We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clearly the best in Flagstaff, but some troubling trends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clearly the best in Flagstaff, but some troubling trends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Little America is the best Flagstaff hotel, but recent trends have me concerned. Their recent 'improvements' to the hotel, have of course, worsened it. There used to be a great restaurant for breakfast, but it's closed now, and the smaller bar-restaurant that used to host live entertainment at night, is their only restaurant. The walking trails have basicly been denuded of trees, and many that you do see, have charred trunks. Wouldn't a fire road have accomplished the same fire prevention logic in a more acceptable and less unsightly fashion? They have also removed benches which used to be at strategic places on the walking trail. Little America remains the best, albeit the priciest, hotel in Flagstaff, but for how much longer?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yakijy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    759
    179
    44
    26
See reviews for
756
931
90
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

What a beautiful property! It's an older hotel which has been beautifully remodeled with European antique-style furniture. It makes you feel like you were staying in a four star hotel. Very nice and quiet setting despite being close to the highway. We were sitting at the poolside yesterday when both my wife and I remarked how quiet it was.

The room is gorgeous for the price. Truly 400 square feet; the pictures don't lie. Huge bathroom also. Nice Panasonic TV, excellent Wi-Fi (500 KB/s download speeds).

The pool is on the smaller side for the size of the property. Only about 15-20 pool chaises. The forrest around is charming.

There is no free breakfast, but one can make free coffee in one's room. Our room also had the usual ironing board and iron, and also a mini fridge (in the bathroom!). The restaurant is nothing to write home about; it's a charming mix between an upscale restaurant and a diner, where you won't feel awkward neither in shorts nor in a suit.

Parking is free and plentiful. The hotel is next to the highway, easy to find. There are no good restaurants nearby, but that applies to most good hotels in Flagstaff.

The service is outstanding. The front desk is excellent, mature and experienced people, day and night. Very nice young people in the restaurant.

It's so "bad" here that we have just extended our stay from the initial one-day booking to our available maximum of 3 days.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody who needs a good night's sleep before reaching the Grand Canyon. Much better value than the hotels in Sedona (Orchard Inn was more expensive and could not compare to this beautiful property). Also, if you need an escape from the heatwave in Southern Arizona, the temperature here is a refreshing 25 degrees less. Not to speak about the beautiful Flagstaff and hotel surroundings.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Twain_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

After reserving rooms over a month in advance, and requesting they be together, there were none ready at check in time. The clerks pulled out one here, there and everywhere, so our group was sprinkled all over.

On checkout one person was charged for a movie, when none was watched. Two others were charged twice for the room. One person's key did not work, and the whole lock had to be changed before she could use the room!!

A long letter was sent to Standard Oil - which owns the hotel, and there was no apology, no explanation -- nothing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willowdances1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
270 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We spent three nights at Little America. What we liked was the great piece of land it sits on, kind of hidden in the Ponderosa Pines and backing to a lot of open space with trails out the back door. The pool/spa sit out in the back in the pines. The hotel is a few minutes drive from the Historic District where all the fun restaurants and brew pubs are located. Classes had just started at NAU nearby, but we had no problems finding parking downtown or getting into places to eat.

Once we got past the pines, the hotel itself was quite a disappointment. It's the classic case of putting lipstick on a pig; the hotel looked nice on the surface, but underneath that was an aged property with a tightfisted management. Problems with our room were a toilet that wouldn't flush unless we held down the lever for 30 seconds, and then only poorly (maintenance said that's due to the age of the property; doorknobs that were so hard to turn my wife got stuck behind a door more than once; maids who kept turning the thermostat down to 55 degees each time they cleaned; poor wi-fi connections; a 1-cup coffee maker (seriously, it would only make one cup of bad coffee at a time - there was no pot) that finally broke after two days. When we arrived, they put us in a room fronting the freeway. When we asked to be moved to the other side of the building (the hotel was not very full), they said that would cost another third of what we were paying - so we listened to the freeway all night, but at least it wasn't near the tracks with trains every 10 minutes.

There was no complimentary coffee in the reception area. We understand that some places don't include breakfast, which is fine, but at least offer up a cup of decent coffee in the morning!

The room was comfortable enough, though the furnishings and finishes were pretty dated. But the hotel and rooms were clean and the pool was very nice, even if it was closed for maintenance one of the afternoons we were there.

All in all, it was somewhat of a disappointment. I've stayed at the Courtyard in Flagstaff before, and while it doesn't have the pine trees or trails, it is much more modern and comfortable, and the management is more attentive to its guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TucsonCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
620 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed two nights here. The deluxe "one king bed with sofa bed" room was the most spacious motel/hotel room I've been in for a long time. The whole complex is huge. Bathroom was very spacious with great counter space (mini fridge is also in the bathroom). Our room faced the interstate, and this is also a truck stop. But, noise was not an issue. There was more chatter from the hallway than noise from outside. Front desk staff was very friendly and professional. Two computer terminals were available for use in the lobby. We ate the first night at the truck stop snack bar, and it was good enough. I also tried the 2.5 mile jogging path on the grounds. It's not superbly marked, but if you stay on the gravel path, you're fine. This thing goes way back in the woods. But for the interstate sounds, you'd think you were 10 miles from civilization after the first half mile. I'd come back to this facility in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaka_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were looking just for a good place to stay a couple of nights and instead we found a great place where my kids didnt want to leave. The pool is nice and the forest behind the hotel gave my kids plenty of time to play.
The services are ok, but can get better.
Anyway, I dont think you would find a better place to stay in Flagstaff or places around it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len0C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We picked this hotel as it was on our route and didn't have high expectations but were pleasantly surprised. Despite being near the interstate is has a lovely location in the forest and the pool area is very nice too. All the staff were friendly and the food in the restaurant was very nice. Would definitely stay here again. Also check out the nearby observatory if you have time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallistaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
1.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Property: Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-6019
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff
Little America Hotel Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing