We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If i can give no stars, it deserved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I didn't read the trip advisor reviews before i booked this hotel.
And it's cheap, for 45 bucks a night, that i thought why not.

This hotel is really really bad. There's lipstick marks on the blankets and the covers and sheets are obviously not cleaned.
The owner and staff do not bother to even come over and asked me to bring the blanket to change when i complained.

The best part is the staff has the cheek to put a note there with "this room is cleaned by XXX. Tipping is greatly appreciated for our work done"

wow..

Spend a bit more and stay at a nicer place at or outside of Flagstaff.
This place is not worth your trouble.

Their internet do not work well at all and all connections just keep dropping every 2 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clarrySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

I stayed here after arriving on a very busy weekend. They were the last in town around midnight with a room left. I paid nearly $100 for a room for two people. The room itself was actually clean enough, having been on the road all day and it was late, I really didn't care about much else. I noticed the window had "Season's Greetings" painted on the window. This is June...don't want to rush to take Christmas stuff down. I wondered how much attention to detail there was in this place.

Overall, the stay was uneventful. The hot water was sparse for the shower. The thing that really struck me as odd was that the checkout was 11AM, but at 9:58AM my phone rang, and they clerk/owner(?) wanted to know if I would be staying a second night. I said no we'd be leaving. He informed me it was 10:30 and checkout was less than 30 mintues away. Umm, no, it's not even 10:00 according to my cell and CNN. This irritated me that they were calling to rush me out early, especially having checked in only 10 hours earlier and paying double what they would normally get. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bakphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Me, my husband and our two children decided to move to flagstaff to be closer to my mother in law she rented us a room here at the saga for a little over a week until we could get our own place. At first the room was fine not the best ever but not the worst so I thought. Having a two year old she spilled chocolate milk on the bathroom floor being that you only get white towels in a hotel I wiped it up. The next morning I find ants all over the bathroom floor okay I say no problem I will call the front desk and ask for them to come clean up. I am then told that they do not come clean the rooms, they tell us to bring our dirty towels to them and they will give us clean ones. My husband brings them the dirty towels and the lady YELLS at him for the towel having the chocolate milk on it. He then informs them of the ants and they say I will spray. They come into our room and spray raid on the bathroom floor mind you I have a 2 yr old and a 7mo old who crawls on the floor. Then they give my husband a broom to sweep the room out himself to rid the room of any other ants, And then they YELL at us again for not bringing the broom back to them. We then decide since they do not clean that we will put out our do not disturb sign. They still enter our room several times unannounced. We would come back from being out on the town and find things in our room missing such as our alarm clock (yes it is theirs but they just came and took it from our room). We have come back several other times to find the room has been entered with the DND on the outside of the door. and they did not do anything in our room other then dumb the garbage and put grocery bags from food that we bought back in the trash can and pick our dirty towels up off the floor and hang them back up. One day we are outside with our children playing on there so called playground and they ask my husband to do some work in the parking lot for them telling him that they would pay him. He did the work but never received any pay for it. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND STAYING HERE TO ANYONE!!!!! Oh yeah the WIFI SUCKS YOU CAN BARLEY GET IT TO CONNECT.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tellybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

It's SOOOOOO gross. Like something in a horror movie. I'm about to walk out to my car to get my own blankets because this bed is so gross I don't even want to imagine how many people are brought here to be murdered. DO NOT STAY HERE. My wife and I are gonna go get tested for HIV because of this bed.

also the WiFi blows.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shawn3985789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We got to Flagstaff late one May night. My daughter was getting an ear infection and we did not realize it was graduation at the college and there were no rooms anywhere we opted to stay at "THE SAGA" I cannot think of anything good! It was so filthy and scary I couldn't sleep so we left at about 3am. Keep driving, sleep in your car, under a bridge would be better! It is one of those scary family stories we will never forget!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rosiescorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

o man what a bad experience on the second night of our vacation. first of all, the staff indian guy (owner?) checked us in in a rush, under a wrong name. when he found out, he woke us up by phone in the middle of the night telling us we had to leave the room because it was booked for someone else. plus, he said we didn't even pay yet! i went to the front desk showing him my paid reservation paid through orbitz.com, but he told me he didn't receive any payment from them. yeah right! i went back to my room, but he called me again threatening to call the cops-when he was the one who was in the wrong position to do so. now, i don't want to ruin my holiday getting cops involved, so i went back and paid again fo the room. if this wasn't enough, he tried to rip us off asking $10 more. after all, we paid and got us some welcome sleep, but this experience stil givs me shivers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollyblue52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I never did get a refund through Budget-host when I was charged $160 for two nights when the man working the hotel desk charged me twice the amount I paid through Orbitz. It was supposed to be $40 per night. The only plus was we brought our dog, and were able to leave him in the room while we were out. The first time we stayed here in July of 2007, it wasn't too bad. The rooms were clean and there were not shady figures staying in the surrounding rooms. I do not know if they are under new management, but I would advise anyone to stay away from here.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VentureSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#26 of 65 in Flagstaff
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#20 of 65 in Flagstaff
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
The L Motel Flagstaff
The L Motel Flagstaff
#43 of 65 in Flagstaff
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff

Address: 820 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6261
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: £33 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in peaceful Flagstaff, Arizona and only a mile from downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University (NAU), this accommodation offers comfortable guest rooms with exceptional guest services and nearby top attractions. This conveniently located motel has spacious accommodations and provides modern amenities with newly renovated bathrooms built with beautiful natural stone, complimentary Wi-Fi, Cable TV with premium channels such as HBO, ANPL, FOX, SyFy, Disney, Free Local Phone calls, and tea and coffee available in the Lobby for the guests to enjoy. After a restful night's sleep, rise to a complimentary continental breakfast with a variety of options to choose from such as Rich & Moist Apple, Cheese, Cherry, Lemon Flavor Petite Danish, Blueberry & Banana Nut Muffins, Chocolate & sugar donuts, Original SunnyD juice, Lipton Tea, Regular and Decaf coffee and other items served every morning. Points of interest such as the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Antelope Canyon, Oak Creek Canyon, Meteor Crater, Petrified Forest National Park, Lowell Observatory, Snowbowl and much more are in close proximity to the Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff. Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Saga Hotel
Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing