We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WORTH THE $70!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #34 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We checked into our room around 10pm. After parking near Entrance D, we climbed the stairs to room 228. There was a guy watching us (2 females) as we walked to our room. We entered room and unpacked our stuff and changed into pajamas. When we pulled back sheets to one of guest beds, we found what appeared to be either dirty tshirt sleeves or underwear....could not tell what. These were in one of the guest beds. It was completely disgusting. We called front desk and he offered to move us to another room. We then had to pack up all our stuff and move to another room down the hall. We finally got settled in about 11pm. The new room was extremely drafty, with the curtains moving when the wind blew (basically most of the nite). As a last note, there was no lock on Entrance C (which we entered through our 2nd trip from car), allowing anybody to come in or out of the hotel at any time. Very unsafe considering the hotel is located directly next door to a bar and adjacent to I-40. Overall a very unpleasant and seemingly unsafe place to stay for a room rate of $70. It would have been worth it to spend a little more for a safer location and a clean room. No refunds or partial refunds were offered for our inconvenience.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nat1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear nat1919,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have had during your stay in our Hotel. We assure you this matter will be of high priority in our evaluation and will be according addressed immediately. We ensure you that corrective measures shall be implemented so that no guest/s will feel unsafe every time you come to our hotel for your rest or relaxation purposes.

We hope you will give us another opportunity of providing your accommodation needs in the future as we will give our best effort to provide your most comfortable accommodation during your stay in our hotel. I assure you that your experience, considering what we have been implementing to further improve our services is an isolated and very unfortunate experience that we will look closely into.

Thank you for choosing to stay in Rodeway Inn & Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

I visit Flagstaff frequently and always stay at Rodeway Inn and Suites off the I40 highway. It is very convenient to Route 66, NAU and the Grand Canyon.
The rooms are large with microwaves, a mini fridge, and free wifi, HBO, HBO2 and HBOfamily.
There is a nice indoor Jacuzzi open year round and a beautiful outdoor pool for the summer months.
I have found the rooms to be consistently clean, the rates reasonable and the staff always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Miss Joanna,

Thank you for your stay at Rodeway Inn & Suites.

We are glad that your family enjoyed our facilities during your stay in our Hotel. Your heart-warming review completes our business and proved we have succeeded in our effort to provide a comfortable accommodation for all our guests.

We assure you we shall keep on staying on top of our priority to be able to maintain and continue providing our guests convenient accommodation and great value experience.

We look forward to your next visit in our Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If you're smart enough to look at reviews, then you're smart enough not to make the mistake we did. We got in late, made a snap decision and regretted it all night. We felt lucky our car was still there in the morning. FILTHY floors. Not sure the bed had been changed. There is the smell of cigarettes everywhere including our non-smoking room. We didn't chance breakfast; there's a Denny's across the street. This place was built in the 70's at best and has never been remodeled. The one exception to this bad review was that the restroom was ok. The owners must be milking this place before it's torn down and replaced. For god's sake don't stop here if you have children.

Room Tip: find another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnT4311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We ended up here due to poor planning and will never stay here again. The town was almost completely full, so we were forced to take what was available. The room had a king size bed and that's about the only positive thing to be said. The $125 rate we were forced to pay was 50% higher than the Trip Advisor listed rates and it went up even more after we booked our room. Charging what the market will bear as the town fills up -- nice! The hallway smelled of stale cigarette smoke and old air freshened. Even though our room was supposed to be non-smoking it smelled stale, musty and old. At least the sliding glass door opened to get some air, even if it was below freezing outside. The walls were so thin we could here every conversation around us and everyone who walked by in the hall. The bathroom towels were what we call locker room towels, cheap, thin and rough. The carpet appeared old and dirty. The blanket was too small for the bed and very thin. The breakfast was all cold items, cereal, toast and cheap pastries, no hot food at all. Over all the place felt dirty. We were never comfortable. If we had paid under $60 we would have expected this, but at over $120 a night we expect much more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcdermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was concerned after reading some of the reviews but hung in there. I paid $50 more in Santa Rosa and I actually preferred this hotel at $42.00. Desk was very helpful and friendly (her name was Daniel). room was clean and very spacious. Not a flat screen but who cares at a bargain price. If you have to have extra fancy, go somewhere else.The restaurant and bar next served excellent food and lots of draws on tap!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Mr. Larry S.,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay in Rodeway Inn & Suites.

We are glad that we have sufficed your accommodation needs at best value. Your reviews are valuable to us as we referred to your input as we work on to further improve our services for all our guests to enjoy during their stay in our Hotel.

We hope for another opportunity of providing your accommodation needs in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

After calling every hotel in Williams and Flagstaff (literally), we finally got two rooms at this hotel. We were a little afraid of what we would find, due to the terrible reviews; but it wasn't as bad as some made it out to be. For sure, it is WAY, way, way, way overpriced. The whole place stunk of smoke and alcohol. There are obviously people living in several of the rooms, as there are hibachi grills and plastic patio chairs on some of the balconies. The secure entrances were not locked. We supposedly booked two non-smoking rooms, but apparently non-smoking means the room isn't on fire, because the smell of smoke was overpowering in both rooms. One room smelled like beer as well. Smells of smoke and beer in a hotel showing obvious signs of long term occupancy is NOT encouranging! The only thing that made me not wonder if this was a "by the hour" motel, was the exorbitant rate. One room was a comfortable temperature, but couldn't get the heater to turn down in the other and the kids baked all night.

On the flip side, the front desk staff was kind and courteous. However, they told me they had no ability to print a receipt as we were checking out, which concerns me! The beds were comfortable enough, and the pillows were ok. The TV's are old, but functional, as is the furniture. Not a lot of noise inhibition in the rooms, so we could hear upstairs and around us.

Room Tip: If you can't find anything else, it will do. But you will pay through the nose for a terrible sm...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hartfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear hartfa,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your family’s experience during your stay in our Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we are certainly implementing every possible corrective measure to ensure our guests receive their much deserved, best value accommodation in our Hotel.

We assure you that every review is carefully evaluated as we want to build a brand that only provides nothing less than the highest quality of service in this business.

We are very particular in terms of customer satisfaction and your review will be a motivation for us to perform to keep up and be on top of our priority.

We hope you to have another opportunity and chance to provide your family our services again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Dirty and over-priced. It was late and we were desperate for a place to stay one night. It was so expensive and so not worth the money. Our children were scared; let's just say they are use to nicer accommodations. Besides the shabby conditions there was absolutely no seal around our door (which opens to the outside) and we could hear traffic and feel the cold. No one braved the shower. We slept in our clothes and then left first thing. Unless absolutely desperate - stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlwolfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Mlwolfe1,

We sincerely apologize if you may have inconvenient stay in our Hotel. As we worked on to further implement improvements in our Hotel, your particular experience will not be disregarded.

We shall properly evaluate your review and comments so as to address the matter accordingly as we aim to provide a proper, well deserve accommodation for all our guests.

We assure you that we are working on our utmost best to implement corrective measures as needed.
Thank you very much for staying in our Hotel and we hope that you will consider visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#22 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,117 reviews
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#47 of 65 in Flagstaff
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#16 of 65 in Flagstaff
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 65 in Flagstaff
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 2285 E Butler Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-6015 (Formerly Flagstaff Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: £50 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn & Suites Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing