We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“not bad but not great”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This property was just average roadside motel and not what we were expecting from a Howard Johnson the rooms were clean and functional the beds were fine and the WiFi worked almost as good as the hotel next door which we could connect to. They had a small pool which was a plus at the end of a days driving. We tried their breakfast, then went out for breakfast elsewhere, enough said.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Portland1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    203
    240
    142
    96
See reviews for
335
203
60
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

When traveling through California, Nevada, Utah and Colorado me and my family stayed in many different hotels. This was by far the worst. The main points of criticism: Wifi didn't work for 2 days (although I reported it to the front desk), breakfast was just bad, the smell in the room was everything but fresh, furnitures may have been state of the art in the 1960s.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Brandon, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I had to get a room last minute. The rates were better than their neighbours and the location was very convenient. Cracker Barrel, Outback and a super Wal-Mart all within a very short walk. Cracker Barrel was right next door with Outback next to it. Both evening and morning staff was very friendly and accommodating. Non smoking room was smoke smell free. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. No disappointments. It appears the negative reviews of the past have made this a better place to stay. I would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I'm the type of person who reads all the bad reviews to see what people complain about the most. In light of that from the moment we walked in to the registration/breakfast area we were engaged by the lovely slender young woman with glasses (a sweetheart btw). We got processed and off to our room as quickly as the computer system would allow. Our room was clean and comfortable beds were soft for me (I prefer a firm mattress) still I slept very well our a/c unit kept the room cool all night. Floors and carpets were clean, during the last remodeling the grouting and silicone weren't wiped off the tiles completely so it does give the corners and behind the commode a dingy look. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel because two properties over is a Cracker Barrel and next to that is an Outback. Altogether a very good night's stay my only complaint is I didn't get another day!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great place, because it is close to I40. But this is also the main problem - noise from the road. You cannot sleep with opened window. We had a room in the second floor and above us was a smoking woman who didn't adhere non smoking zone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Comfort inn Lucky  lane
Comfort inn Lucky lane
#39 of 64 in Flagstaff
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Flagstaff - Butler Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Property: Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Address: 2520 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-8505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing