We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Advertized” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weatherford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weatherford Hotel
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Menomoney Falls, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As Advertized”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We came into Flagstaff by train from Chicago, getting in late at night & needed a place to stay before starting our AZ adventure. If you like unique & different this is the place for you. It's nothing like one of those sterile Hampton Inn (etc) places & had more of an old B&B feel to it. The room we got for $49+ tax had a double bed, sink, small heater, lights & curtains. They have more expensive rooms with bathrooms in them but we didn't want to pay that much.

Pros:
Fun, pleasant, unique, great location, no train noise, friendly staff, free coffee, better deal than local hotels like the Rodeway, no bar noise as we got in on Sunday.


Cons:
Radiator didn't work, small electric heater caused that burning dust smell, sink in room had taps that wouldn't stay on so washing your face was tricky, shower down the hall was good, but had nowhere to put your stuff while you were using it (except 1 small hook & the floor).

Overall:
Recommended if you like different, which I do.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvorRealBiggun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    59
    27
    20
    27
See reviews for
17
95
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a historical hotel that has a great restaurant and 2 bars (Charley's Grill & Pub.) It is located in the Downtown area of Flagstaff and is close to many shops, restaurants, bars and microbreweries. It is also next door to the Orpheum Theater that has many different types of live concerts and shows. The Zane Gray bar on the third floor has access to a balcony that goes on two sides of the hotel and overlooks the street. Our room was on the third floor with a shared bathroom. The third floor rooms are close to the bar restrooms. The shared showers and bathrooms have locked doors so that only hotel guests have access. If you go to bed early and are a light sleeper, you should request a room on a different floor. Everything is very clean and comfortable with vintage furniture. We stayed two nights and never ran out of things to do. It was great fun! We will go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdb3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were in flagstaff for a wine tasting. We decided to stay overnight, I made the reservation about a week and advance. The girl on the phone gave me all the room options, I opted for the queen suite. She was very friendly and helpful which is so nice to get when you call to make a reservation anywhere.

Parking is a little hard to find, there is a small parking area behind the hotel for guests, the area was super muddy because it had rained which was kind of a negative because I was in sandals but on a positive note its free so you take what you can get!

The man checking us in was friendly and efficient. The hotel is old which is expected but it has a lot of charm. I thought the room was quite cute but my boyfriend would have prefered a little updating. There was a nice new flat screen tv with cable. One thing I would've liked is a shower, I love baths but hotel bath tubs freak me out a little so a shower head would've been great.

We also had a view of a roof top which was a little disappointing but I didn't ask for a view so my fault! There was a cute little bar with live music upstairs which was great! The bartender unfortunately was rude, she was efficient but not personable at all.

Location is awesome. Walking distance to lots of restaurants, coffee shops and other bars with nice bartenders :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and had lunch at the Weatherford Hotel on the fourth and they were very busy.
Seating only took 15 or 20 minutes. We had a Ruben and a Spinach salad. We ask our server to split the sandwich and salad so we both could enjoy the fare. He did so without a quibble. But he was hesitant to take our drink orders saying "the bartender is backed up", we insisted and he relented and took our order with no other comments. The sandwich was excellent and the salad was good also. It is located in a "historic area" so expect the tourist type offerings. In any event, its a good place for lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jleec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Beautiful Historic Property!
Great personnel at all levels from phone reservations, check In / out, restaurant, bars and even housekeeping! We stayed two nights, so were able to have multiple interactions with many personnel.
The view of the street from the upstairs outside balcony with full service bar and restaurant, is great!
Food was exceptional and portions ample.
Exterior renovation was in process but did not reduce our enjoyment at all.
Located in old town Flagstaff within walking distance to many quaint shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Weatherford Hotel for a long weekend, June 21 - 23, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We've stayed at historic hotels around Arizona (the Gadsden in Douglas, Connor in Jerome, Copper Queen in Bisbee) and everything about the Weatherford was superb by comparison - the friendly staff, the historic ambience, the condition of the rooms as well as the common areas, coupled with an excellent restaurant (try the huevos rancheros at breakfast!) and a great band in the downstairs bar Friday night.

In fairness to the many reviewers who have been more critical than me, we stayed in a very nice room (room #40) with a private bath, big screen TV, A.C., phone and clawfoot tub (with hand-held shower but no shower curtain). The room was wonderful, but some of the less expensive rooms apparently require a shared bath and have virtually no amenities. In short, call or email Sam and be clear about the room and amenities you want!

Another frequently cited criticism is the weekend noise at night. The hotel has 3 very popular bars and downtown Flagstaff is filled with people of all ages on weekend nights. This clearly does not lend itself to peace and quiet, so know that going in! Our room was on the 2nd floor which is ostensibly the quietest part of the hotel, and I am a sound sleeper, so the only impact the revelry had on me was to enhance our evening strolls through the charming downtown area before bedtime. My wife is a much lighter sleeper and she was aware of the noise well past midnight. She knew about the possibility and had brought earplugs and Tylenol PM but neither were required. For many, the noise could be a negative worth considering. For both of us, it was a minor inconvenience that was more than offset by the other delightful aspects of this wonderful hotel.

We will stay at the Weatherford any time we visit Flagstaff in the future!

Room Tip: Ask specific questions when you make reservations, but most of the rooms on the 2nd floor are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikee355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I am by no means used to staying at the Four Seasons, but "old, and historic" does not mean the same thing as "dump". I'm sorry, but this place needs help. I am used to "NYC-sized" small rooms, but a springy, saggy bed with dirty linens inside a room with neither air conditioning nor a ceiling fan is unacceptable when charging $100 per night. While the staff was friendly upon check in, when we asked to see another room, we were refused, the manager turned quite cold, and a refund on the spot was refused. 3 days later, and still no refund. By the way, there was a box of mouse poison in the corner by the door. Haunted? I can handle. Loud bar? Not really my cup of tea, but manageable. Dirty? Unacceptable. At least market this place as a dump where you can overpay when you drink too much and need not avoid a DUI. Either that, or charge the $39.99 rate it deserves. Sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JT247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeatherfordHotel, Manager at Weatherford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is important for us as a company to receive constructive feedback so that we are able to continuously grow. With that, we would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction of your recent visit.

I assure you that we maintain high standards of cleanliness and comfort throughout our hotel. While the majority of our rooms do not come equipped with air conditioning; the temperatures of Flagstaff typically allow for a simple floor fan (such as the ones provided in all of our rooms) to suffice in keeping the rooms comfortable. Nevertheless, we apologize for not having informed you upon booking that your room did not have A/C.

We are an eco-friendly hotel; therefore, I assure you that we do not use any form of mouse poisons anywhere in our building. However, we have thoroughly checked the property to ensure that nothing of the sort has made its way in.

We appreciate that you’ve recognized the courteousness of our staff; we thrive on filling the building with a welcoming team whose common goal it is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I understand your disappointment in not getting to see an alternative room; however, we were fully booked for the evening of your reservation and truly did not have any alternatives to offer. Also, we have spoken with the manager with whom you were unimpressed and, again, we apologize.

I sincerely hope that you have received your refund since the time of your recent comment. While company policy does not permit us to refund cash to any credit card transactions; it is certainly within our policy to refund payments for dissatisfaction from any of our guests. Please contact us if you still have not received your refund.

Lastly, we apologize again for your negative experience and hope that you will consider giving us another chance to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Vista
Hotel Monte Vista
#28 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#18 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Conference Center Nau/downtown
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weatherford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weatherford Hotel

Property: Weatherford Hotel
Address: 23 N. Leroux, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weatherford Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel that has hosted many famous guests, the hotel now has very reasonably priced rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Weatherford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weatherford Hotel Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing