We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”
Review of England House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
England House B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the England House. We were in need of a getaway and Richard and Laurel's England House surpassed all of our expectations. They are passionate about everything they do, from restoring this magnificent old landmark to serving a splendid breakfast, they leave no stone unturned. This is the best bed and breakfast we have ever experienced. Thank you Richard and Laurel for helping to rejuvenate our spirits!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
448
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was the last stop for a 3 week road trip. A perfect ending. The host and hostess were so accommodating with our arrival and special requests. They have a wonderful selection of maps for the local area and GREAT suggestions for activities and restaurants including Walnut Creek Canyon National Monument and the Lowell Observatory>>> Right out their back door! Its a charming walk to the historical district where one should not miss apps at the Beaver Creek Brewery! My next task is to book a return visit to the England House B&B. to relive the upscale experience the Host and Hostess to see what provide!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We returned to England House for the second year; stayed longer; and had another very fine visit. The house has landmark beauty; it’s clean; and the bathrooms and kitchen are 21st century -- best of all worlds. Richard and Laurel made us wonderful breakfasts both days, and the advice that they so willingly provided on what-to-see and where-to-have-dinner was accurate and really helpful. This was fun!

Will & Barbara VK

Room Tip: Both times our room was quiet, which seems to be the norm in this strong, old building. The picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have stayed here several times. There are no words to describe the house and rooms. They have put so much thought into every aspect of a perfect setting. There are always fresh baked cookies that are beyond delicious. Richard even remembered that I didn't like spicy foods when asking about the morning breakfast menu. Laurel is just a sweet little bundle of energy. The food she prepares is always different and delicious. It is so easy to walk around the house and feel like its home! The quality of the rooms are definitely above five star accommodations. Richard suggested a cozy little restaurant the first time we stayed for our anniversary. Now, we're hooked. It's a short walk which is nice if you have indulged in any of the wine or beer that is offered. They also always keep these little ice cream treats for those that like to raid the frig at night! Definitely a place we will continue to go back to!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Richard and Laurel have transformed this Bed and Breakfast into a work of art !! Their hospitality and friendliness are more than ordinary. The house is spectacular and is in walking distance of fine restaurants and shops. We have always loved Flagstaff and now we have a place to stay when we travel !! The breakfast was awesome
Thank you so much for making a memory that we will cherish and share with others
Jake and Marsha Jacoby
Westview Ky

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Went for a long weekend in February to enjoy the snow and blue skies. The England House B&B is an oasis of luxury nestled in downtown Flagstaff. Proximate to dining, music, art, hiking, nature....whatever suites your fancy! Richard & Laurel are the most wonderful hosts - very well versed with the local sites and attractions, as well as more quiet retreats. It's like a home away from home with the wonderful food and care and attention they lavish on their guests. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I didn't expect this to be a spectacular trip. We travel a lot and this was meant to be a cost effective "plain" vacation. However because we stayed at England House it was one of my favorite trips. Not only is it a beautiful home, it is owned by fantastic hosts. We stayed in Stone Cutter which has the separate side room with fireplace. We had travel issues due to the winter storms but Laurel and Richard helped make sure we still had a great vacation. Breakfast was so delicious and so filling that most days we skipped either lunch or dinner. They would pack up our left overs for snacks. There is always beer and wine waiting for you when you return for the day. Best of all is the travel advice. They know all the best spots and where to go to avoid tourists but still see great sights. I highly recommend taking their advice because that is what really turned what we thought would be a simple trip to the Grand Canyon into a trip to remember. 90% of the time when we go someplace we leave with no intentions of returning; not because it was bad, but because we want to do new things. My husband and I are both already talking about when we can return. All of the extra unexpected touches are something to note as well. We went for V-Day weekend. Laurel had cute little V-Day pencils. There were special V-Day candies in our room each day. They make you feel like you are visiting family. They truly care about your experience. Lovely place, lovely Inn Keepers, will LOVE to go back! I'll update with photos later when I have more time. Also, I never heard a train while sleeping. It was very quiet. You are a 5-10 min walk to the historical downtown area and you are right beside Lowell Observatory.

Room Tip: I liked Stone Cutter but note that it is stand up shower only. Their website is clear on what each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.1 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to England House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about England House B&B

Property: England House B&B
Address: 614 W Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5323
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
England House Hotel Flagstaff
England House B&B Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing