We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel; some staff not so nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
409 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; some staff not so nice”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were greeted by a curt, unfriendly woman who told us check in was 3 pm (we were there at 1:00), so we wandered off for a few hours. Her attitude almost made us use another hotel. Although the property is somewhat old, it appears to have been refurbished recently. Our room was clean, freshly painted and the furniture appeared to be relatively new. In fact, my husband tore off the plastic coating of the brass wall lamp! Upon opening the door, there was a slight disinfectant smell but that rapidly abated. There were two queen size beds, TV, microwave and refrigerator, but no coffee maker. No breakfast was included but there was coffee and heavenly English breakfast tea in the lobby. The young man who replaced the “wicked witch” was extremely pleasant and accommodating. The house was full that night, more so than any other hotel we stayed in during our two week cross country trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    254
    135
    14
    7
See reviews for
122
207
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, ky
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A very nice place to stay in Flagstaff, within walking distance of the old, historic downtown, breweries, wine bars, stores, music. Family run and maintained, keeping the facility very clean and well kept. Check in is easy, but reservations may be recommended on busy weekends (Labor Day, Memorial Day, 4th of July). Parking is usually easy, but late arrivals may need to park a little distance away, past the office, on busy weekends. Very comfortable and very nice. Best place to stay in Flagstaff, worth more than the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chacochaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Probably the cleanest hotel I have stayed in! Older motel, but must have been recently remodeled, everything seemed brand new. I would definitely stay her again!! Highly recommend.
It is not a fancy hotel but if you are looking for a clean room, this is the place. Microwaves and refrigerators in room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wh637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springerville, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed only one night on our way to Utah but the room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Very affordable. It is close to the University, nearby restaurants, and a grocery store. I would certainly recommend this motel for the budget minded traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 488Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
203 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Very good location, centre of Flagstaff can be reached on foot, even if we took the car as it was below 0°F. The equipment is acceptable but really old and it gives a bit the impression that a paint job would do miracles. The beds are comfortable and there is WiFi in the rooms. But the price is a key argument and for a night it is ok. There is an organic food market on the other side of the street and this makes for a great breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joachim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night on the way to Sedona but it was comfortable and affordable for on budget travelers. The rooms were well maintained with fridge and amenities in the rooms. The heater was not working properly and the sound of the bathroom fan was annoying. It was so strong that it feels chilly when taking a bath. Other than this all was fine.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DanToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The staff were nice and helpful. They allowed us to check 8 hours early, which most more expensive places would not even consider. Good location about 10 minutes walk to the town centre and there is a big supermarket for food next door. There are facilities for washing your clothes. You can pay the lady at the front desk $1 for washing powder and then it costs $2.75 to wash and dry your clothes. The place was very good value. The room was too hot at night but maybe we could have turned down the air conditioning - maybe that was our fault.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 64 in Flagstaff
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 64 in Flagstaff
1,059 reviews
2.0 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#13 of 64 in Flagstaff
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Property: Highland Country Inn
Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn
Highland Country Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing