We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Planned to book the largest room they had w 2 queens, Tried to book online for 5 people but the site wouldn't allow it. So I booked for 4. Not booking 2 rooms for my family of 5!
Also we were sure the listing said kitchenette, which is also what we were looking for since we were staying 2 nights and wanted to eat in often. Arrived and room was ready, but no "kitchenette" of any sort, they don't exist in fact, and due to rebranding of the company, no MICROWAVES were in any rooms anymore as well. There was a mini fridge. So much for cooking in. Maybe I read it wrong but I looked at so many details and this was a priority.
Rooms were tiny, not sure how they would fit a rolling cot even if I asked for one. We ended up moving the entire desk to other end of room in order to fit our twin air mattress for our toddler son. When I asked if a larger room existed, they said only handicapped on first floor, not available to just anyone.
Pool was fine, and service, cleanliness, and breakfast were fine, except the cartons of milk were sour and we all found out the hard way, but when we mentioned it they promptly discarded them. Also this hotel is a little bit of a pain to drive to, (easy to miss the entrance), and a few miles east of downtown. For $200 a night we expected more room, mainly. It was a holiday weekend but still.
Be warned that this is not as roomy as most Holiday Inns, and the front desk said no large rooms or suites exist. Pricey for being cramped in. Even w the hot breakfast, (I can get carbs and styrofoam omelets for less elsewhere.) Disappointed. Won't stay here again, since we won't all fit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Karen M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all guest feedback in an ongoing effort to provide outstanding customer service. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the pool and the cleanliness of the hotel. I am very sorry the size of your room could not accommodate for your family of five. We only have standard room that are designed for a maximum of four guests, that why you were not able to book for five. Many Holiday Inns offer suits this might be a good option for future stays.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope if you are to travel to Flagstaff again in the future we could be of service to you.

Best wishes,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    243
    129
    43
    28
See reviews for
246
201
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

After reading reviews I decided to stay at this hotel as it had a pick-up service at Amtrak station. Glad we did. We arrived late at night and called for our pick-up. They came without a hitch. Next day went to rent our car. Had major problem with our Hertz reservation. The Hertz franchise at the Amtrak station had closed six weeks earlier and we had not been notified. The front desk at Holiday Inn extended our check out time so we could resolve our problem regarding our car rental. The girls at the front desk were most helpful and considerate. All in all our room, breakfast, and the help at the front desk made what could have been a nightmare a pleasant stay. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kai-Leigh B, scflgll@swhm.com at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Veea C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay. I am glad toy enjoyed your time while at the Holiday Inn Express in Flagstaff. I am thrilled to see you were able to experience our quality customer service during a difficult time with your car rental. We appreciate all your kind worlds and they will be shared with our staff. We hope if you are to travel through Northern Arizona again in the future we can be your host hotel.

Best wishes,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Holiday Inn Express and IHG properties have become my hotel of choice because of their consistently high standards. This hotel is a fair example of those standards. The room and bathroom were scrupulously clean with an abundance of towels. Complimentary breakfast in a well appointed, charming dining room is always a plus. The parking lot was well lit with ample space. Some rooms have microwave, refrigerator and in room coffee. I have never had a front desk agent at an IHG property who was not a consummate professional. I did not, however, appreciate the $10 "resort fee" added to my bill. The property was being remodeled when I was staying so construction crews and equipment were part of my "resort experience."

Room Tip: ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello Pepper W from Chicago, Illinois,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay while in Flagstaff. We are thrilled you had the time to take advantage of our hot breakfast in the morning. We pride ourselves on quality customer service and we delighted you had the opportunity to enjoy this. However I would like to further investigate on the “restore fee” you mention in your bill. If have the time please feel free to contact me directly so I can look into this issue. My Phone number and email are listed below.

Many thanks,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you want a nice place to stay that is only an hour away from the Grand Canyon, then consider staying here. They recently remodeled many of their rooms, and were in the midst of painting the outside of the hotel.

The room itself was clean and well appointed. I further appreciated the fridge and microwave for snacking requirements of my two teenage girls. The television would freeze during our show, forcing my husband to turn the tv off and on again. But, that was only a minor inconvenience.

The breakfast was really good and plentiful. And, I appreciate the long hours for swimming (7 am to 10 pm). The only thing that was semi-annoying was that the elevators are very small and slow. So, during the breakfast rush, it was much quicker to take the stairs (even though we were on the fourth floor).

But, overall, it is a great hotel to stay in for its location.

Room Tip: They are pretty much all the same, as far as I can tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniN705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello ToniN705 from Aliso Viejo, California,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on providing top notch customer service. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience with your T.V. freezing; this will be brought to our maintenance team’s attention. I am excited you were able to take advantage of our full hot breakfast and our indoor/outdoor heated pool. We do hope you will visit us again on your next trip through Flagstaff.

Again thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you soon.

Many thanks,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our room needed paint, the toilet paper holder was falling off, the entrance to the hotel was crumbling. However, the staff was very gracious and went out of their way to see to our comfort. We appreciated the guest laundry access.m

Room Tip: Wifi very slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Terry C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We are currently going through a full renovation of our hotel. Our guest rooms are being remodeled from wall to wall including: new wallpaper, bedding, furniture, carpets, as well as new art work. We just completed the exterior painting to the building and now currently working on the front entry way to the building. We have had a couple people try to fit to large of a truck under the overhang cause minor damage which we are trying to fix. I do hope you will visit us when our renovation is complete to see how great our hotel truly is.

Best wishes,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Even though the refurbishment is in progress, staff and management were extremely careful that it had minimum impact on customers. Our room had already been upgraded with new everything. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of space in the room for bags etc. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello Porka54 from Lismore, Australia,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay while visiting Northern Arizona. We hope you come back in your future visit to the area.
Again thank you for your kind words, see you soon!

Best wishes,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We used my IHG points to stay at this hotel. All in all it was a clean hotel with a wonderful breakfast. The building is obviously tired, but is in the midst of remodeling - one can only imagine how much nicer it will be when finished. Hotel has a pool that is half indoor and half outdoor - my daughter liked the idea. We only had one small waste basket and the WIFI kept dropping connection, but these are relatively minor items. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The views from the North side are a bit nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMarkDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear DrMarkDG,

Thanks for choosing our hotel while visiting the Flagstaff area. As we value guest feedback I want to also thank you for taking time to provide us comments regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our full hot breakfast as well as our indoor/outdoor heated pool. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the WIFI connection during your stay. Our maintenance crew will be informed of this issue in hopes it will not happen again. We do hope to see you on your future travel through Northern Arizona to see our hotel when the renovations are complete.
We appreciate your loyalty to our IHG Rewards program, see you soon!

Best wishes,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Property: Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Address: 2320 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-9744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Northern Arizona for business or leisure, Stay Smart at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are centrally located to many Flagstaff attractions including Historic Rt. 66, Northern Arizona University, Lowell Observatory, Museum of N. AZ and the Riordan Mansion. Breath taking monuments like Grand Canyon, Sedona, the Red Rocks, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater, Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are nearby and a must see for all traveling through.The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel is also the right place for relaxation and great hospitality! Our guests can enjoy views of the San Francisco Peaks from many of our wonderful guest rooms. All our comfortable rooms include a host of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access. Come sit and relax by our cozy fireplace in the evenings or have fun in our arcade room. Stop by our Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning for a deluxe hot continental breakfast served complimentary to all our guests. The hotel also has an outdoor/ indoor heated pool, a spa and a fitness center. The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express offers meeting & banquet facilities, and also provides complimentary shuttle services to both the Flagstaff Airport & Amtrak Station. The staff at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel are always eager to provide you with friendly, courteous and professional service. We look forward to seeing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing