We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected ambiance”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cottonwood Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Millstream Resort Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Abilene, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unexpected ambiance”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

When we were treated by Sharon she gave us a tour of our room before even talking about $! Everything was comfortable and obviously well thought out from the furnishings to landscape. Quite a gem along the byways of Kansas!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank A'lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
23
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, ga
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Millstream Resort Motel is one of these hidden gems. My husband found this and I was not sure, he is still gloating!! We stayed in #1. It was very comfortable! Hardwood floors that were in mint condition! The front and back doors were original to the building. Two overstuffed chairs to sit in and read, plenty of room to get around in. The sitting area was separate from sleeping area. You can sit on the back porch and enjoy the river. Very peaceful! I slept like a rock. The downtown area was was a nice surprise, we went to their local arts council on the corner and they were displaying the local art! Whenever I come this way again I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Chose #1 it is on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lorchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the West
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This isn't just a place to stay. From the comfortably furnished rooms decorated to please the eye to the tree shaded lawn overlooking Cottonwood Falls, this is a place to rest body and soul. Porches on the front and back as well as the park like grounds invite you to sit and watch birds and critters in a woodsy setting. I can't think of a better place to have a cup of morning coffee. Photo bums and painters can have a glorious time while fishermen have a shot at catching a big flathead off the nearby bridge. The owners helped us discover the joys of eating at Ad Astra and finding the Chase County Friday night music venue. This is a place to come back to time and again.

Room Tip: We had the east end room, which was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wildfloweroftheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We found the Millstream via tripadvisor and decided to stay based on the reviews. We snagged the last room, which was a 'suite' with 2 rooms, perfect for our family. Walking distance to the lovely bridge and to downtown. Rooms were lovingly decorated with a western theme, the owners very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for the price and location.

Room Tip: Recommend Room #2 - a 2-room suite, with a queen and 2 singles, especially if travelling with childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I were going to be in the area to tour the Tallgrass Prairie and wanted to stay at the Millstream after reading the reviews. After several days at Hampton Inns, a place like this is a real treat. I called almost a month ahead for a reservation and got the only room left. My wife was a little worried about a 5-room motel but ended up loving the place. After driving a long way we checked in and learned about operating the door latches - no doorhandles! We went and sat on the backporch balcony and relaxed by listening to the falls and enjoying the beautiful view. So relaxing that I almost went to sleep.

Our room was so quaint and funky with a tiny bathroom and old comfortable furniture that I wished we could stay longer. The owners are great, the setting is lovely, and you can easily walk the short distance into town. Stay here if you are in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in #1 - the deluxe suite - for less than $90 and it was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALoldsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at the Millstream Motel for two nights in an adorable room with a queen size bed and two twin beds in the front room (they were day beds that could be used as couches). The decor was adorable and country-themed and my kids remarked that they felt like they were staying in the "old west." The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, there was hot water, cable TV, and a refrigerator. The best part was the back porch, which overlooks the falls, which we used after the kids were asleep. Wi-fi worked well, too. My only complaints was that all our bath towels were removed when the room was cleaned and we got up so early to leave, we couldn't retrieve more - and it's really hard to get parked in front of your room with the fence between the street and the parking lot.

Quiet time was at 10pm and we couldn't hear any of our neighbors. We hoped they couldn't hear our chatty kids.

We'll be back to stay. I grew up in Cottonwood Falls and remember what this motel used to look like. The proprietors have done an excellent job!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

There probably isn't much tourist traffic in Cottonwood Falls. I gather that the little Millstream Resort, which seems to be the only accommodation in town, caters mostly to people who like to fish (there's a notice pleading with guests not to keep their bait in the motel room, which seems a reasonable request). And then there was me, curious to see the Chase County Courthouse, an architectural landmark (go ahead, google it) and the pleasant falls of the Cottonwood River. So I stayed overnight in the "cabin", a separate stone building a few yards from the main motel. The price was right and the accommodation was adequate. The room is small and the bathroom is tiny, to the point that large people might find it difficult to use some of the fixtures, but everything works, the bed was clean and comfortable, and how much storage space does a single traveller need for one night anyway? The best aspect of the stay was sitting on the little front porch listening to the screams of the cicadas and the rumble of the falls, and making good use of the Millstream's wifi.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank halifaxborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood Falls
17.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Emporia
15 reviews
17.4 mi away
No photo provided
18.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Emporia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Emporia Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emporia Northwest
17.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#2 of 15 in Emporia
24 reviews
17.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Emporia
Comfort Inn Emporia
#3 of 15 in Emporia
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Resort Motel

Property: Millstream Resort Motel
Address: 401 Mill Ave, Cottonwood Falls, KS 66845-2855
Region: United States > Kansas > Cottonwood Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottonwood Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country get-away. Walking distance for restaurants and shopping. Picnic area, walking trail. Great location for touring the The Flint Hills of Kansas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel Cottonwood Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing