We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started bad, but ended up being a Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We arrived an hour early for check-in and the room wasn't ready. We decided to wait in the lobby, but had to wait for an additional 1 hour after check-in time to get to our room. Everyone checking in that day was experiencing this. The front desk staff was trying to help, but there was little that they could do.

Once we got to our room we were very impressed with it. It was a large room with a large bathroom. It was nicely decorated and had a flat panel TV, refrigerator, and microwave. They had free evening happy hour and a wonderful free breakfast in the morning.

It is a perfect location on the northern tip of Northern Arizona University. and it is close to downtown Flagstaff. The staff was nice, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were quiet, the HVAC worked great, and the happy hour and breakfast were great too. It turned out to be a good place for us to stay.

Now if we can only get them to bring their chain to California.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OC-Family-of-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimChappell, eMarketing Specialist at Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2009

Thank you for staying at the Drury Inn & Suites in Flagstaff. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your spacious room, the free evening beverage reception and our free breakfast during your stay. We are sorry to hear about the wait to check-in to your room and do apologize for the inconvenience. Our hotel was extremely busy with students and families returning to NAU on August 20th & 21st, which did cause a bit of a slow down on some of the check-in times, based on the room type reserved. It is always our goal to check-in our guests in a timely manner and we are sorry that our team did not get you into your room as expected upon arrival. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope you will give us another chance to show you that we are ready for our guests upon arrival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
There are newer reviews for Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2009

The Drury is ideally located on Historic Route 66, next to the campus of the University of North Arizona, but also within walking distance (10 min) of Flagstaff's Historic District.
Check in was friendly, but problematic. The front desk girl even had to call her manager before she was able to produce our electronic door badges.
We got (as asked upon our reservation) a room on the side of the University (in order to avoid the noise of the trains passing during the night). And I must congratulate the hotel! Although the hotel is close to the railway and although our room was next to the elevator and the vending machines, we didn't hear anything. Finally a hotel that is really sound proof !!!
Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable and had a perfect bathroom.
The hotel offers many complementary services, such as a covered parking garage, free WIFI, free long distance calls within the USA, complimentary breakfast buffet and free drinks and snacks between 5,30pm and 7pm (and not just lemonade or coke, but also beer, wine, maragaritas and other cocktails).
No wonder Drury is acclaimed since many years as the best chain in its comfort and service category!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We picked the Drury based on other reviews on Trip Adviser and we are so glad we did. We stayed two nights and we were very happy with our stay there. Our room was clean, the bathroom was large and very clean, beds were comfortable, the continental breakfast was good and was always well stocked, the staff was very helpful, and the Drury is in a great location. They have an indoor pool which is nice since Flagstaff gets very cool in the evening. They also have a managers reception in the evening that we really enjoyed. Next time we are in Flagstaff, we will definitely stay at the Drury.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiveTexasTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This is a great hotel and having stayed at nearly every hotel in Flagstaff, this one is the best. We stayed in standard connecting rooms and were very impressed by a number of things:
(1) NAU glasses in the bathroom (we are alumni)
(2) Excellent range of TV options
(3) Great view of Flagstaff and San Francisco Peak, but with little to no road noise (well insulated)
(4) Excellent breakfast and evening reception
(5) High chairs for the little ones at breakfast (not all hotels have these)
(6) Great staff
(7) Downright beautiful NAU right in front of the hotel, so if you like to walk or run, or just enjoy looking at a beautiful college campus, you can't get any closer
(8) Excellent pool with a beautiful window view of NAU's North Campus
(9) Easy/accessible parking
(10) Vast breakfast options cleaned and serviced promptly (not all hotels pay as much attention to their breakfast buffets)

When in Flagstaff, ask the hotel to direct you to MACY'S EUROPEAN COFFEE HOUSE, right down the street from the Drury Inn and a Flagstaff institution. This was our first stay at a Drury and we will not only be back to this hotel, we plan to go to any Drury Inn we can!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterUnderBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

My fiance and I spent two nights here. The main reason we chose this hotel was that it is within walking distance to downtown Flagstaff. The location was great - we really liked being able to leave the car parked and not worry about drinking and driving, finding a parking space downtown, etc. Other than that, we were not very impressed with the hotel. It is new and clean, but the room was very dark. We had a tiny little balcony, but it was pretty useless - no room for chairs or anything. The room reminded us of a conference room with a bed in it - definitely not too romantic, but we made the best of it.

The Drury hotel seems to make a big deal about their freebies (breakfast and cocktails). Honestly, I'd rather just pay for better stuff. The breakfast fare was just OK. I'm glad they had a microwave in the breakfast area, because it was also kind of cold. I didn't even bother with the hot dishes on morning two; I just grabbed a muffin. Also, the coffee was pretty bad. I ended up walking to Macy's on Beaver Street to get a good cup of coffee.

We tried the cocktail hour the first evening. They had Bud Light on tap, cheap wine, and basic mixed drinks. We decided to try gin and tonics. I know these were "free", but I think each of our drinks had about a teaspoon of gin in them. The snacks were chips (with coldish nacho cheese sauce available), pretzels, and celery and carrot sticks. We didn't even bother going back the second night.

For some people these freebies may be great - I grew up in a big family and I know that sometimes it's just about keeping everybody full and fed. If I was taking four kids on a vacation and they could all get a free breakfast at the hotel, I'm sure I would love it. For our particular situation, it was just not very useful.

It doesn't seem like the emphasis is on quality at the Drury - it seems like they're just trying to give the appearance of value. Personally, I would never stay at this hotel again just to take advantage of this "free" stuff. The only reason I would return (and I may someday) would be for the location!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasaGrande_AZCgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I disliked the room the moment I walked in... No window in my room! Just a little door that opens up to a tiny balcony, which my little poodle could have easily fallen off -- 6 stories down, there is a huge space between the bars and the concret slab on the balcony. The hotel room had black carpeting, so it does not show pet stains, our room smelled of cat urine. And no window for fresh air and could not open the balcony door, dog would fall out -- not pet friendly or people friendly. The room was clean, but very dark inside. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eveinphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimChappell, eMarketing Specialist at Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2009

We appreciate hearing from our guests and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff. Our balcony rooms are some of our most popular accommodations and we are sorry that this room type did not meet your needs. The only rooms in the hotel which open to enjoy the fresh mountain air are these balcony rooms. Our standard rooms have windows to enjoy the beautiful views, but they do not open. With the safety concerns for your pet, our team would have been happy to have relocated you to another room without a balcony. We will have our team check the room today for any odors, as we never want a guest to experience anything but a clean, odor free, well-maintained room. If ever during a stay at a Drury Hotel you have questions or concerns, please let us know right away and we are happy to immediately address them to try and resolve any issues before check-out. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope you will come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Positive

Free wireless
Clean rooms
One Hour free long distance in room

Negatives

Breakfast is poor selection
Pool not open until 9:00 AM
Spa was not working
Pool water was very cold
Reception in afternoon was very limited
Animals path right through eating area
Weird toilets, felt like I was camping
Road construction nearby
Staff seemed to be uniformed and indifferent toward concerns

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVGPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimChappell, eMarketing Specialist at Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2009

Thanks for choosing Drury Hotels! We appreciate hearing from our guests and are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Your comments have been forwarded to hotel management to review and share with the team. We will be sure to take a look at our pool temperature to make sure it is at a comfortable swimming temperature for our guests. Our Flagstaff location is our first "green" hotel and the toilet system works a little differently in order to save water. If ever during a stay at a Drury Hotel you have questions or concerns, please let the front desk know right away so we can work to correct the issue before you check-out. Again, we truly appreciate hearing feedback from our guests as it helps to keep us informed and working to provide the highest in quality and service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.9 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff

Address: 300 S Milton Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6259
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#7 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: £106 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. This hotel is one of Mother Nature’s favorites. LEED Silver Certified, the Drury Inn & Suites of Flagstaff has many environmentally-friendly features, including solar panels and recycled water systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Flagstaff
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Drury Inn Flagstaff
Drury Inn Hotel Flagstaff
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing