We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
Reviewed 8 April 2008

We stayed 2 nights just after Easter, as jumping-off point for trip to Grand Canyon. The lobby is very nice and, at first sight, room was OK - but we didn't get the high floor we had requested, despite being GoldPointsPlus Silver Elite members. This turned out to be a problem ...

This is the NOISIEST hotel we have ever experienced: noisy people above, noisy people in the corridor, VERY noisy plumbing (it was like living in someone else's bathroom!). We would have used the heating/aircon to drown the noise, but this was the noisiest thing of all (as mentioned by another TripAdvisor contributor recently). The second night, we were both forced to use earplugs to get any sleep!

To add insult to injury, at checkin we were given a voucher to enter a draw for a huge number of GoldPoints, but this wasn't valid as we have a UK address. Not a great way to encourage "loyalty"!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTVproducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbruckler, Guest Services Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, 5 June 2008
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments on your last stay. They are extremely beneficial and allow us the opportunity to address the issue. And, I apologize for any inconvenience that may have occurred during your stay.
We do try to accommodate all guest room requests and apologize that you were not able to receive the high floor requested. Your comments regarding the noisy air conditioning units have been addressed with management and will be looked into for improvement. I hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to impressing you on your next stay in Flagstaff, Arizona.

PS - we've also submitted to Radisson Corporate your concerns regarding the Gold Points reward not being valid with your UK request.

Warm regards, Gina Leingang
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    511
    237
    94
    37
See reviews for
502
544
77
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Very nice hotel. We had a suite because we have small children and wanted some space. The spa area was very big and free to guest.
Loved the Japanese restaurant in hotel. It was great to not have to leave the hotel for a night out. We parents could have a drink in the lounge which seemed family friendly.
Out kids could play in the snow the next morning. Our room service breakfast was tasty.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank ScottsdaleSlinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2008

Room nice and reasonably priced.
The Teppanyaki restaurant was all booked, the other restaurant was ok but not great.
The only negative is a primitive forced air heating system.
It's extremely noisy, it wakes up when it goes on in the middle of the night.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ecofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbruckler, E-Commerce Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, 12 March 2008
First, thank you for your comments on our rooms -- we are working very hard to continue to upgrade and improve our services and guest rooms.
I'd like to explain a little about our heating system. It's not a 'forced air' system, rather we have a water-source two pipe heat pump system. East room has its own heat pump unit -- and it appears that the pump for your room must have been extra noisy.
When we identify rooms (when guests inform us of the issue) where the pumps are noisy, we repair or exchange them to resolve the problem.
As you're aware, it's been quite cold and snowy in Flagstaff recently and our heating system/pumps have been working at full capacity, thereby causing more units to need attention. Once the issue is reported, however, we are quick to repair or replace the pump.
Long story - short answer -- please, please let us know when the issue occurs and let us resolve it during your stay!
Lastly, you'll be happy to know that we have a new Chef in our Woodlands Cafe and he's working on new 'Pacific Rim' style recipes that we hope to make our 'other' restaurant as special a the Sakura.
Thank you again for your comments - and we certainly look forward to serving you during your next stay with us in Flagstaff.

Warm regards,
Melissa, Javier and the entire team at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

The Radisson Woodlands Hotel is comfortable and has a friendly and helpful staff. It is not luxurious, but compares favorably to other chain hotels, and as far as Flagstaff is concerned, is one of the better hotel options! Located on Route 66 about a mile and a half from historic, downtown Flagstaff, the hotel is conveniently located to shopping, eating, hiking trails and even the amazing, scenic drive along 89A to Sedona.

Specifically, I found the hotel staff helpful recommending hiking trails and conditions. Also, they called us on our cell phone to inform us that our misplaced/delayed luggage had arrived from the airline and that they could have it delivered to our room. They also gave us very specific information regarding opening hours of tourist sites in and around Flagstaff.

If you are planning to spend some time in or near Flagstaff, I would recommend the Radisson for overall value, convenience and service.

  • Liked — The King Size Sleep Number Bed
  • Disliked — Some of the trim in the hallways, esp near the elevators need to be touched up with paint
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxwhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2007

We stayed overnight at the Radisson when heading for the slopes of Snobowl and some skiing. The hotel was great! I found an awesome deal through Travelocity, but was able to book by phone with the same rate (which helped when we had to cancel a room within 24 hours).

First of all, the front desk staff was awesome! Every single one of them. Answered all my questions, gave recommendations, and were very accomodating when part of our party became ill during the visit.

The rooms were extremely clean, and the Sleep Number beds and upgraded linen were a bonus. Everything worked correctly - no problems with the Sleep Number controls. The rooms were quiet (even though ours faced the main road). The bonus to us was that they keep door tags in each room with a condensed room service list for breakfast. You just fill out what you'd like, what time you want it to arrive, and hang it on the door. Someone comes by during the night, picks it up, and walla! - breakfast in the morning.

Our party enjoyed the indoor hot tub (huge, can accomodate 10-15 people easily. No indoor pool (outdoor, but closed for the season). There's a Japanese restaurant attached to the hotel (which we would have ate at, but they only have Teppanyaki or sushi & appetizers - no formal dining.

Overall this stay was excellent. I usually stay at the Hampton in Flagstaff, but I think I'll be changing my destination from now on.

Helpful?
1 Thank tveditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

I am a member of the Radisson awards scheme and use their hotels in Europe for business all the time, however my experience with this hotel nearly put me off for life! We booked 9 months prior to our stay, through Expedia, and paid in full, upfront. On booking we were provided with no option about the type of room so I added a request for a non-smoking room with a king bed (we 2 rooms actually, as we were travelling with our parents). We checked in at 6pm on a Saturday evening to be told that we had twin bedded rooms as they hotel was fully booked, on questioning why our request hadn’t been honoured as it has been in the previous 5 hotels on this trip, I was very tersely informed this was because Flagstaff had a fresher’s University Football weekend and the other king bedded rooms were allocated for that. On pointing out that those bookings must have been made well after they had our money (as the parents wouldn’t have even known their football playing child would be at The University of Arizona 9 months before) they said ‘well sorry, we don’t have any other rooms’. My father-in-law was actually celebrating his 60th birthday in Flagstaff and I was gutted and really annoyed at the attitude of the check-in staff. They practically stated that we were less important as we hadn’t booked direct with them but through Expedia. The saga continued with being pointed in the direction of our rooms, offered no assistance with our bags and arriving at a separate block with access through the car park (in the rain) to ground floor rooms that looked like they had last been used in the 1980s. They were dark, noisy and faced directly onto the headlights of all the parents leaving the hotel to go to the football match. It was like staying in a caravan on a parking lot of a shopping mall at sale time. Having calmed down from the attitude of the check in staff I had just read the customer satisfaction offer (if there is ANYTHING wrong with your stay speak to the manager and he’ll sort it!!) when our room phone rang and we were offered 2 of 3 ‘just cancelled’ rooms in the main building with king beds. Miraculous!!! It was like somebody had upgraded us to a suite, the difference in the rooms was phenomenal and I can’t help feeling we were less important as we had got a great rate with Expedia, but on having a few minutes to reflect on the possible repercussions of their attitude they changed their mind. The overall stay was still less than great, the bad attitude seemed to be staff wide, not just limited to the front desk and the hotel bar was closed at 10.30pm, so after dinner drinks were not an option!! If you’re going to Flagstaff you would probably do better staying in a motel and saving your money.

  • Disliked — The staff's attitude
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbruckler, E-Commerce Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, 1 December 2007
As management, we truly apologize for your experience at our hotel. We continue to work to meet and exceed our guest expectations. We apologize that you felt you were treated less than ' first class' during your stay. Though it is true that we only guarantee room type for bookings made directly through the hotel or brand website, we do strive to accommodate all guest requests if possible, whether the reservation was made directly or indirectly. During busy periods this can be a challenging task.
We do understand that this was a special time for you and your family and sincerey apologize that your stay was not absolutely perfect. We do hope that you'll allow us to show you during your next stay our standards of excellence in service and amenities.

Warm regards,
Melissa, Javier and the entire management/staff of the Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

This hotel is a solid three star hotel. The facilities are nice with the Sakura restaurant as part of the establishment. We did not eat there this trip but my wife has when she was up for business and she liked it.

Check in went well. It turns out that they do have smoking rooms and since we got this through Priceline, we could have ended up in one. Fortunately, we didn't but got a double queen room instead. The room had a TV but did not have a refrigerator or microwave. There was a desk area and separate chair and a bench. The bathroom was medium sized.

As noted by others, the hotel is aging. The bottom row of grout in the shower was moldy although the hotel did not smell. The toilet was starting to have problems but we checked out before there was any disaster. We told the manager so hopefully it was fixed but it was just another indication of issues to come.

The hotel is on Business 40 but no where near the trains. It was a nice location. Overall, a three star. However, if we had not gotten it at the Priceline price, we would have thought we had overpaid.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was showing its age and not pricing itself accordingly
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbruckler, E-Commerce Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, 1 December 2007
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you and your wife enjoyed our Sakura restaurant -- it's a favorite of visitors and locals alike.
We've heard comments from guests such as yours that we need to invest in updating our facilities and thanks to you, we are in the process of doing just that. We've started with installing granite countertops in all of our bathrooms. We're finishing with new carpeting in our cooridors and are also looking at updating other areas of the hotel such as the restaurant.
As you mentioned we do have a great location off of the 'old route 66' - we have great service and staff and are in the process of updating the hotel's facilities. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Flagstaff and hope that you let us know how you've liked our upgrades and improvements.

Warm regards,
Management and Staff
Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6213 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive (about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package). Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love for years with a variety of upgraded amenities. Our hotel ambiance is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Have pets? We do offer pet friendly rooms ($50 pet fee applies). We also offer 2 restaurants: Woodlands Cafe and Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki which allows us to offer dining for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Our Lobby Lounge is an inviting area to relax and enjoy. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing