We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

For $45/night, we had low expectations, but were very pleasantly surprised by a large, comfortable room with great views of the San Francisco peaks. The hotel is within easy walking distance of downtown Flagstaff, but blissfully free of excessive noise and loud parties that have ruined too many nights at the Monte Vista. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    246
    132
    14
    7
See reviews for
117
201
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

The room was clean and the microwave and fridge were a good bonus. The location was close to downtown, supermarket and restaurants and also the Greyhound bus station, although you would need a car to get around. The staff were friendly and although next to a busy road, you couldn't hear the traffic - the only thing you heard was the trains but I think that would have been the case almost everywhere. An ideal hotel if you need to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley99_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

The Highland Country Inn in Flagstaff is an ideal place to stay in Flagstaff. Its close to town, well priced and with friendly staff.
The only drawback to this great establishment is that they dont allow people to stay if their name is Mary-Jane.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterperth02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Exactly what we needed when spending a night in Flagstaff after arriving on the train. Within walking distance of the train station and several restaurants. The help was friendly and efficient at check-in. The wifi worked without a hitch. The bathroom was spotless. The beds were comfortable. And the price was very reasonable. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiedidtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

Affordable and clean are often at odds in Flagstaff, but coexist nicely at the Highland Country Inn. My stay was uneventful - which for me is a positive. Clean room, fridge and microwave, hot shower, basic everything else.

Staff was very nice. Location was great. Would stay there again, and again, and again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Stayed at the Highland Country Inn on September 24 and 25, 2009 based on reviews here on Tripadvisor.com

I stayed in Flagstaff on my way to Phoenix because I wanted to drive parts of route 66 and visit Sedona.

This motel is nothing fancy, but it is acceptable accommodation. The room was acceptable and the location was good. I'm sure for the price I paid there would be better places, and ones that offer breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

Stayed here whilst visiting Grand Canyon, motel was fine. I enjoyed Flagstaff, get a beard and baseball cap - blend right in with the locals, hell yeah.
Couple of decent brewpubs in town with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_Eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#23 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.0 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Property: Highland Country Inn
Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn
Highland Country Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing