We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK nothing too special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just OK nothing too special”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Stayed at the Highland Country Inn on September 24 and 25, 2009 based on reviews here on Tripadvisor.com

I stayed in Flagstaff on my way to Phoenix because I wanted to drive parts of route 66 and visit Sedona.

This motel is nothing fancy, but it is acceptable accommodation. The room was acceptable and the location was good. I'm sure for the price I paid there would be better places, and ones that offer breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    247
    132
    14
    7
See reviews for
118
202
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Stayed here whilst visiting Grand Canyon, motel was fine. I enjoyed Flagstaff, get a beard and baseball cap - blend right in with the locals, hell yeah.
Couple of decent brewpubs in town with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_Eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

i paid $55+tax; i concur with other reviews; this is great value for basic motel. comfortable beds; everything was very clean. no breakfast. indian family that runs this is helpful. nice large tv with about seventy cable channels. bathrooms are very small but newly redone and adequate. microwave and minifridge in every room. as others have already pointed out, parking is limited but adequate. great location on milton road, very convenient to all restaurants and fast food places and to northern arizona university. if you are looking for great value at a no frills motel, you cannot beat this. you can hear train whistle but i kept my windows closed so it did not really bother me. laundramat on premises

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

What more could you ask for? The motel is close to the AMTRAK station which worked well for us and is convenient to I-40 and restaurants. This is not a resort but the size and cleanliness of the rooms cannot be beat for twice the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rr1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
724 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This is a basic motel...nothing fancy. It's clean and the rooms are plain...not the type of motel where one would want to spend time in. We just used the room as a place to sleep...we spent most of the day out. There's a little bit of a parking problem,,,the spaces are few and the parking set-up is awkward. Only book this place if you get a good rate and only consider this place if you just want a clean basic no-frills place to sleep.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This hotel is a great find in Flagstaff. Room was very clean and had 3 queen beds for 3 adults for $60! You can't beat it! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pricklypear143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Immaculate rooms After driving through Flagstaff and seeing some other motels we could have ended up at, I definitely felt lucky! HBO as well!! Only stayed one night, but could have stayed more. Basic room though.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
2.0 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Property: Highland Country Inn
Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn
Highland Country Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing