We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre Hotel”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Nice staff, but property is dated and small. Train and traffic noise was bothersome at the front of the motel. Not a bad place, just not anything to rave about. Did have a nice indoor pool and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    432
    260
    101
    46
See reviews for
441
539
85
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The low in Flagstaff the night we stayed there was 17 degrees. We were none the wiser, as our room stayed a very comfortable 68 degrees throughout the night. We chose the family suite with a king bed and a pullout queen sofabed. The sofabed caused a little concern beforehand as most motel sofabeds are not comfortable in the least. One of the largest members of our family opted to sleep there and reported one of the best night's sleep of the trip -- no uncomfortable support bar in the back, no noisy coils, no side bars to jab into knees when they got up in the night. The two restrooms were wonderful! The actual bathtub/toilet rooms (sinks are outside that area) are rather small and since the entire suite is open, there isn't another area to change without a loss of privacy. We heard no neighbors, despite the nearly full parking lot the next morning. The heaters (one in each part of the suite) were super quiet. They were easy to set at a comfortable temperature and they kept that temperature steady throughout the night. Breakfast the next morning was across the narrow parking lot in what was probably a former IHOP building. We were quite impressed with the variety of food and the cleanliness of the place. The breakfast attendant was helpful and constantly working hard. Also, others mentioned you may want to have a room that isn't at the front of the property, as the trains travel nearest that end. We were in about the middle of the property and heard no trains at all. We highly recommend this motel to anyone staying in the Flagstaff area. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUCSON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Too many problems with reservation and check-in, plus too many issues with the room heating, and too disappointed with the archaic, mattress and blanket that felt like a waffle iron, to feel good about the stay. I am sure the next time will be better because it will be at a part of the facility that is more frequently used. But the last stay was the worst night in a long time at a Best Western.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The original staff was friendly and courteous. The room was nice and clean with firm beds. A typical breakfast for BW but the freshly delivered scrambled eggs were cold. The next morning they were warm. Breakfast is served until 9:30, at least that is what it says but you better show up before 9:25 otherwise you may face a locked door. We were there two nights. The first night was great but the 2nd night we had floor pounders above us that lasted for 3+ hours and again in the morning. We called the desk but the clerk insisted the people were just moving in. No help from the clerk. I suggest you stay up stairs. The hotel is close to the tracks but there is very little train noise. The first night we did not hear it at all. It was not until the next morning did I notice a train going by and really have to listen for it to hear it. If the clerk had dealt with the noise it would have been a good stay for us. We may stay there again if we go through Flagstaff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great experience overall. Check in and out in less than 5 minutes. The staff is friendly, the decor is tasteful and comfortable. The 'continental' breakfast was extremely filling and satisfying; a nice, warm meal to send us off down the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tsim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The staff is always so friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and convenient. I would recommend to all my friends and family if going to this area to stay there. It is pet friendly and very clean area for the pets to use. The rooms are very well maintained and clean. The beds are so comfortable and I got one of the best nights sleep there. It is quiet and family friendly. I definitely recommend the stay here

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Check-in was a breeze. The room was clean and comfortable. The wi-fi worked well. Lots of nice hot water. Lots of pillows. The flat-screened TV was a nice touch and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank tlcaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#22 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,078 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#14 of 65 in Flagstaff
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Address: 3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing