We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Flagstaff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

It was a bit out of the way but really nice. We stayed in the one bedroom suite. They have a log for the fireplace in the room and a really great breakfast. Coffee pot in the room and all the necessities if you wanted to cook. Pullout sofabed for others if needed. No noise issues. Right off freeway. Close to the mall. Very clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We only stayed for one night but would definitely stay there again when in Flagstaff. Rooms are very spacious and great for longer stays as there is a fridge and microwave and it is geared more towards long-term stays.

The breakfast apparently changes daily and we happened to be there on a day where you could make your own breakfast burrito or waffle, both were very good quality.

Be sure to say to Perry the Prairie Dog who will greet you at the front desk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobZ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed in a room in section 7. The room was nice and clean and the grounds are very quiet. The rooms have alot of room and they also have a kitchen. I would stay here again. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for two weeks in February. Before considering this hotel for any reason ASK ABOUT THE CONSTRUCTION/REFURBISHMENT SCHEDULE. The hotel is supposed to be completely refurbished this year. You may find yourself in the middle of it. So ask before you book. There was no work being done while we were there and the review reflects the conditions as we found them.

The good parts:
-Suite was very spacious and clean. Two separate bedrooms with two (small) bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen. Queen beds were fine. Furniture was old but in decent condition. Heat worked well. There is a fireplace and they will give you a free log each night, but you have to ask for it.
-Breakfasts are excellent. They always have scrambled eggs, usually with onions and peppers or ham; some kind of potatoes; breads, bagels, muffins, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, waffles, etc. it's beautifully presented (courtesy of the wonderful Desirae, assisted by warm and friendly Marisol) and a real highlight of the hotel. The "Manager's Receptions" (don't worry, you'll never actually see the Manager) Tuesdays through Thursdays are also pretty good, with complimentary beer and wine, and a fresh salad bar with snacks that range from good (soup) to spectacular (nachos and meatballs.) You won't have to spend a lot of money on food in Flagstaff if you take advantage of the breakfasts.
-Staff is very responsive to issues, especially Lydia at the front desk and Jason, who's in charge of maintenance and travel advice. (Other than Lydia, however, front desk people didn't seem to know much about the area.)
-Location is wonderful. Grand Canyon, Walnut Canyon!!!!, Sedona, Jerome!!!, and a hundred other attractions are very close.

However, there are issues that, depending in your circumstance, may make this a hotel to avoid.

-It is often noisy. We were on the upper floor in the rear so we were at least spared the traffic noise from the main road directly in front of the hotel, but you will hear every car door and every single door closing from anywhere in your room. Someone closing their bathroom door in your building will sound like your front door has been slammed. They will rent suites to groups of college kids on weekends and it will bring back your worst memories of weekends at the dorm in college. (And this was in February, before the basketball court and pool and grilling area opened.) if you stay up late every night it may not bother you, but if you plan to go to bed before midnight, bring a very good sound machine, but it still won't block the slamming door noise.)
-TV situation is the worst we've ever seen at a modern hotel. They have old 36 channel tube TVs with a random selection of Direct TV channels assigned. There is no guide and no way to obtain one. This becomes an issue if you're stuck in the room due to bad weather.
-Internet connection is not especially reliable. We lost service several times and it was slow at the best of times.

Bottom line - we LOVED the Flagstaff area, but will try to rent a condo when we return for an extended stay. This would be a four star review if it weren't for the noise.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, make sure you get a room in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom10936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are always glad to have people respond to us and inform us of the parts of our hotel they enjoyed so we can continue to do well in those areas and who share those areas they feel we could improve so we can provide you, our guests, with a better place to stay while enjoying Northern Arizona.

We were very glad that you were pleased with our staff and those individuals you specifically mentioned were very grateful for your kind words. We also were glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location to many of the attractions in the area. We saw that you also enjoyed your tour with All Star Grand Canyon Tours and for your next trip we would suggest looking into our package rates that we frequently have available with that tour company to save money as you enjoy the wonders of the area.

We were very concerned regarding the noise that you experienced during your stay. We do not often receive complaints of noise in any of our rooms (even those on the side facing the street are located away from the sparsely traveled road) and instead more often hear about how quiet our rooms are. If one of your neighbors was being excessively loud, this is a concern that we take very seriously. Our 24 hour staff is always interested in responding promptly to reported noise issues to ensure that our guests can rest comfortably.

You will be pleased to hear that both the television and internet problems you experienced are already being improved. We have now changed our cable providers to more than double our available channels and will be replacing the TVs themselves along with all the furnishings of the rooms and improving our internet connectivity during our renovations which begin in May.

We hope that you will choose to visit with us again during your next trip to Flagstaff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Would recommend. Met up with our son to ski the snowbowl, and this is a great place to stay while skiing. Breakfast was wonderful, the room was large and the kitchen was well-equipped. We could eat breakfast, head out for a day of skiing/snowboarding, then come back to a nice, clean, large room where we could make dinner and relax. We live in Florida so do not have a large selection of ski wear and being able to launder our ski clothes on site was very convenient. The evening social was a nice touch. My husband and son went to the movies one night and I was perfectly content to stay at the hotel and felt very safe. Our last night there, we reported to the front desk that the people upstairs were arguing and making noise after 11:00 P.M. and the front desk took care of the problem immediately. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Two room suites are perfect for 4 adults on a ski trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

one of the highlights of my vegas trip was this place.. very close to grand canyon, we had our reservations and our expectations low.. but this place gave a twist..awesome stay in a spacious room with complimentary breakfast and laundry service.. this was the best breakfast that i have had after the 10 day stay in vegas..

i highly recommend this place

Room Tip: dont think twice to choose this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajaram83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Went to the Sonesta for a night's getaway from Phoenix. Wonderful kitchen area! Room was large and had both a bed and a pull out for the kids. We stayed "in" and cooked dinner. Both a dishwasher and a decent sized refrigerator are included in the kitchen. The only think that would have been better would have been a flat screen television to watch to football game that was on Sunday. TV worked will but was a little outdated. Breakfast was the best free breakfast I had ever had in a hotel. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Flagstaff!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelincate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff

Address: 1400 N Country Club Dr, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#4 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: £91 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Flagstaff, AZ hotel offering studio suites and two bedroom suites featuring a kitchen, living room and free WiFi. Guests can enjoy an outdoor heated pool, fitness center, business center and daily breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Residence Inn
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing