We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Place I have ever stayed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst Place I have ever stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I had earlier read the bad reviews for this place but I still thought for $69.99 + tax, I'll get a decent enough room to sleep for just for a night. But when I checked into the room I couldn't believe how bad it was.I observed that the owners themselves were running the place & that pains me more cause I have stayed in numerous such owner operated properties where they treat their properties like their babies, work hard on their rooms keep them clean and updated, unlike this one.I guess here the attitude was we have a place in Flagstaff, tourists will come,will stay, will pay our price and we can give them any Crap we like.Stay clear of this place or else you'll ruin your vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budgettravel56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    43
    28
    38
See reviews for
28
47
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

This is a typical small town motel with plenty of parking and decent sized rooms. No shower gel but they provided soap and the room seemed clean. It's a bit out of the centre so be prepared for a $10 taxi ride each way but it's still cheaper than the down town places.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arabella_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I would give this hotel an ok review if not the... Bed Bugs! I woke up with 60 bites! And no they are not Mosquitos bites! They are straight line, a group of three bites on my arms and feet... Still trying to deal with it after a week and it's horrible. Worst hotel experience ever. Not to mention hair on the pillows when we arrived and some spots on the sheets that didn't look clean at all!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

If you want budget, its to be found at the Luxury Inn. The name may be a bit misleading, but its basic,clean accommodation, a bit short on amenities. Situated on the R66, it offers good value, choose a room at the back of the establishment, its quieter, as the road and rail noise can be a bit load.
Aircon works great, parking not a problem - there is no coffee service and no breakfast on offer, but then at $40, for a comfy bed, and a clean room, and a Starbucks up the road, its not a bad proposition at the end of a long road trip

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Notwithstanding that the picture shows refrigerators and the listing says it has desks, my room had neither. It also didn't have a closet rod. The lack of a table is what was most inconvenient to me as I have two small children and there was no where for us to eat. It was very basic, but clean and the staff was very nice (which is NOT universal along Rt. 66 in Flag). For the price (I paid $40 per night for two nights) it was fine. I asked about a weekly rate (a sign in the window says "weekly rates"), but was told that they didn't have any rooms available with weekly rates, even though I could book the room I had for that long.

We left the bathroom exhaust fan on while we slept, which as has been said is kind of noisy, so with that as ambient noise, the train didn't bother us. We had the very end room nearest the train.

Overall, it was fine, but I wouldn't recommend more than one night really, due to the lack of amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Apart from the helping attitude of the young man at the reception desk, all the rest was just bad bad bad: the room and pillows smelled of tobacco (I booked a non-smoking room), the extractor in the bathroom was super-noisy, the bath towels had suspicious spots and were too small, the wc bowl was unsteady, the electric sockets looked old and dangerous, everything was old, dusty and not very clean: I just looked inside the drawers and decided not to use them. There was no wardrobe, no hangers, no bar, no coffee machine. Just two old creaky beds with worn blankets and thin yellowish sheets. The walls rattled when the train went by almost non-stop, day and night... It was and experience to forget. The place is cheap, but it is cheaper and cleaner to spend the night in your car.

Room Tip: Avoid this place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This motel was the cheapest one we found in Flagstaff. I was afraid the room will be disgusting, considering the price but I was surprised, our room (I think it was room 132?) was basic, with clean sheets, clean shower and basically, everything we needed to crash for one night after a long day of driving.

About the train, I see everyone complains about the train. Guys, please note that the railtrack crosses the whole town and is located along the main street where also almost ALL motels are located. So it doesn't matter whether you pay $150 or $30 for the room, you will always hear the train! Complaining about the noise in this case is really stupid.

Plus if you are really tired you will sleep anyway. I know the trains were loud but I slept just fine.
For the price I paid (about $30) it was a great deal. Would recommend for budget travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola_912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
1.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
4.4 mi away
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
#22 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff Near I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 3100 US 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004 (Formerly Luxury Inn)
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Hotel Flagstaff
Mountain View Inn Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing