We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
A Wyndham traveler
1
Reviewed 13 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just stayed for NAU graduation and was not real happy with the hotel. The room was adequate but the maid service left a lot to be desired. There was garbage on the floor when we arrived, and the coffee service tray had pieces of someone else's candy bar on it. There were black footprints on the shower floor when we arrived- pretty gross. We did not even get maid service one of the days we were there and had to go to the office to get some clean towels. They just passed us up! The pool and hot tub were padlocked shut!(?) That was disappointing. There was equipment set up for contintental breakfast in the lobby but it was not served (?) The restaurant was good, and the location had the route 66 charm with a roadhouse style club next door and train tracks across the road, so that was fun. The front desk was pleasant enough, but manangement needs to keep the place up better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauriesue2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose this motel as a base for two nights to do a full day trip to the Grand Canyon and wanted something inexpensive.

The front desk clerk got us checked in but does not qualify as the friendliest person in the business. The room was adequate but a little dingy since you must keep the curtains closed to have any privacy, but we had no complaints with the sleep quality or general cleanliness. The basics were provided; only a shower in the bathroom, no tub, but that was fine for us. The TV
selection was the best on the whole trip, over 90 channels.

We had no issue with noise from the road or the nearby railway (the trains do not whistle), but we were front row centre for the brawl in the next room in the middle of the night (very thin walls), but this was beyond the motel's control.

If you don't have very high expectations, this is a good place to base yourself to do your Grand Canyon tour.

Room Tip: Further away from the street if train and traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiederaufachse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I couldn't use WIFI in my room because wifi signal was too weak. I told the indian manager about that. He tried to push me into upgrading the room. When I refused his sale, He got angry. He was really irresponsible and no common sense.

WIFIの電波が弱くて部屋でーネットが使えなかったので、インド人マネージャーに解決を求めたら、値段の高い部屋のアップグレードを押し付けようとしてきたので、文句いったら逆切れしてきた。そこで返金を求めたら、返金はできないと身勝手な主張をしてきました。非常識すぎます。インターネットを使いたい人は、ここに泊まったらダメです。

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank risingsun1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel looked freshly painted and looked clean from the outside. My check-in was pleasant and quick and within 5 minutes I was in my room. The room was clean and orderly. The bed was firm and was a little firmer than I like. The only real drawback was the train noise that happens about every 15 to 20 minutes, the tracks are right across the street from the hotel. If you are a deep sleeper you can't miss this rate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I accidentally booked a reservation at this hotel through hotels.com for the wrong date. I called hotels.com not even an hour later to cancel the reservation and was informed that because it was past the cancellation time they would need approval from the hotel itself to cancel the reservation at no penalty. I am a front office supervisor at a hotel and knew this was an easy fix and that we would all walk away from it happy. However when the hotels.com operator got back on the line she informed me that the Hotel was "unable to process a refund". I called the hotel directly and was greeted by a very unpleasant night auditor that said "I'm just a front desk guy, I don't have authority to do that". He then informed me that the manager would be in at 8 in the morning the following day. I called at 8:15am only to be informed by an equally unpleasant Front Desk staff that the manager was on vacation and did not have a voicemail system set up. THE MANAGER HAS NO VOICEMAIL???? How is it possible to run a hotel and not have a message system? The answer is very simple, they do not fix problems. This Front Desk associate also refused to cancel my reservation at no penalty, even after considering the fact that I had made an upcoming reservation already made for the correct date. Not only did they lose out on the one upcoming reservation at the end of the month, but several others that would have been planned for the year. Every hotel associate needs to be reminded that this is the hospitality business, we are to be pleasant and helpful in all that we do, if this is difficult for us... we need new jobs! "not having authority" to make a decision to cancel and refund a reservation that was at a rate of less than 60 dollars and lose out on countless upcoming reservations makes no sense for anybody involved. If the Front Desk staff is at the Mercy of a manager who is completely inflexible in rebating, the owners of this hotel should take note and retrain the manager, reminding him what industry this is. Spend a little more money and receive the outstanding service you deserve! This place is a reminder of why we see so many low rates at hotels, they're trash. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel!! Worst service ever provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#52 of 65 in Flagstaff
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff East
Travelodge Flagstaff East
#37 of 65 in Flagstaff
236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff

Address: 3300 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-4031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: £45 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful mountains and evergreen forests, Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff hotel near Arizona Snowbowl is the perfect place for your Southwestern vacation. Located off Route 66 and near Interstate 40, our hotel offers free parking for your car, truck or RV so it is easy to enjoy popular local attractions. Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is here to help you plan your trip. Enjoy a swim in our outdoor pool before unwinding in our spa. Free Wi-Fi Internet access makes it easy to check in with work and home. Our pet-friendly Flagstaff hotel offers non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms. Head to Arizona Snowbowl, one of the oldest ski areas in the country, and enjoy scenic views from the chair lift, ski or snowboard on the fresh-packed powder or hike the tallest mountain in the state, Humphrey’s Peak. Admire big cats, grizzly bears and Serengeti animals at Out of Africa Wildlife Park. Explore thousands of ancient Native American villages, beautiful desert landscapes and majestic mountains at Flagstaff Area National Monuments. Be sure to visit the awe-inspiring cliffs, canyons and spires of the Grand Canyon. We are a short drive from red rock canyon hiking, art galleries, shopping and dining in Sedona. Head to Crown Railroad Cafe, for a great meal. Enjoy fajitas, tacos, enchiladas and more at La Fonda Mexican Restaurant or Satchmo’s for barbeque and Cajun dishes. Stop by Black Bart’s Steakhouse Saloon for live music, steak, ribs, grilled seafood and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Flagstaff
Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing