but did not offer extra info. Bed was firm, and nothing special, but I was able to sleep on it, so it was not uncomfortable. TV is a large tube TV, not HD. All in all, an adequate little space, but nothing pretty, cheerful, or attractive. Oh and great location! Within walking distance of NAU and downtown, right on the main drag, Milton. No pets allowed, btw.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gracia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I would rate this a 3.5 but that's not an option. We paid $79 before taxes and chose this because we like a fridge/microwave and being within walking distance of bars and restaurants. After getting into town there seemed to be many motels nearby which were similar but the Highland had better reviews. Getting coffee in the lobby was not bad and the room was clean. One complaint is the fan came on with the light in the bathroom and was extremly loud. Fine place if you're just looking for a room.

Room Tip: Might as well get one on the lower level because they are all the same and there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Will certainly stay here again. The owner seems to take really good care of the place. It's only about a mile from downtown so we just walked everywhere from the hotel. It's not fancy but the price is great. The Internet is a little slow and there isn't a coffee maker in the room but you can get coffee from the front desk in the morning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CajunCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The room and bathroom were spotless. There was plenty of parking. It was quiet at night. And, the motel is located downtown just across the street from NAU. No pool or jacuzzi. No breakfast or adjoining restaurant. Just a straightforward, clean, quiet lodging. I would stay there again without hesitation. Flagstaff motels are pricey during eventful weekends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Milonguero23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Not an attractive building but the location is good. Easy access to the highway and easy walk to the historic part of town. Lots of bars and restaurants near by. Organic grocer across the road. 
The room is adequate. Clean and equipped with fridge and micro wave. Comfortable beds and good water pressure in shower. Tea, coffee, etc, available all day from the office. 
Friendly, helpful staff with directions. Would stay here again. 

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgjde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The room was a little small, but suited us ok. We had a great night sleep as the beds and pillows were comfy. Microwaves and fridge in the room is nice, but no coffee in the room. The coffee is at the reception desk. The staff at the front desk was friendly.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level by the vending machines, and we didn't hear a lot of noise from it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
2.0 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Property: Highland Country Inn
Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn
Highland Country Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing