We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good "average" motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This motel provides a good room for the price in Flagstaff...a clean acceptable room and plenty of parking. It is in walking distance of a few restaurants. Just remember however,, that this hotel is nothing special and only provides a good stopover for a sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

After arriving at hotel from driving 6 hours straight I was just ready to lay my head down and go to sleep. However this was not the case. When i walked thru the lobby door there was no one to he found. After waiting nearly 10 min for someone to show up a woman walks in did not acknowledge either myself or husband. Not apologetic for having us wait she goes behind the desk and starts typing on her computer. I was a little iritated by this but again I am too tired to say anything. We get to the room and it wrecked a foul smell of mold and dirty carpet. I didn't feel safe putting my things on the floor. Lets just say I probably will never return again. I checked out early the next day as i could not sleep from all the noise from the outside and the smell from the inside.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cutckleme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Spent one night here in a non-smoking double queen for three people - paid total of around $74. The fridge & microwave were pluses and the air conditioner worked well. The beds were OK. Noise was not a problem for us. The shower water pressure and temperature were also good. Cleanliness seemed OK. There were complementary USA Today newspapers for guests in the lobby.

Having read quite a number of the reviews of this HoJo, there seems to be a running complaint about the rude young woman at the front desk. I too was struck by her attitude. Nothing egregious, but she didn't even bother to look at me when I checked in and in a totally bored, rote manner, rattled off the rules, slid a paper over to me to fill out my car info and indicated where I had to sign. No smile, or anything pleasant about her. She gave the impression that I was an annoyance to her - not a paying guest. The older gentleman seemed warmer and more helpful.

The breakfast area is small and the offerings are fairly low-quality and minimal, though they do have a waffle maker.

This place was OK, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyOm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed for a night in August 2012. Clean, no problems, except the shower kept going hot and cold on me. My room was about an equivalent of a city block from the rail lines. We could hear the trains rumbling through, but it didn't keep me awake or bother me much.

I wouldn't want to stay any longer than overnight, because there is no workspace or comfortable chair.

No breakfast offered; a 15% discount at the restaurant given instead.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyMrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here from a Hotwire deal of 51$. We arrived at 2:30, the manager called to verify a room was clean and allowed us to check in. We did not try the breakfast but it looked basic. The room was clean which is basically what we desire. The light over the sink was not working. I mentioned it to the front desk as we were leaving for the Grand Canyon. When we arrived back to the room the light had been fixed. A very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alabama67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for a night earlier in July, 2012. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, there wasn't a lot of noise from other guests, and the air conditioner worked. The staff was polite and helpful. The continental breakfast was pretty basic, but they do offer bagels and waffles that can be heated, and since we weren't eating breakfast there anyway, that wasn't a big deal to us. We paid less than $70 for a clean and comfortable good sleep for a night, which is what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Momma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed from July 15-19, 2012. Room was clean, no funky smells, no bugs. Beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. Mostly traveling families and older folks stayed here - very quiet, no noisy neighbors or parties. Free breakfast was just okay. Free WiFi with a good connection. Water pressure in the shower was good. All in all, it was a very standard Route 66-type older motel that gave us a safe, clean and comfortable place to lay our heads after long days of hiking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QueenofCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#23 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.3 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Address: 2520 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-8505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: £47 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing