We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stale and over priced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stale and over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We ended up here due to poor planning and will never stay here again. The town was almost completely full, so we were forced to take what was available. The room had a king size bed and that's about the only positive thing to be said. The $125 rate we were forced to pay was 50% higher than the Trip Advisor listed rates and it went up even more after we booked our room. Charging what the market will bear as the town fills up -- nice! The hallway smelled of stale cigarette smoke and old air freshened. Even though our room was supposed to be non-smoking it smelled stale, musty and old. At least the sliding glass door opened to get some air, even if it was below freezing outside. The walls were so thin we could here every conversation around us and everyone who walked by in the hall. The bathroom towels were what we call locker room towels, cheap, thin and rough. The carpet appeared old and dirty. The blanket was too small for the bed and very thin. The breakfast was all cold items, cereal, toast and cheap pastries, no hot food at all. Over all the place felt dirty. We were never comfortable. If we had paid under $60 we would have expected this, but at over $120 a night we expect much more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcdermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    69
    57
    26
    31
See reviews for
70
77
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raytown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was concerned after reading some of the reviews but hung in there. I paid $50 more in Santa Rosa and I actually preferred this hotel at $42.00. Desk was very helpful and friendly (her name was Daniel). room was clean and very spacious. Not a flat screen but who cares at a bargain price. If you have to have extra fancy, go somewhere else.The restaurant and bar next served excellent food and lots of draws on tap!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Mr. Larry S.,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay in Rodeway Inn & Suites.

We are glad that we have sufficed your accommodation needs at best value. Your reviews are valuable to us as we referred to your input as we work on to further improve our services for all our guests to enjoy during their stay in our Hotel.

We hope for another opportunity of providing your accommodation needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

After calling every hotel in Williams and Flagstaff (literally), we finally got two rooms at this hotel. We were a little afraid of what we would find, due to the terrible reviews; but it wasn't as bad as some made it out to be. For sure, it is WAY, way, way, way overpriced. The whole place stunk of smoke and alcohol. There are obviously people living in several of the rooms, as there are hibachi grills and plastic patio chairs on some of the balconies. The secure entrances were not locked. We supposedly booked two non-smoking rooms, but apparently non-smoking means the room isn't on fire, because the smell of smoke was overpowering in both rooms. One room smelled like beer as well. Smells of smoke and beer in a hotel showing obvious signs of long term occupancy is NOT encouranging! The only thing that made me not wonder if this was a "by the hour" motel, was the exorbitant rate. One room was a comfortable temperature, but couldn't get the heater to turn down in the other and the kids baked all night.

On the flip side, the front desk staff was kind and courteous. However, they told me they had no ability to print a receipt as we were checking out, which concerns me! The beds were comfortable enough, and the pillows were ok. The TV's are old, but functional, as is the furniture. Not a lot of noise inhibition in the rooms, so we could hear upstairs and around us.

Room Tip: If you can't find anything else, it will do. But you will pay through the nose for a terrible sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hartfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear hartfa,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your family’s experience during your stay in our Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we are certainly implementing every possible corrective measure to ensure our guests receive their much deserved, best value accommodation in our Hotel.

We assure you that every review is carefully evaluated as we want to build a brand that only provides nothing less than the highest quality of service in this business.

We are very particular in terms of customer satisfaction and your review will be a motivation for us to perform to keep up and be on top of our priority.

We hope you to have another opportunity and chance to provide your family our services again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Dirty and over-priced. It was late and we were desperate for a place to stay one night. It was so expensive and so not worth the money. Our children were scared; let's just say they are use to nicer accommodations. Besides the shabby conditions there was absolutely no seal around our door (which opens to the outside) and we could hear traffic and feel the cold. No one braved the shower. We slept in our clothes and then left first thing. Unless absolutely desperate - stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlwolfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Mlwolfe1,

We sincerely apologize if you may have inconvenient stay in our Hotel. As we worked on to further implement improvements in our Hotel, your particular experience will not be disregarded.

We shall properly evaluate your review and comments so as to address the matter accordingly as we aim to provide a proper, well deserve accommodation for all our guests.

We assure you that we are working on our utmost best to implement corrective measures as needed.
Thank you very much for staying in our Hotel and we hope that you will consider visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

I needed a a budget hotel for one night on a roadtrip. Pulled in and should have pulled straight out again when I was told the rate. $136 + tax for a room. However it was late and we just wanted to get settled in somewhere and enjoy the city for the night.

The room was shabby with paint peeling of the walls and doors. The bathroom was scruffy and the whole place felt unkempt. I know Rodeway is a relatively budget chain however, this was as poor as it gets. It was just made worse when a few days later I secured a small suite in Scottsdale at a 5* hotel for just $10 more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear tim1966,
Thank you for your choice to stay in Rodeway Inn.

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us. Your reviews are our reference to make further improvement on our services as our goal is to provide quality services for all our guests at best value.

Thank you for bringing to my attention your comments on our facilities. These will be evaluated promptly so as corrective measures will be implemented accordingly.

We hope to have another opportunity of providing your next accommodation when you visit Flagstaff again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Very disappointed. Did not match what the website said. No coffee pot, very tiny room, tv was very difficult to use (remote didn't work to turn off and on the tv), never made up room one day, key card didn't work on the second day there. So disappointed, left a day early. Only good thing was the proximity to roads to Grand Canyon and Sedona.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Avis,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay in our Hotel. We assure you every comment and concerns brought to our attention are highly prioritized for evaluation so as we can provide a better, more improved services for all our guests.

We hope you would give us another opportunity of providing your accommodation needs in the future and offer to you a more improved services you will enjoy on you next visit in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Indoor entry to rooms made it cumbersome for bringing in luggage. Room was not updated but clean. Really not much to say about it, it was pretty nondescript. Staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay in Rodeway Inn.

Your comments and reviews are our reference to make further improvement in our services as our goal is to provide nothing less than great experience for our guests during your stay in our Hotel. It is comforting to read your note specifically mentioning our staff were accommodating to you.

We look forward to another opportunity of providing you our services in the future as we ensure you will have great value experience in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#39 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.1 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#19 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
2.0 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#23 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 2285 E Butler Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-6015 (Formerly Flagstaff Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn & Suites Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing