We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Flagstaff Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Arrived for a 5 night stay. After a short wait to check in we were then directed to a concierge to collect our car parking permit but actually this is an extended sales pitch for their timeshare and excursions. We had to repeatedly decline to attend a sales meeting.

We drove round to our allocated "villa" to discover it was a 3 level townhouse (this is not how it is portrayed on the website and not what we expected) with parking in a communal area and numerous steps down from the car park, then steps up to the building.. Once inside you are faced with steps up into the lounge/kitchen and other steps which would take you down to the master bedroom and the washer/dryer. Our outlook from the balcony was of the main road albeit we could also see the mountain.

The decor was dull and drab with insufficient lighting which meant that the inside was very dim. This made it very difficult to differentiate between stairs, carpet, hallway etc.

The master bed was uncomfortable. The shower in the en suite is over a spa bath so the curtain didn't hold the water inside and caused big puddles on the floor.

The a.c. Unit was very noisy especially in the bedroom.

One good point was that the kitchen and bathroom were well equipped.

We did visit the clubhouse which on Memorial Day was extremely busy and we did not stay long. However we did go back the following two mornings and it was much quieter. The pool area itself was ok but there was no evidence of it being cleaned. When we got in the hot tub we had to clear out insects and flies.

On check out we advised that our stay had just been ok and explained the issues we had experienced but she appeared to be disinterested.

From the website we had high expectations of this villa but this is misleading as the reality is that you can be allocated anything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDean C, Manager at Wyndham Flagstaff Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello lovebug, We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service. Most of the condos at our resort are Tri-Levels, which is the model that you stayed in. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website and pre-arrival calls. Our resort is over 30 years old and neighborhoods have grown in around us, this has impacted some of our views, but just walk outside and the "Peaks" are visible where ever you are in Flagstaff. We know there is a certain level of quality and cleanliness expected when staying at our property and we apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. Please rest assured we will address your concerns with our staff. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional concerns or would like to share more about your recent stay.
JoDean Candler
Assistant Resort Manager
jodean.candler@wyndhamvohoa.com
928 522-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    108
    34
    11
    10
See reviews for
165
116
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
512 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My dad and I stayed also because of RCI, so we had a one bedroom unit for a week. Stayed in a side by side, sharing the parking area with the next door unit. It was fine for two of us, in which I stayed in the roll out while pops got the bed to himself (mom decided to stay back in California and let the boys relax this week). We spent most of our time away from Flag, but we were home on most of the nights, so the kitchen came in handy where we bought food from Sam's Club to eat and spare a few nights at home instead of eating at the restaurants. We planned many activities away from the area, so we didn't use much of the facilities on the resort unfortunately. If coming here again, this Wyndham would be a great choice again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDean C, Manager at Wyndham Flagstaff Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello d l, Thank you for taking the time to share information about your recent stay here at Wyndham Flagstaff. I'm so glad you appreciated the full kitchen in your condo; when you travel it's great to go out for meals, but not every meal, so the kitchen really comes in handy. I'm glad you used our resort as your base camp to visit all of the northern Arizona attractions. We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next vacation to our area. Thank you again for your comments.
JoDean Candler
Assistant Resort Manager
jodean.candler@wyndhamvohoa.com
928 522-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,943 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,900 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We exchanged our time share through RCI to stay at this beautiful area and lovely setting east of Flagstaff. The resort has many different types of accommodations. We got a side by side (two units--one on either side--one has 750 sq. feet, the other, a lock off, has only 460 sq. feet. This was alot smaller than the unit we own and was the only one aavailable to us through RCI. We asked for an upgrade but the resort was not able to provide that. Since there was only 2 of us we made due in this small, but efficient space.

There was only one floor and only 4 steps up to the unit (riding around we saw buildings with many steps). Our unit had a somewhat hard queen size bed in the bedroom which had little storage (only two drawers), but had a flat screen TV. Half the closet was taken up by a combo washer/dryer which was nice to have. Kitchen was tight and efficient--table and 4 chairs, microwave, small fridge, garbage disposal and dishwasher. Living room had a sofa, chair,DVD and flat screen TV. There is a nice patio off the bedroom with table and chairs. Free wifi worked well in our unit. The fitness center is open 24 hours, there is a large pool and hot tub. In the Bear Paw Rec. Center is a cafe for coffee and snacks as well as 8 to 9 computers to use.

On Sunday afternoon the resort hosted a one hour talk by Brian Benally, a Navajo guide, which was funny and informative. Also there are a number of trails to walk around the resort and they are next to a large golf course and country club.

We enjoyed our stay and the activities of the resort. Our unit was OK for two persons only--it would be too small for more. Maybe I would have rated the resort excellent if we had a larger unit with a king size bed and more storage space.

Room Tip: Side by side units on one floor have few steps to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDean C, Manager at Wyndham Flagstaff Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello Pnemiller, Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our resort. You did stay in our smallest condo, but you're right, they still have great amenities. I wish the bedrooms were a little larger, there is only enough space for a queen size bed. Our Bear Paw Club House is so much fun for guests of all ages and the coffee and smoothies are great. Our staff loves to share with guests all of the wonderful hiking trails we have in northern Arizona, the trails are cool and the scenery is beautiful. Brian Benally does a special presentation for our guests every Sunday evening, you are right, so informative and interesting. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you again for your comments.
JoDean Candler
Assistant Resort Manager
jodean.candler@wyndhamvohoa.com
928 522-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom condo which was spacious enough for 4. Updated, high ceilings, fireplace, w&d, jacuzzi, full kitchen. Comfortable and quiet. Our unit was 7a which is right beside the community center. A hop, skip, and half a jump to get my Starbucks coffee in the morning. And to the pool, and ice cream, and putt-putt, and table tennis, and basketball, and movie room. A lot of amenities. Gas grills are available for use. Resort is only 5 minutes from retail and restaurants. Beautiful grounds. We had a great time here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDean C, Manager at Wyndham Flagstaff Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello rcaulder1, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Wyndham Flagstaff. We greatly appreciate your comments. Our Bear Paw Clubhouse offers so many amenities for our guests and their kids, so much fun for everyone. So glad your condo was near the Clubhouse just an easy walk to get your morning coffee. We look forward to hosting you and your family for a return visit to Flagstaff.
JoDean Candler
Assistant Resort Manager
jodean.candler@wyndhamvohoa.com
928 522-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Booked this hotel not knowing it was a "Vacation Club" at a very reasonable rate. We had a condo with a full kitchen, washer and dryer, 1 bedroom, and balcony. After coming out of the National Parks, it was a nice way to end our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la79881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDean C, Manager at Wyndham Flagstaff Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello la79881, So happy to read that you enjoyed the "Vacation Club" experience. It's really great to kick back in one of our condos and enjoy northern Arizona. The full kitchen and laundry help our guests relax, no need to go out for every meal and it's easy with the washer and dryer to take care of any dirty laundry before you pack.
Thank you for your kind comments and we know you will visit us again.
JoDean Candler
Assistant Resort Manager
jodean.candler@wyndhamvohoa.com
928 522-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed in a 2 story condo type room. It was very nice with some nice furniture and upgrades. There was a fireplace and even a private deck over looking the hill.
This place was only about 4 miles from Downtown Flagstaff.... very easy to get to. I assume that it would be a little tougher with snow on the ground.
There was a full kitchen here. A great place to go to the Safeway up the road and load up on groceries for the week.
I would stay here again for extended vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank impresiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDean C, Manager at Wyndham Flagstaff Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hello impresiv1,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments about our Two Bedroom Deluxe condo, the floor plan is very spacious with two balconies for great views and the fireplace in the living room is very cozy. Our location is wonderful for visiting all of the northern Arizona attractions. We look forward to your return visit.
JoDean Candler
Assistant Resort Manager
jodean.candler@wyndhamvohoa.com
928 522-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the resort. Lovely 2 BR kitchen . Very close to the club house. Every unit has a parking in from of it.fully equipped kitchen and washer dryer for the clothes too .we stayed there for a week and visited all the nearby places including Sedona, Grand Canyon , bearizona, meteor crater site , Lowell observatory,( not to miss) and so many more interesting places.many Indian restaurants too. Very cold snowing but beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supra0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDean C, Manager at Wyndham Flagstaff Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hello supra0326,
Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your stay here at Wyndham Flagstaff. We greatly appreciate your comments. Our condos are wonderful for families traveling together, as you mentioned they are fully equipped with everything you need for a very comfortable vacation. Flagstaff has so many great restaurants, we love to recommend them to our guests. supra0326 you and your family visited most of our special Flagstaff and northern Arizona attractions, what a busy vacation for you all! We look forward to your return visit.
JoDean Candler
Assistant Resort Manager
jodean.candler@wyndhamvohoa.com
928 522-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
4.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Flagstaff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Flagstaff Resort

Property: Wyndham Flagstaff Resort
Address: 1900 N Country Club Dr, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-7425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Flagstaff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Flagstaff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Wyndham
Wyndham Flagstaff Resort North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing