We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #52 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Pueblo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

April 11th, 2012 I stayed one night and was pleased with the room and service. A standard older room but clean, vacuumed and well kept. Room had a microwave, refrig, coffiee maker and a iron and ironing board. Bathroom was very clean and the shower worked well. Mattress was a newer pillow top that was wonderful sleeping. TV stations were a little snowy but watchable. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had waffels, cold ceral, juice, fresh fruit and coffee.

For the price a great room and easy off and on to I-40. A Denny's nearby along with Wal-mart and other shopping.

Room Tip: I checked for bedbugs and found none. Clean room and the top floor you hear no noise of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard johnson ... l, Manager at Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you for your review we get alot of compliments on our new pillow top mattresses and cleanliness. We hope to see you again in the future and take care of all your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    196
    227
    129
    88
See reviews for
310
196
55
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just needed a place to sleep during our visit to the Grand Canyon. This HoJo needs some help. The place is worn. Our bathroom was dirty and when I informed the front desk, was told it would be cleaned while we were out. Didn't happen. The lightswitch plates were covered with dirt, the cupboard in the mini kitchen is falling apart. Too bad this property isn't living up to the HoJo we know elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaNPaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard johnson ... l, Manager at Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
We are sorry for your experience but we believe you may have stayed at 1 of the other 2 properties in our city as we do not have kitchenettes in our hotel at our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

if you want a clean comfortable room, this is a good spot. no frills, but it includes coffee, juice, and waffles in the morning. nice value

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayokwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just needed a one night stay and we were going to be up early the very next day so we figured that this would be a good place, not too expensive, etc.

I could not even handle an hour at this creepy place.

Problem 1: Comforter had semen stains throughout. Gross.

Problem 2: I decided to check for signs of Bed Bugs, these include seeing if their sheets had any blood stains. CHECK! I saw dark blood dots all over the place!

Problem 3: RUDE RUDE RUDE staff, I mentioned the problem.. they shrugged it off and said would you like to look at another room? I gave it a try, and sure enough bed bugs in that room too.  

I asked for a refund and after having driven 15 hours from Dallas, TX as tired as I was I just could not stay here. They would not provide me with a refund, or at the very minimum an apology for the problems.. I've contacted HJ corporate and haven't heard back, I wont stop till I get a refund or at least an apology for the nasty conditions of this place. Avoid this place! Seriously!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard johnson ... l, Manager at Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
We do not remember any situation like this at our property. In regards to bed bugs we have terminex come once a month and spray just to make sur e we never have that problem and we have never had this problem before there were no bed bugs in any of our rooms and when a guest complains to customer care for hojo they are required to respond to guest and property within 48 hours so we contacted them and they have no complaint for us like this from anyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We had a very difficult time finding the hotel - our GPS didn't take us to it, but when we called they gave us directions to get us to the hotel.

Positives: We had a 3 queen suite, which was perfect for our family. It's a large room over the office and was very spacious. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. For the price, it was a good deal.

Negatives: The room didn't have any clock in it. Luckily I had my cell phone with me. The room had a little table, but there were only 2 chairs. There are shutters on the windows and they don't do a very good job of keeping out the light (both night and morning). The dining area was too small and the food had almost completely run out by the time we got there at 8:30am. There was no where to sit and many people were standing wherever they could plant there feet.

All this said, yes, I'd recommend the motel to families with more than 2 children.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsKezzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and was easy to find from the I-40 exit 198 and is actually signposted on the interstate.
Hotel, more like a motel. All rooms are accessed from the car park and not through reception. The room was spacious and clean with aircon/heating that was really noisy. Our room was at the opposite end to reception next to E Huntington Dv which can get quite busy and so sleeping was a bit of a problem. Breakfast is really basic and would not call it 'continental'. Tea, coffee, fruit juice, small selection of cerials and doughnuts, bread and jam and waffle maker. Only half a dozen tables though and when the place is fully booked, there is no where near enough space for everyone, so be prepared to stand or sit in reception to eat breakfast.
Plenty of parking spaces and one thing that isn't mentioned in the hotel overview is that there is a computer in the reception area which guests can use to access the internet. Very handy for us as the I-40 was closed by snow and we needed travel info.
Several eateries close by. The Cracker Barrel is about 100mtrs but we found it was full with quite a lot of family groups. Another 100 mtrs is the Outback Steakhouse which was great...we used it both nights. Also Walmart is just down the road too.
Overall this is a budget motel and ok for someone passing through who needs a room for the night. I think, if I was to stay in Flagstaff again, I would pay that little extra and find a hotel closer to the town center.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from E Huntington DV and closer to reception as it is quite a busy road and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-and-Andie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. This place is a budget friendly hotel near highway I-40. The room was spacy, clean and had a comfortable bed. The room had a fridge, microwave and a coffee maker. The bad thing was that the fridge and the air condition unit were really noisy! Breakfast was included, which was great. However, the breakfast was very limited with coffee, toast and a waffle maker. There are no restaurants nearby. Ok hotel for a short budget visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#39 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#19 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
3.0 mi away
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
#22 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Property: Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Address: 2520 East Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing