We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weatherford Hotel - Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful”
Review of Weatherford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Weatherford Hotel
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weatherford Hotel - Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Beautiful Historic Property!
Great personnel at all levels from phone reservations, check In / out, restaurant, bars and even housekeeping! We stayed two nights, so were able to have multiple interactions with many personnel.
The view of the street from the upstairs outside balcony with full service bar and restaurant, is great!
Food was exceptional and portions ample.
Exterior renovation was in process but did not reduce our enjoyment at all.
Located in old town Flagstaff within walking distance to many quaint shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    60
    27
    22
    28
See reviews for
18
97
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Weatherford Hotel for a long weekend, June 21 - 23, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We've stayed at historic hotels around Arizona (the Gadsden in Douglas, Connor in Jerome, Copper Queen in Bisbee) and everything about the Weatherford was superb by comparison - the friendly staff, the historic ambience, the condition of the rooms as well as the common areas, coupled with an excellent restaurant (try the huevos rancheros at breakfast!) and a great band in the downstairs bar Friday night.

In fairness to the many reviewers who have been more critical than me, we stayed in a very nice room (room #40) with a private bath, big screen TV, A.C., phone and clawfoot tub (with hand-held shower but no shower curtain). The room was wonderful, but some of the less expensive rooms apparently require a shared bath and have virtually no amenities. In short, call or email Sam and be clear about the room and amenities you want!

Another frequently cited criticism is the weekend noise at night. The hotel has 3 very popular bars and downtown Flagstaff is filled with people of all ages on weekend nights. This clearly does not lend itself to peace and quiet, so know that going in! Our room was on the 2nd floor which is ostensibly the quietest part of the hotel, and I am a sound sleeper, so the only impact the revelry had on me was to enhance our evening strolls through the charming downtown area before bedtime. My wife is a much lighter sleeper and she was aware of the noise well past midnight. She knew about the possibility and had brought earplugs and Tylenol PM but neither were required. For many, the noise could be a negative worth considering. For both of us, it was a minor inconvenience that was more than offset by the other delightful aspects of this wonderful hotel.

We will stay at the Weatherford any time we visit Flagstaff in the future!

Room Tip: Ask specific questions when you make reservations, but most of the rooms on the 2nd floor are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikee355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I am by no means used to staying at the Four Seasons, but "old, and historic" does not mean the same thing as "dump". I'm sorry, but this place needs help. I am used to "NYC-sized" small rooms, but a springy, saggy bed with dirty linens inside a room with neither air conditioning nor a ceiling fan is unacceptable when charging $100 per night. While the staff was friendly upon check in, when we asked to see another room, we were refused, the manager turned quite cold, and a refund on the spot was refused. 3 days later, and still no refund. By the way, there was a box of mouse poison in the corner by the door. Haunted? I can handle. Loud bar? Not really my cup of tea, but manageable. Dirty? Unacceptable. At least market this place as a dump where you can overpay when you drink too much and need not avoid a DUI. Either that, or charge the $39.99 rate it deserves. Sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JT247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeatherfordHotel, Manager at Weatherford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is important for us as a company to receive constructive feedback so that we are able to continuously grow. With that, we would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction of your recent visit.

I assure you that we maintain high standards of cleanliness and comfort throughout our hotel. While the majority of our rooms do not come equipped with air conditioning; the temperatures of Flagstaff typically allow for a simple floor fan (such as the ones provided in all of our rooms) to suffice in keeping the rooms comfortable. Nevertheless, we apologize for not having informed you upon booking that your room did not have A/C.

We are an eco-friendly hotel; therefore, I assure you that we do not use any form of mouse poisons anywhere in our building. However, we have thoroughly checked the property to ensure that nothing of the sort has made its way in.

We appreciate that you’ve recognized the courteousness of our staff; we thrive on filling the building with a welcoming team whose common goal it is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I understand your disappointment in not getting to see an alternative room; however, we were fully booked for the evening of your reservation and truly did not have any alternatives to offer. Also, we have spoken with the manager with whom you were unimpressed and, again, we apologize.

I sincerely hope that you have received your refund since the time of your recent comment. While company policy does not permit us to refund cash to any credit card transactions; it is certainly within our policy to refund payments for dissatisfaction from any of our guests. Please contact us if you still have not received your refund.

Lastly, we apologize again for your negative experience and hope that you will consider giving us another chance to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I enjoy going here when we drive up to Flagstaff from Phoenix. They have fantastic huevos rancheros with a tasty green chile accompaniment, black beans, fresh tortillas....really good! The outdoor seating is great for people-watching in downtown Flag. The hotel is also very interesting....historic, crooked floors when you walk past the long bar to the restrooms, a pretty cool old safe in the lobby. A nice and different atmosphere for a really good breakfast. The wait staff is very friendly and efficient too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here one night on our travels. Looks great from the outside but the rooms were tiny and the bathrooms smaller still ! ! Could barely shut the door when using the loo ! But that said we had a good night in the bar where they had a karaoke going on, which was fun, then enjoyed a good nights sleep in very comfy bed. It felt like sleeping in an old Wild West saloon, very atmospheric and good fun but glad it was only for one night ! The staff were lovely and made short we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruiser_540958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The staff at the Hotel Weatherford are wonderful! The hotel itself is very old and a bit funky. The room we had did have it's own bathroom with a claw foot tub and pedestal sink but no shower. If you like to feel like you've gone back in time, this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

In this case, "historic" means "old and cruddy". The shower head is shorter than most people I know, probably sitting at about 5'4" ish. It's also SO NOISY. There are two bars, one of which is on a floor with rooms. The walls are old and thin and not even close to sound proof. Out of the six or so employees there at the time, none of them knew how to check us in. An off-the-clock employee happened to come in for whatever reason and checked us in. Very few power outlets. Tiny room overall, but especially tiny bathroom. No counter space. Zero amenities.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want to get some sleep. Shower before you show up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WATraveler58708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Vista
Hotel Monte Vista
#29 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.8 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weatherford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weatherford Hotel

Property: Weatherford Hotel
Address: 23 N Leroux St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5535
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weatherford Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel that has hosted many famous guests, the hotel now has very reasonably priced rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Weatherford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weatherford Hotel Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing