We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tired and Overpriced”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'll begin by saying I love Flagstaff and consider it my second home. My family's been staying at the Little America for decades, and there the root of the problem lies. Back in the day, this was a swanky joint. Problem is, the hotel stayed back in the day. The grounds are nicely kept and the rooms are big. The staff is competent and friendly, but seem to be as sleepy as the rest of the property. I expect more from a modern property charging these prices and this property doesn't compare favorably with other markets. On the negative side, the furnishings have tipped the scale from quaint to dated. I had to change rooms three times before landing in one that was at least acceptable. First room had pounding in the walls, second and third rooms the a/c wasn't working, and all of the rooms had significant wet spots and staining on the carpets. They get away with it, and the high price, because there's just not much in the way of competition in town. You'll have a nice, quiet (insert comatose) stay, just be sure to drink your prune juice before bedtime at 4:00 p.m..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    770
    185
    44
    26
See reviews for
773
966
92
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lemon Grove
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have stayed at the Little America Hotel in Flagstaff two times. The hotel is beautiful,with a wonderful welcoming reservation area. You are welcomed by a lovely fireplace in a large lobby' Our suite both times was large, comfortable, and very clean. The hotel sits on a very extensive plot of forrest land, that you can hike among the evergreens. We didn't eat at the resturaunt on the property, but there are many places to choose from near by. The Snow Bowl isn't very far away for skiing. I would definitely go back here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edieredmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Albiet a bit dated with the decor, the hotel rooms are HUGE by most standards, very clean, and the beds are superbly comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would stay there again on another trip to Flagstaff. All the amenities were appropriate and the location can't be beat--close to downtown and right off of I-4.

Room Tip: It was pretty much restful... the back side rooms face the trees and pool area and might be more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregca301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you stay at this property it is like taking a step back in time to the late 50's or 60's. When you check in the main building is really nice with a huge fireplace in the lobby, you would think this place is going to be super. Once you get to your room in what they call the lodges you might have a different opinion. The rooms are large with plenty of room to move around in. They have a large seating area with a dining table as well as a large bedroom and bathroom. The problem I have is the furniture looks to be from the late 50's. The bathroom has pink tile. The carpet appears to be from the same era too. The room was clean, but they do need to be updated. Another thing we stayed in lodge 4, because I asked for a quiet nights sleep. The road noise of the big trucks was a little bothersome. Another thing is the front door to the room was a little flimsy, which did not give you a sense of security. It had none of the locks found on other hotel doors. The door did not use a card like most today, but an actual electronic key, a little strange.
It is an easy on and off the I-40. The property around the lodges is really pretty and we did some wildlife when we departed in the early morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayouself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at Little America twice, once getting into Flagstaff headed to Utah and then again on my way home to Colorado. This was the best place on my entire trip, very clean rooms, a great staff, nice on site restaurant. The restaurant was a little pricey or else I'm cheap. Out my sliding glass door was a nice view and what looked like a nice pool, I never use pools, but it did have people using it. Big place with lots of rooms and a convenience store as you turn in to the motel so that was handy. And I would stay there again and it was the least expensive of all the motels I stayed at, and the best!

Room Tip: All the rooms would be good as they are very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graybeard47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the first time we stayed at Little America. We wanted a quiet get away for our anniversary. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was the cleanest I'd ever stayed at. It was very quiet and peaceful. I liked looking out the sliding door at the trees, birds and squirrels. The bed was very comfortable. There was very little noise, even though there was a wedding and receptions while we were there. The price was very reasonable. I've stayed at more expensive hotels that were not half this nice. We will definitely come back on our next vacation.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor by the door and there was no loud noises coming into the room t disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, MI
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

How many hotels have you stayed in that had their own extensive hiking trails? Little America has some nice hiking trails in the Ponderosa Pine forests of Northern Arizona. The place is clean, well kept quiet and the price is reasonable. We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast but the food was good, reasonably priced and delivered with attentive service.

The grounds are nice and there is a pool, play area and some nice hiking trails

We stayed here two nights while we were visiting Flagstaff and if we go back to Flagstaff we will certainly stay here

Room Tip: We stayed in Building four and it was quiet and close to the forest, a little away from the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
1.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
988 reviews
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Property: Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-6019
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff
Little America Hotel Flagstaff North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing