We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice and Cheap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff
Ranked #50 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Phoenix
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice and Cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Howard Johnson East is a very nice hotel, situated in Flagstaff, and it has some really affordable prices. The rooms are cute, clean and comfortable, and it also has wireless Internet access in the public area. I could also enjoy the pool, which I highly recommend, especially during really hot days. A great thing about this hotel is also the fact that is pet-friendly, being very useful if you like to travel with a little companion. A downside to this hotel is the noise coming from outside, which we heard quite a lot of. All of that being said, I think this hotel is very good, especially considering its price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Velva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Miss Velva E.,

Thank you for staying in Howard Johnson Inn.

We are very grateful that you find our hotel affordable and sufficed your standard of cleanliness and enjoyed our pool. I would have to say that we have been doing our best effort to provide a great comfortable accommodation to fill in the downside of our location being situated in the busiest area in Flagstaff.

Nevertheless, we hope you will still come visit our hotel again and give us another opportunity of servicing your accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    102
    114
    78
    87
See reviews for
160
125
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Located on Old Rt. 66, this hotel is one that I rate high because of the effort of the owners to improve an old property and the staff that works non-stop to accommodate all guests. Without the efforts of the owners and staff this hotel would get an average rating from me.

It is located across the street from a rail line and sometimes there will be two trains passing in opposite directions. You can watch them from your room.

There is a beautiful mountain very close on the back end of the property that towers over the beautiful pool and spa. Lovely and secluded from view of all the rooms.

We used one of those interstate hotel coupon books for a rate of $40 + tax.

The famous old 'Crown Railroad Diner' is attached and their varied menu will appeal to any taste.

We felt very safe and comfortable here so we stayed an extra day for sight seeing.

Room Tip: All rooms include the sound of Train whistles and trains rumbling by. If you seek total quiet - this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear rebjag,

Thank you for the extended stay in Howard Johnson Inn.

It is heart-warming to read your appreciation and putting in note, our effort to provide quality of services that you deserve for giving us your business. We are also glad that you find our location convenient for your needs regardless of the occasional noise coming from the passing trains.

Your positive review is the outcome of our collective effort to implement further improvements and that ensures we are on the right track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

First of all the bathroom was flooded because someone failed to shut the bathroom window. When I asked the front desk for towels - I got 2 hand towels, WOW. In addition, the room was infested with ants including the bed. When I unpacked my suitcase, it was full of ants as well. Did not come from my house. When I told the front desk, she said "Oh well it happens"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Miss Martha,

I sincerely apologize for the unbecoming behavior you have experienced during your stay in our hotel. I assure you this matter shall be evaluated and immediately addressed.

Our guests’ convenience is our utmost priority and we only want to provide our guests the best accommodation, deserved for giving us your business.
Thank you for staying in Howard Johnson Inn.

We look forward to another opportunity of providing your accommodation needs again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff Near I-40
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#39 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff
Address: 3300 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2013, all rooms feature plush bedding, refrigerators, wifi, coffee makers. Seasonal outdoor pool & Spa. Guest laundry and the Crown Railroad Café onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Flagstaff
Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing