We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish we had snow”

Flagstaff Nordic Center
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wish we had snow”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We booked a stay in the yurts months in advance, and were surprised that there was no snow. Oh well, great hiking, and we rented snow bikes from the nordic center--WHAT A HOOT! Now shopping for a fat-bike. We rode the bikes to the top yurt, then climbed the hill behind the yurt: it gives a beautiful 360ish view. A nice view of the downhill ski area, as well as the north rim of the Grand Canyon off in the distance.
The yurt was a fun place to stay also. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HomeschoolingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“cozy camping”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here when we went to the Grand Canyon. We planned on staying in a Yurt, but felt it was too small for 2 people and 2 dogs. It would have been fine as a place to sleep, but was a little too cozy to spend much time. The guy in the visitor center was very friendly and helpful and moved us to a cabin. The store has a good variety of snacks, drinks and things you may have forgotten like a toothbrush or deck of cards. The cabins and yurts are very cute and all have wood burning stove inside and a fire pit as well as a BBQ outside. The only downside it they are all very close together so there isn't much privacy and you are at the mercy of others behavior. We were very lucky and had a great group of people there, but the people in the yurts were disturbed by a rude loud group late one night. Great stop over on the way to the canyon, beautiful setting in the national forest and I guess those crazy people that like the cold could enjoy it in the winter. Not me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank azkellyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience in Arizona high-country!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

There are only a few yurts and cabins there, so its never crowded. Great hiking and mountain biking trails. Only 10mins from Flagstaff and 1 hour to Grand Canyon.

Very clean, quiet and a unique experience. Most the workers there were very nice and welcoming, but a few of them had the granola elitist attitude we could have done without...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleJill-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great place for cross country skiing”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

How could you not love the Flagstaff Nordic Center? Groomed trails, prices reasonable, nice people there. Ski or snow shoe. This is a great part of our Flagstaff community. And it's never been crowded when I've been there, even on weekends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaDoglover_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit, but, did not explore”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Felt the visitors center could be friendlier, updated and provide some maps for walking trails. Did not seem to care if we stayed or went on our way. We walked a short way and did not venture further.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappygoluckyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flagstaff Nordic Center also viewed

 

Been to Flagstaff Nordic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing