We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough to sleep”
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For 51$ a night, we did not bother about extras. We wanted a safe, clean and affordable place to sleep in Flagstaff, and we got it. True, the train passes by, but it is the same for all the motels along the road. We also had to ask for an extra set of towels. The walls are paper thin, and you will hear you neighbours. If you are lucky, your neighbours are quiet. If not, it will be hell. AC did not work in one of the rooms we got. But for the price, we were happy and did not look for another place when we decided to go to Flaggstaff again during our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choupette038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Ok, lets start with the positives..... The staff were very helpful, when we asked to move from our original non smoking room because it smelt of smoke they were polite and quick to move us. Also this is a great location in an amazing town. There is a fridge in the room and wifi that kind of works.

Unfortunately that is where the positives end. The rooms were disgusting, the carpet was horrible and I didn't take my shoes off, I didn't want to put my luggage down and I refused to take a shower. I left feeling grimy, riffy and generally unhappy, which is a shame because the town has a lot to offer. There is a lot of independent and chain accommodation along the main road, next time I would try these first.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truckstopblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Okay, I wasn't expecting Luxury for $62 a night although with Hotels.com and priceline.com I have been able to stay at the Hilton and similar for less. The trains were a little frightful at first but with the AC and TV on they weren't much of an issue. What was an issue was the fact that there weren't enough towels, window coverings (bathroom area) or toilet paper. Even for $62 a night I expect the basics... shampoo, conditioner, clock and coffee maker or ice machine on the premises. Of course since these were lacking it was no surprise that there was no microwave and the fact that when they came and replenished the 2 towels (reservations for 4) they didn't take out the overflowing trash. Although I saw no bugs in the room, believe you me I was on the lookout for them especially after seeing they had 4 mattresses leaning on the side of the building, I did lose some sleep, not because of the extremely thin pillows but due to worrying about Bed Bugs. The plus side is the room itself was clean and the carpet wasn't soiled.
Hilton $45 a night / Luxury Inn $62 a night........I don't even want to hear you get what you paid for!

Room Tip: Bring all essentials with you. Keep your luggage in the car.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sampsonaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

On check in we found that the towels had just been refolded after last guest. We then turned the bed down to find the sheets had also not been changed. Went to front desk and they came with clean sheets but no pillow cases and 1 clean hand towel. At 9:30pm took key back to front desk and explained why we would not be staying. Hotel.com tried to get us our money back and Luxury Inn refused to refund our money.

Room Tip: Dirty Linen
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank justwarningyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I have stayed here twice and found it to be a good value for a place to sleep and relax. If you don't spend time holed up in your room and are in Flag to enjoy the town and the outdoors, this is the best value for a safe and clean place to crash. It is a well-run family business where the owners are friendly and the entire family help run the motel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LawyerLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

One of the worst hotel i seen in my life. Very bad service. too many bugs and Roche's.
and finally too expensive.
I never this kind of accommodation to friends

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I recently visited Flagstaff from Tucson for a triathlon. Since I'd only be there overnight, I just needed a cheap, secure room with a good bed and a hot shower.

After reading the terrible reviews on here, I was prepared for the worst, but I was pleasantly surprised!

The hotel had a new coat of paint on the outside and looks just fine. The rooms are clean and secure. The mattress was fine. There was a new bathtub and new faucets in the sink and the shower. New tile on the bathroom floor. The TV worked fine and got basic cable stations. There were enough towels and the shower was good and hot. The toilet paper is thin, but who cares? I wasn't visiting to indulge in fancy toilet paper.

Regarding the trains - yes, they run and their horns are loud. But that's not the hotel's fault; it's the way Flagstaff is laid out - the main road (Route 66) runs parallel to the train tracks. ANY hotel you stay in along here will present you with the same issue.

I simply cranked the A/C and the fan muffled the noise sufficiently. I slept just fine.

This hotel is the quality of a Motel 6, just family owned and operated. It's perfectly fine for $50/night.

I honestly don't understand why people complain so much! Seriously - do you expect the Taj Mahal for $50/night?

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scooby6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
1.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#16 of 65 in Flagstaff
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff East
Travelodge Flagstaff East
#35 of 65 in Flagstaff
231 reviews
3.5 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#25 of 65 in Flagstaff
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 3100 US 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004 (Formerly Luxury Inn)
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Price Range: £33 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Hotel Flagstaff
Mountain View Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing