We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a long distance trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were driving back from California to NM during Memorial Day weekend and stayed at Sonesta ES Suites. As everyone has said, it is a little dated, but the king bed was comfy, the room was clean and quite large! We stayed only one night and were able to eat the continental breakfast which was SO good, plenty of food options! Would stay there again if we found ourselves in Flagstaff.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FermiLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

We were so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff as you made your trip through on the holiday weekend. We strive very hard to provide a room that is clean and comfortable as well as a satisfying breakfast to help ready you for the day ahead.

We would like to make one clarification on your review. We were pleased you enjoyed the comfort of the bed in your room, but to avoid confusion for other Trip Advisor readers, we do offer only queen beds on property. While this may change during our upcoming reservation, we wish to avoid confusion for guests making reservations before then.

Again, thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to having you join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom suite and it was a good setup for 2 couples that want a little privacy at night. The kitchenette looked decent, if a little dated. Beds were comfy, sheets were nice, everything clean, and the breakfast was great. TVs could really stand to be updated.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review for the Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff. We were very glad that you and your friends were able to find your stay with us so pleasant. Our Two Bedroom Suites are designed for just such a situation. Be it family or friends, we understand that just because you're traveling with your companions, it doesn't necessarily mean you want to sleep in the same room with them. Privacy and comfort help our guests enjoy their stay when traveling together.

With our renovations later this year, we will be updating the rooms, but rest assured we will still have our two bedroom suites for your next trip to Flagstaff to accommodate your travel needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We used to stay at this hotel when it was a Marriott Residence Inn, we stopped staying there because their charge for a dog was exorbitant. We decided to give it one more try on our way home from California because it is under new ownership as a Sonesta property, and I'm happy we did. Yes, the other reviews are correct when they say the hotel is due for some upgrades, but the rooms are extremely clean, kitchens are well stocked, beds are comfortable, and the staff is great. The manager assured me that the renovations on the exterior and interior would be beginning this summer, and agreed that they were much needed.

We will make this our go to for the future, because all in all it's a nice place to stay in Flagstaff. If you are a dog owner, it really is the best hotel in Flagstaff for walking and playing with your dog, as there is a nice grassy area and a large open space area behind the hotel. The pet fee is reasonable as well.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Editorchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

We are always glad to see guests who have stayed with us in past years who have come back to stay again now that we are a Sonesta ES Suites.

We're all pleased that you've found that the hotel has improved since your last stay and we hope to continue that push to provide you and all our guests with the best possible stay. We do pride ourselves on our clean rooms and your kind words have given our dedicated Housekeeping staff even more drive to provide the very best service.

Our renovations should make the stay better for all our guests, including the four legged variety. We're working hard to keep this the premier pet friendly hotel in Flagstaff. We're hoping that you and your family members (even the furry ones) will have a great stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The room was spacious & clean, the kitchenette had everything you needed, the shower was hot & had good water pressure. I slept on the pull out bed and it was comfortable; the pillows weren't as much for me (too soft). The continental breakfast was ABOVE average- fresh baked muffins, breads, rolls, coffee, tea, juice, made to order waffles with extra toppings, scrambled eggs, chorizo, toppings like sour cream, salsa, etc., sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt. AWESOME! The staff was friendly, helpful with recommendations, etc. There's a dog park area and a nice pool (we didn't use). Everything was great until we left to go hiking for the day, leaving 3 packages of fudge on the kitchen counter (one wrapped/sealed in plastic see through wrapping and two just wrapped in cellophane (sp). When we returned, two were gone (one sealed, one unsealed). We were told the cleaning crew had perhaps thrown them out accidentally but why 2 of the 3? Not much value but it was the point. We weren't happy. The 1st person we dealt with was unapologetic but the manager was very helpful and send us fudge in the mail.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m9matlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

I am so glad to see your review here on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to host you during your trip here to Flagstaff. Everyone was quite pleased to hear that you enjoyed most of your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff offers their heartfelt apologies for having disposed of your fudge and feels terribly about the occurrence.

We know a great stay is made up many parts and we try every day to exceed the expectations of our guests to give them the stay they deserve. We know that in this case we failed to meet those standards. We are glad that you were happy with the fudge you received in the mail and I look forward to seeing you again during your next stay with us. We hope that during that next trip we can bring all those many parts to an amazing whole for you and you'll be able to have a great time here in Flagstaff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Good hotel with spacious rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. The hot/cold breakfast was standard, but offered made-to-order waffles every morning, along with eggs, sausages, potatoes, etc. Our room was very large and quiet and clean, but definitely needs to be updated. The TVs are old and the sofa needed to be replaced, as well as the cracked countertop in the kitchen. They need to paint and maintain the stairways also...that was our first clue that the room might need some work. The location is great...fairly close to main highways and across the street from a pretty golf course. We enjoyed one of their 'happy hours' one evening with free appetizers and beer/wine. If you need to use their computer/internet, it was verrrrrrrry slow...but free! This hotel is only 81 miles from the Grand Canyon, so it was perfect for our schedule. I would definitely stay here again, but not until after their 'remodel.'

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room in the back. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katdod50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

We very much appreciate your review of your stay here at the Sonesta ES Suites in Flagstaff. We were glad to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast served everymorning as well as our Evening Social which is served every Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.

We understand the concerns you had about the hotel needing a bit of updating and are looking forward to our renovation as well. We're excited to hear that you're looking forward to staying with us after the changes and we're looking forward to hosting you. If you have any questions regarding the updating that is planned, we'd be happy to speak to you about them.

Thank you again for your sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The kitchen was well-stocked with newer/nicer dishes, etc. The layout was also an efficient use of space, although I would not call this a "suite" as everything (sofa, fireplace, tv, kitchen, bed, bath vanity) was all in the same room. The only separate space is the toilet/shower.

The television was approx. twenty years-old. The picture was barely visible, had no connections for peripheral devices i.e...HDMI or other cable hook-ups, and was maybe 19"-23". I was staying there on business and needed to view a DVD from my laptop, and was unable to do so on the tv. I called the front desk to inquire if any of the rooms had been updated with newer televisions, and was told they were all the same.

The grounds were untidy, and the stairs leading to my room had white globby stuff smeared all over the stairs like a milkshake or something, along with other smears and spills on the concrete stairs that you had to step around to not get it on your shoes. Nothing was cleaned or attended to for the three days I stayed there.

I would not recommend. I moved to a different property for the remainder of my stay in Flagstaff, which was also $35 cheaper per night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences at our hotel. Your review allowed us to identify several areas of our property that needed particular care and attention.

We have made particular effort to make changes to the grounds and the cleanliness issue you expressed to ensure that in the future our guests will not have the same experience that you had. We understand your concern when you found that our grounds were not to the standards which we have placed for ourselves and hope that during your future stays you will find the condition of those areas much improved.

We would also like to share with you that the timeline has been set for our upcoming renovation and we can say for certain that you will have all the best possible arrangements for your technology equipment such as HDMI hook ups for your laptop on the new flat screen televisions which will be installed during that renovation. As early as this winter, we will have rooms available with these new amenities and by spring 2014 we will have all new rooms.

We do wish to apologize if you found the description of the room as a Studio Suite misleading as we did not wish to cause any confusion. The designation as a Studio was intended to inform our guests that the room is set up much as one would find a studio apartment and to make the differentiation between that room type and the Two Bedroom Suite which is our style of room. We apologize if this caused any inconvenience during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Spent one night here. Very clean and spacious. FULL kitchen, queen bed and pull out sofa bed. FREE drinks at happy hour, with appetizers (tacos and salad). It was so good, we never ate dinner! FREE breakfast: scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, make your own waffle (w/ strawberries and whipped cream), fruit, juice, muffins, toast, bagels, which was all good! The TV is dated, but who cares? Nice bed and linens. Excellent value!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hummergirlTempe_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

It is always wonderful to recieve a glowing review like this from a guest who travels as much as you do. We work hard to meet all of our guests expectations and were pleased to see that you could enjoy yourself here at the Sonesta ES Suites in Flagstaff. We can't express how much we enjoy recieving such a review and how much it means to us. Everyone here thanks you for your kind words and looks forward to seeing you again the next time you come to stay with us here in Flagstaff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff

Address: 1400 N Country Club Dr, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#2 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#4 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: £92 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Flagstaff, AZ hotel offering studio suites and two bedroom suites featuring a kitchen, living room and free WiFi. Guests can enjoy an outdoor heated pool, fitness center, business center and daily breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Residence Inn
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing