We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, great amenities for kids, great service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Flagstaff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyndham Flagstaff Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, great amenities for kids, great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We enjoyed this hotel, it was great with little kids, and the service was wonderful. We rented a two bedroom two bath, that had a sleeper sofa in the living room. The suite was a tri-level. Well laid out, with a master on the bottom floor, second bedroom with twin beds on the second floor, and kitchen, living and dining rooms on the top floor. Balconies were on the bottom and top floors. The suite was spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. We had a small child who was crawling, though, so the tri-level was a hindrance and the fireplace a hazard. However, we managed just fine. The staff were extremely helpful in giving us baby gates for the stairs and even rigging a gate with a wood block to secure the fireplace, which was a huge relief.

My only complaints about the suite itself was that the beds (master and especially the sofa bed) were really awful, very worn and uncomfortable. Not what I'd expect from a Wyndham. The twin beds seemed newer and nicer. Also, the carpets needed to be steam cleaned, they were really dirty. Obviously vacuumed and appeared clean, but the bottoms of our feet, and my poor baby's hands and knees were filthy, after just 15 minutes. The rest of the suite was very clean, but could definitely use remodeling in the bathrooms, they were old and outdated and not in the best shape. The kitchen was nice with granite countertops and nice appliances, but the cabinets were also worn and outdated. All in all it was very comfortable, but not the greatest for what we paid.

However, the kids activities were well worth the price. The Bear Paw Clubhouse was awesome! Two pools (kiddie and bigger), miniature golf, pool tables, movie theater, Wii, ice cream bar, etc. The kids spent all day there one day and had a great time. They also have planned activities throughout the day that were fun, ask for a schedule at the front desk. We would definitely go back there, especially when the kids are a little older, because the suite was conducive to a family stay, and the clubhouse was a great way to pass the time with the kids.

I would stay away from the Golf Course restaurant, at least for dinner. The food wasn't good and service was incredibly slow. Black Barts Steakshouse was our favorite, the food was awesome and the singing waiters were fantastic and very entertaining! Note that this resort is on one end of town, not in the middle of it, if location is important. However, the town is small, and we didn't mind. Lastly, it being a small town, if you are there on a holiday weekend and want to order dinner out, like a pizza, make sure to do so way in advance, we weren't able to get one in any reasonable amount of time (quotes of over 2 hours and they were quite rude about it), so we ended up having to pick up a frozen pizza at the market and cook it ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taxcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    100
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
156
105
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit (#301), it was well stocked, very clean and seemed like it may have been remodeled, although a few things may still need updated (like the sliding glass doors, this did not bother us though). One bedroom had a king bed, the other had two twins. The living room had a flat screen tv and fire place. We had a full kitchen, full size laundry, dining room, two decks and a jacuzzi tub in the master bath. Seemed to be brand new furnishings in the bedrooms.

Our unit was very comfortable, like a home away from home. My two boys ages 12 and 9 loved the rec center, the pool and mini golf. I absolutely loved Flagstaff. It is a great location for visiting Grand Canyon and Sedona. It was warm enough to enjoy the outdoor activities but so much more comfortable than staying in Sedona where got pretty hot. The drive to Sedona is a beautiful one on the scenic road (89A I think it is called?). The staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again. We had a great time!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 15mwaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a nice place with excellent views of Mt Eldon. It is a huge complex with a nice pool area. The two and three bedroom units are very spacious and quiet. But the 1 bedroom and 1 BDRM deluxe units are integrated into a quadplex architecture with thin wals and lockouts that make for a lot of noise between the units. All of the 1 bedroom units are located together and have room for parking one vehicle in front of the unit which is great for loading and unloading your stuff. . Build in the 1980s the complex is spread out over a hilly area and there is one pool and activity area. An agreement has been made with the Continental Golf course to also use their pool, tennis courts and exercise room. The exercise room is better than most places with universal type stations, exercise bikes and treadmills.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phxhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I've stayed here at least ten times since my first stay four years ago. I love it so much that I stopped going to San Diego as much as I used to so I could visit Flagstaff and enjoy myself at Wyndham. Even though I've stayed this many times, this stay still showed me a room layout that I've never had before. The units are very spacious and always have the current appliances. The staff is welcoming, and the activities center is convenient, comfortable, and actually has a kiddie pool that's bigger than a bathtub. :) No train sounds, either! Yay! Another thing I love about this place is that it feels so homey that we usually stay a week and have an adventure every other day with the days between being lazily spent in the resort area. Last time during our lazy days, we hung out with the stray cats, baked, hot-tubbed, swam, checked out board games, played mini-golf, and found a geocache! NICE!

TIPS:
1. When you register, ask for a wheelchair-accessible room, or you may get stuck in the tri-level.
2. Check out a couple games the first day.
3. Visit the activities center the first day.
4. Don't fall for the breakfast attempt to sell you something. The good thing is that this is not a sales location. The bad thing is that, if you do buy something, you have to accompany a salesperson to Sedona, which will take half the day.
5. Ask for the room to be equipped with a floor fan because the rooms don't usually have ceiling fans and they run out of floor fans a lot.
6. The wi-fi is very slow, so use your own hotspot, if you can.

Room Tip: Even though there are very few units on Country Club Rd, ask for one that isn't. Also ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This was our first trip to Northern Arizona and our second stay at a Wyndham Resort property - the other was in Orlando. Check-in was easy. The staff gave us a full run-down of all the resort activities, as well as local activities and a discount card that saved 10% at a number of area restaurants.

We rented a 1 bedroom, their smallest unit, but for 2 adults and 2 kids it was plenty of room. The unit came with a full kitchen, dining table, living room, bath and bedroom, and a outdoor deck off the bedroom. For a small unit, there was plenty of storage and everything we needed was supplied. When we ran short of anything, a call to the front desk had our supplies at our door within minutes. Everything here at the resort (and in Flagstaff in general) was amazingly CLEAN. Even with vaulted ceilings in our unit, there was not a cobweb in sight.

The activity center was a HUGE hit with everyone. Starbucks Coffee in the morning, Dryer's Ice Cream in the evening, and light fare in between. The center offers ping-pong, indoor and outdoor pool tables, Wii and XBox, computers, a bean-bag movie theater, books, movies, and board games that can all be borrowed. Outdoor pool and jacuzzi were very popular, along with mini-golf and playground. The poolside BBQ on weekends is really good - freshly grilled hamburgers and hot dogs with all the fixins.

All in all, this was an A+ vacation, and none of us wanted to leave. We're looking forward to returning to this area in the near future and will definitely book at the Wyndham again.

Room Tip: 1 BR 4/2 best suited for 2 adults and 2 kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinniMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago ILL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We went to Wyndham Flagstaff Resort. For one week
Unit was Older & Small but Nice & clean. Wished we had better neighbors ( 3 unit town house ) next door. Kid was running & stomping around ..WE had to sign a no kid waver...Was a nice place to stay for a week. Would go back only for Sadona.. Downtown Flagstaff is a throw back to the 60's. It's a College town with lot's of long hair hippies & new age culture, For the size of town it lacks NICE resturants.

Spectacular views of the conyons & red rock formations of Sadona
Please be wary of the "switshbacks" - hair pin turns - on Rt 89A...No night time driving for the unfamiliar . Watch your speed.

Resturant Reviews
Brandy's Restaurant & Bakery - stripmall - was a feature on the food channel - over hyped - over priced - fair food ( 1 star )

Black Barts Restaurant - trailer park - Great entertanment The waitstaff are from Northern Arizona University, music and theater school....food was so so ( 3 stars )

Mike & Ronda's "The Place" - stripmall - spent a good 10 minutes driving around and around trying to find a place with a "Mike and Ronda's" sign, only to have a local tell me that the sign actually reads "The Place." "Mike and Ronda's" is on the sign in pretty small letters. LOTs of yum yum FOOD!!!! ( 3 stars )

Wildflower Bread Company Flagstaff - Hard to find NEW stripmall - Good food ( 4 stars )

Judi's Restaurant & Lounge - Restaurant.com had a $25 off coupon (4 stars )

The Golden Goose Cafe - Restaurant.com had a $25 off coupon ( 3 stars )

Cracker Barrel - Always good food ( 4 stars )

Sight Review
Grand Canyon RR - over priced - see our review ( 1 star )
Meteor Crater - definately worth seeing ( 5 stars )
Lowell Observatory - 2nd best part of the trip ( 5 stars )
Sedona - THE BEST BEST PART OF OUR TRIP / PINK JEEP TOURS ( 5 stars )
Jerome - the best thing about Jerome is the view of Sadona - seen the King Gold Mine &
Ghost town/ junk yard & the Asylum / Arizona State Hospital creepy-cool. - see our review ( neg 1 star )

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groovieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We spent a week in Flagstaff, and this resort was a great home base. It was a tri-level (entry level floor had 1 bedroom and one bath, downstairs level had master bedroom and bath, and upstairs level had kitchen/dining room/living room). We are in good health, but people with issues climbing stairs should request one of the flatter units. There are also quite a few stairs from the parking lot to the unit.

The unit was VERY clean and comfortable. It had a nice private balcony and a gas fireplace--perfect for cool March nights. The master bath was quite spacious and had a jacuzzi tub.

The clubhouse houses a pool, gameroom, mini-golf, and things to borrow like puzzles/board games. It has internet (the room also had wifi) and even a small snackbar where they make coffee drinks.

When we first arrived, there was an issue with the room internet server, but they left a detailed message on our phone explaining the problem and estimated repair date, which I appreciated since there is so little pro-active communication these days.

The only thing we didn't like is they offered us a free RCI week if we went to the timeshare meeting about upgrading from weeks to points. When we got to the sales pitch and heard the astronomical amount of $ this would cost, they really gave us a hard sell but peddled it as if it weren't. When I tried to use the certificate later, I discovered it's only for a few select resorts, none of which are that appealing, and of course during weeks of the year no one is interested in going to those places. A big waste of time and stress-inducing to boot. Avoid this if you can.

Other than that, the staff was all very nice and helpful.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pirategirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.5 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
4.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Flagstaff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Flagstaff Resort

Property: Wyndham Flagstaff Resort
Address: 1900 N Country Club Dr, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Flagstaff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Flagstaff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Wyndham
Wyndham Flagstaff Resort North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing