We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked early great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    63
    101
    68
    83
See reviews for
138
97
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My stay at the Howard Johnson, located at 801 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ, 86001, was by far the worst overnight experience I have had. When we arrived (after 9pm) there was a construction crew working and half the parking lot was takin up with dumpsters. To get to our room we had to walk through a maze of debris and miscellaneous garbage. Our room had no sheets on the bed and there were dirty rags all over the floor. When we went to the office to request a refund they refused and said that because we played online we can't receive a refund. We were given a new room and got to stay beneath a pay by the hour room. This is a dirty disgusting dump that cost me $78.97. ABSOLUTLY REDICULOUS!

Room Tip: NO good rooms DONT stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff2014, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
I am so sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced due to the ongoing construction and renovation process going on in our hotel. We value your feedback and as we transition through the renovation process, comments like yours will help us to grow and improve. I hope you’ll return to see how we’ve improved upon the guest experience at the conclusion of the renovation and construction process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stopped at this motel because it was conveniently located and looked ok from the outside. However, the bed was very old and lopsided and the bathroom was dirty. The walls are paper thin. This hotel is old and is in desperate need of updating. Don't waste your money here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clairiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff2014, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Clairiecat,

Please accept my apologies for failing to meet your satisfaction during your stay in our hotel. Please provide us the date and room number you were accommodated as I will submit your review to our management in order to address your concerns accordingly. We are oriented to provide quality services to our guests and your experience will not be disregarded. Thank you for your business and we will make sure to provide you better accommodation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Mesa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband often works in Flagstaff so we chose to stay in this motel. It was conveinently located near shopping and restaurants. The staff was awesome and housekeeping was very accomodating. The room was spacious and clean and for the price was a great value. Once the renovations are done, Im sure it will look awesome! Keep up the good work!

V and M of Mesa

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFLMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff2014, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello V and M,

Thank you for your generous feedback of your experience at Howard Johnson Inn. We are truly pleased that we could provide you and your husband with an excellent value and service every time you travel to Flagstaff. I agree that once the renovation are done it will certainly look quite awesome. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights to go to Grand Canyon National Park. It is about an hour drive from there but a scenic drive to take. The motel is undergoing a total make over and looks great. The staff very friendly. If on a budget it is definitely a good place to stay. Very close to stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFlagstaff2014, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Claudia S,

We are pleased that our efforts to provide our guests with the best experience as possible. Thank you for noting the hospitality of our staff and grateful that you took notes of our renovations and our effort to provide you and other guests a better accommodation and improved services. Thank you for your business and I hope you will come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 64 in Flagstaff
421 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
0.3 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 64 in Flagstaff
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Address: 801 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6262 (Formerly Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Flagstaff
Travel Motel Flagstaff
Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing