We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really quite awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Really quite awful”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is a budget motel and it was cheap. The first room we were given smelled of rotting vegetables. We asked for another room and we were given one right next to a noisy generator. The overall state of the hotel is shabby and dirty with the bins outside looking like they have never been cleaned. Even the handrails were sticky. The pool was next to the freeway and not appealing. Don't come for that. Given this we didn't even attempt breakfast! I would find somewhere closer to life in Flagstaff next time and pay a bit more.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPEL1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    210
    247
    148
    99
See reviews for
351
207
63
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The room was spacious with a nice desk and table and chairs. Bathroom clean and updated. No flat screen TV, but had many stations. Beds were comfortable.
Carpet on outside hallway was very worn and coming up. Unsightly. Breakfast was OK, but would like to see some protein and sugar free syrup. Person in charge sat at front desk on her cellphone and did not clean up spills from waffle maker or keep counters clean until asked to. When she replenished donuts, she left them in the box on the counter. Milk dispenser did not work, and she had to be asked to bring more milk (was still on cell phone). After we ate high sugar and carb meal, she then brought out bagels that had not been present the whole time. Need better attentive worker for breakfast. Room was too small and when you found a table, they were crowded in. We should have eaten in our room as the table area there was bigger. I would stay there again, but hope the management trains their workers to stay off cell phone and be attentive to breakfast guests, and gets milk machine fixed. Liked they had decaf coffee.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for one night, and we had a quite good stay. This is a classical motel-style building, just off the I-40. The room was spacious and clean; bathroom with tub (and a faucet very knotty to use). The breakfast was shabby, with watered and lukewarm coffee, but with a waffle maker. Nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poteau, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Room was clean and staff friendly. Doors do open to the outside but the surrounding area was very clean and appears safe so we were not concerned. The breakfast was good but all carbs. We had a nice view of surrounding mountains from our window. There is a WalMart just down the street. Good value and would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing east for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This place was supposedly the cheapest decent motel in Flagstaff, and it lived up to its reputation. Rooms were clean and comfortable, the free breakfast was adequate, and front desk staff members were personable. The location is also convenient to I-40 and downtown Flagstaff. Note: do NOT mistake this place with the other Howard Johnson across the highway. We accidentally went there first, and ended up being glad we were actually staying somewhere else...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesocyclone2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scorney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I used trip advisor to find the cheapest best hotel I could find in flagstaff, and I succeeded. It was only around $40 a night for a king, and it was surprisingly comfortable! The room was clean, the bathroom was decent, and there was even a breakfast area with fridge and microwave. Many hotels don't include a fridge and microwave anymore, and the Howard Johnson provides them for free. Wireless is free, as is the breakfast. Breakfast was the traditional waffle and other easy foods, and it was ok. Definitely fine for a free breakfast, but I avoided it most days and ate locally instead. Next time I'm in flagstaff, I nwill be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Reserved room at least 45 days in advance, and obtained it for $62.00 - same room if reserved a week prior to stay - they were asking $115 (it was a holiday weekend). If we had paid any more than the $62, we would have felt very unhappy staying there. This motel is in need of refribishing. It is clean and the staff were great. Complimentary breakfast was good, but no place to sit and eat. .

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southwest43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#22 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
2.3 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Property: Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Address: 2520 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-8505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing