We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short 2 night stay while stopping at the Grand Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #52 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“short 2 night stay while stopping at the Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My Mother and I drove from Colorado to California and we stopped here for 2 nights to make a quick stop at the Grand Canyon. It was perfect for what we had in mind! We had a double queen room so each of us had their own bed, we enjoyed the heated pool at night before going to bed and it was easy getting arround to the Grand Canyon. Should I ever do this trip again this will be the place for me to stay!

Room Tip: Only 1 hour drive to Grand Canyon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn00py85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    198
    230
    133
    92
See reviews for
315
197
58
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Nine hours of driving from Los Angeles via Route 66 gave this reviewer plenty of time to worry about my first ‘HoJo’ experience. How wrong I was. First impression of the room was extremely favorable. Impressive even. Remember one tends to manage expectations when it comes down to low end hotel chains and the stereotypes they can throw up. Do so here, but I actually found mine exceeded. Usual format for my reviews: room itself, the good, the bad, the conclusion. If in the area again, I would be back. And, with one caveat, would urge others to consider it.

The room? Basic. Clean. Generic. For this price point, manage expectations down. It is a HoJo after all. Bed was comfortable, fridge was empty and of a good size. The room had a microwave in it together with in room safe and iron. Useful. Wifi was free with no password required and worked at good speeds. Ample parking available. Towels were on the rough side, though not approaching sand paper. The TV was not bolted down to the stand which I took to be a good sign. Floor was free from marks. Room A/C old school but efficient.. A lot of tourist literature, snack machines available 24/7. Breakfast is normally included though healthy options were limited. It is c70 miles south of the Grand Canyon. There is an Albertsons / Starbucks 5 minutes drive up the road.

The good?
1. Good size fridge, microwave and free wifi for an extremely competitive price point. Wifi is a pet peeve of this reviewer and this hotel offers decent, albeit basic, facilities.
2. Price point: This reviewer has stayed at several lower end hotels and this one left a very favorable impression given what the rack rate is. Book on the hotel website as it had the best deal(s). Given the purpose of the trip was to photograph northern Arizona, and I had a car, it proved an excellent base.

The bad?
1. Location. Other reviews claim to be able to hear I 40 noise. It is audible, yes, but not overly so in this reviewers opinion. The issue is truck’s use their air brakes when exiting the 1 40. Tip to get around this is ask for ‘middle’ of the hotel, not either end: one end has said I 40 whilst the other has train tracks seem to move freight goods towards Los Angeles 24/7. To be fair, that is not the hotel’s fault. It is also worth noting that several other budget(ish) hotels (Super 8, a Holiday Inn, Motel 6 among others) are all congregated in the area (Exit 198) so they have the same will all have the problem. Here is the caveat I mentioned. Ring ahead and request a room in the ‘middle’ and this problem is somewhat negated.
2. Linked into the above, which the hotel cannot control, it is worth noting ‘downtown’ Flagstaff is a 7~10 minute drive away. It would take 20~30 minutes to walk. Amtrak station is in the middle of Flagstaff and is too far to walk too in this reviewers opinion.
3. Other reviews have mentioned front office staff that, to be kind, are a bit hit and miss. This reviewer concurs: two hits and one miss for me. Check in was gruff, check out was nice. Still. It’s the room I care about not a harried front desk. .

Conclusion? This reviewer would return. Its location is not something that it can help and let’s face it, most people who come to Flagstaff – in itself a delightful little town – have a car. For the price point, outstanding for a short stay. 140 mile round trip to the Canyon is an hour each way, but manageable. Lots of options a mere 10 minutes away in downtown Flagstaff mean this hotel demands a second look.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the MIDDLE of the hotel.. Doesn't matter whether that would be up or down stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyes_Wide_Open01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Page
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here on our way to phoenix for a dr. visit. The bed was the most comfortable i have ever had staying in a hotel. Very nice, staff was friendly, overall it was a great room @ a great price!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Shelly1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Most hotels we stay in have a computer that we can use to access our business and print our airline tickets on. My wife sells Real Estate and could not access her programs because the computer and programs were so outdated. She left her laptop at home because every where we stay always has a great computer with access to a printer. We will have to start asking that question in the future when we make our reservations. The personnel were very helpful, rooms clean. It was actually a quite area even though near businesses. We would definitely return to this motel if not for the computer access.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JAMES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH HOLLYWOOD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I enjoyed the stay as the hotel was way above what I expected and the staff on dluty was neat and very pleasant to deal with. The young lady on duty went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comforable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank ROBERT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is an older motel and it shows, but it was perfectly clean and safe. My husband needed an extension cord for his C-PAP machine near the bed and the attendant brought us one within minutes of our request. It is well priced for the location, and surrounded by several higher priced motels. We are satisfied with our choice, and hoping room 103 gets a new mattress soon. It was way too "broken in" for our backs. That would be our only complaint.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

1 night at ho jo on way to grand canyon via sedona. Was surprised at the standard of room, was excellent, clean, and large, comfortable beds, only negative was that the safe was closed so went to reception and young lady came to open it, we only wanted to put i pad in while we went for tea, on getting bill on check out we were charged 1dollar 50 for the privelige. Whether this was for opening or using it i dont know, but i think the hotel closes the safe and if it is opened they treat it as used. But will stay again if in area. Microwave free wi fi.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff
Travelodge Flagstaff
#25 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Property: Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Address: 2520 East Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing